We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel has the complete package quality of staff rooms food and value for money A gem.I will certainly return . Their is a lovely riverside walk into the town . This is not signposted take the right turn at garage .Enjoy

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john999176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    67
    31
    12
    10
See reviews for
65
84
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Mayo, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, would have loved to have stayed longer, beautiful family room, excellent hygiene, delicious fresh cooked breakfast...but the total sell of the hotel has to be the staff, they were so lovely to talk with, from warm milk for a restless child to directions to talkin about family coming from our county...we will be back, we will recommend the Riverside Park hotel to friends and family. Thank you, x

Room Tip: Lovely view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Kath M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Riverside Park Hotel.

It was our pleasure to look after you and your family.

Thank you so much for your kind comments , they were very much appreciated by all the team here at The Riverside Park.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for two nights with a school group, and given that our next night was just a bit down the road in Cork, I wish we had spent three nights here. While the rooms were not the most well-appointed we enjoyed on our trip, they were generously sized, comfortable, and offered excellent river views. Meals (two multi-course dinners and buffet breakfast in the restaurant) were excellent, as was the attached bar for winding down after a long day of touring with a drink. The location (mid-way between Cork and Killarney) is a solid choice as a home base for exploring the southwest of Ireland.

But the staff were what made this our favorite hotel on the tour. Everyone we dealt with here were friendly and personable and found a way to straddle that fine line between professionalism and banter. When one of the boys on the trip told Catrina (sp?) that his friend was sick and missing dinner, she immediately put together some tea and toast and took it up to him, reporting back to the group leader on his condition afterward. Later, when she spotted some boys (9th and 10th grade) who were ignoring the plate of steamed vegetables that accompanied their meal, she made a deal to give them a scoop of ice cream with their desserts if they ate a good portion of the vegetables (going into "mom-mode" to make sure of the portion size!), which they actually enjoyed once they tried them.

When we return on our own (without a tour group), we'll definitely be booking a stay here.

Room Tip: Get on the side with the river view for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear mshund,

Thank you for taking the time to review your groups recent stay with us here at The Riverside Park Hotel.

All of us here at the Riverside Park always try to go the extra mile to facilitate all our guest needs young or old.
We are delighted to have been part of your visit to Ireland and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having stayed at the Riverside Park Hotel for almost a week in late June, we have only praise for this establishment and its staff. They did their best to give us a true Irish welcome and attended to our every need. We were sorry to leave!

The evening meals were fabulous, the standard of a high class restaurant with presentation to match. We looked forward eagerly to our dinners, the final friendly touch being a special dessert for a birthday treat.

As city dwellers, the view of the river and its wildlife from our window was a delight.

A charity music evening, the night before our departure, rounded off our wonderful holiday with much laughter and energetic dancing, as only the Irish can do.

We came home refreshed and relaxed, eager to return to the Emerald Isle and its very special people.

Room Tip: Upstairs at the back with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InkyOilwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Inkyoilwell,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Riverside Park Hotel.

We are all delighted here at the Hotel to have been part of your return visit to Ireland.
We were honored also to help you celebrate your birthday and we are glad you enjoyed your little treat from all the team here.

Thank you so much for choosing The Riverside Park Hotel and we wish you both many years of happy travelling which will hopefully someday lead you both back to the Riverside Park Hotel.
And most of all thank you for your kind sincere comments.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duleek, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed in a family room in the hotel with my wife and three children recently. I found to hotel and the room to be perfectly clean. It was very child-friendly. The food (and drink!) in the bar was great. The family room was enormous. Plenty of room for a King size bed and three single beds for the kids. But what really blew my mind was the customer service - WHICH WAS THE BEST I'VE EVER EXPERIENCED. The staff was so friendly to us all and couldn't do enough to help. A simple example - I mentioned to one of the staff that the kids were really looking forward to Coco Pops for breakfast. Her face dropped, as she told me they didn't serve Coco Pops. I told her it was no bid deal, and not to worry. The next morning she was waiting for us at breakfast. She had brought an unopened box of Coco Pops in from her own house, for us!! I think her name was Catherina?! Anyway, thats just one of many examples of their excellent customer service!

Room Tip: Family rooms are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruairi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights last weekend with my partner. Great central location for visiting West Cork and even Killarney.

Staff in hotel were fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much bother for them, even with a fully booked hotel that weekend. Including a large touring group from oversees.

Room/En-suite was nice and spacious.
Nice relaxed atmosphere in the bar in the evening time.
Food in both the Bar and Restaurant could not be faulted.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDMC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed there with my wife and 18 month toddler for 2 nights as part of a deal . The food was absolutely fantastic in the bar and with a very temperamental toddler the bar staff were absolutely brilliant . Great location , clean rooms and lovely breakfast . Ellen went out of her way to look after us and even brought down a bag of Lego to try quieten our moody toddler . We would be delighted to stay just for the staff alone who are a credit to the establishment and without them it just would nt have been the same . Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mervyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Mervyn M,

Let me take this opportunity to Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Riverside Park Hotel.

I would like to Thank you also for your very kind comments about Ellen and the other Bar staff, it is very much appreciated that you gave credit to the staff who all take great pleasure in ensuring every one of our valued guests are looked after.

Our Head Chef Tamas and his team are delighted to see that you enjoyed your food also.

As General Manager I realise every day how lucky we are to have such a dedicated, naturally willing, caring team here at the Hotel and are delighted that our guest care is evident to all our guests, it makes a huge difference.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and Macroom in the not to distant future.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,602 reviews
Oriel House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballincollig
829 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Park Hotel

Property: Riverside Park Hotel
Address: Killarney Road, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Lee Valley on the outskirts of Macroom and nestled on the banks of the River Sullane you can not help but be charmed by our location. Whether you are here to play golf, to fish, touring or just want to soak up the natural old time charm of Macroom, we are your ideal base. The hotels elegant decor and location give it that distinctive charm that will draw you back time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing