We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Billy's 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Farm Cottages
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Billy's 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our second visit and hopefully not the last. Gertrude and John always helpful and welcoming. Nothing too much trouble (and we had plenty). Thank you to you both for another super holiday.
Billy's cottage is a superior holiday cottage and central for visiting a great many places. Long may it continue. Have a good summer and hopefully the weather will improve. ????????????

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjdealtry43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the wonderful Farm Cottages (Sand and Rock Cottages) twice now. They are superb for extended families, we have stayed with a mixture of 6 adults and 5 children (aged 4 to 11 at the time of stay) and every single person had the time of their life.

The cottages themselves are gorgeous, have everything needed and are lovely and cosy. The gardens have to be seen to be believed - they are huge, beautifully kept with their own tennis courts, football area, swings and just loads and loads of space and fresh air. The views are also fantastic.

There is plenty to do in the area, we have spent 2 separate weeks there and found different things to do both times and still have a list of what else to do. We've had walks in the country, shopping in Cork, a night at the races, paddling in the river at Castletownroche, horse riding, days on the beach - the list goes on....

Best of all are the wonderful hosts Gertrude and John, hard working but never too busy to chat and always happy to show the children life on the farm which is a wonderful experience for them.

I simply cannot recommend these cottages highly enough and we will certainly return again and again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Warm welcome, nothing too much trouble. The house and garden well worth a longer stay. Hope to stay longer next time and chill and relax. Many thanks for making our busy holiday so enjoyable. The dogs enjoyed the garden and the field. Looking forward to next year and a good catch up. Many thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjdealtry43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed in Dingle Harbour Lodge in May, we know it is good as we have stayed there before.
The place is second to none and at a good price at 35euros per night in low season.
The B&B is only 5 mins walk from all the shops etc.
Harringtons cafe is good food at good prices, and its on the front as well.
We took the boat trip out to see Fungi the Dolphin who has been in the harbour for the last 23 yrs, you only pay for the trip if you see Fungi, and that is every time as he likes to swim with the boats.
Fungi came into the harbour 23yrs ago and stayed.
We also took the drive over the mountain to Peddlers Lake, a beautiful drive and the views were wonderful.
We also drove out to the Dingle Wildlife & Seal Sanctuary on the N86 out of Dingle, a very pleasent few hours in beautiful surroundings and see some wildlife.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGPSLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

The houses are of excellent quality, Gertrude is great. House immaculate, everything you could possibly need. Beutiful location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcmahon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Wetayed in Billy's Cottage for a week in May. The cottage was very comfortable with excellent amenities and perfectly located for day trips around the southern art of Irelan, including the Ring of Kerry.
Gertude was a wonderfully helpful host who went out of her way to help my son in Australia arrange flowers to be waiting for his mother on (Australian) Mothers Day. Gertrude even baked a delicious pie for us on arrival and rovided fresh milk from the farm.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneCCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We so much enjoy coming back to the Farm Cottages, its home from home, and Gertrude & John make us so welcome, they are a great couple and nothing is too much trouble.
We were held back a bit this time as we got the tail end of America`s hurricane for a couple of days, but we still got out and about to Car Boots and various Farmers Markets.
We did our usual sightseeing, also we went to the Donkey Sanctuary at Lisscarrol which is only a short run out and see all the beautiful Donkeys.
If you love beautiful scenery then you will love the location of the Farm Cottages, you are surrounded by fields and mountains,plus at nightime as there is no sky pollution, the stars are a treat to see.
Just one more thing to add, do not think about going, go there and you will LOVE the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGPSLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mallow hotels
5.7 mi away
Park South Bed & Breakfast
8.1 mi away
Annabella Lodge B&B
Annabella Lodge B&B
#2 of 6 in Mallow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Hibernian Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Springfort Hall Country House
8.7 mi away
Longueville House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tower Lodge B&B
Tower Lodge B&B
#3 of 6 in Mallow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm Cottages

Property: The Farm Cottages
Address: Bridgetown | Castletownroche, Mallow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mallow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mallow
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farm Cottages is a family-run business attached to our dairy farm. The owners John and Gertrude take great care and pride to present the best possible experience of luxury self catering in Ireland to all our guests. It is a charming property, set in a very scenic location of the Blackwater Valley with panoramic views of the Nagle mountains. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing