We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and yummy!”

The Gallery Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Mallow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family friendly and yummy!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We ate in this restaurant twice over a two week period. The staff were fantastic, and the food was delicious. As a family of 6, it can be difficult to get something to suit everyone, but The Gallery has a menu which suited everyone. Thank you for everything!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorna623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    31
    15
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Where to start. Ok so it was a busy Sunday evening fair enough one would say. Waited a good 20mins for order to be taken. In this time the waitresses managed to sit out the window we were sitting at having cigarette breaks and nattering amongest themselves. We were left waiting for our order to be taken while others waited for food to be delievered. We weren't the only ones complaining. I was ready to get up and leave only for the company I had with me decided to stick it out another awhile. When our order was taken we weren't asked did we want any beverages. One of us went to bar and instead of having them put in the tab payment was demanded by bar man. Ok it's minor but annoying. 2 of us ordered starter portions while the others ordered mains. We had asked for the 4 dishes to be brought together but no we got ours and had it finished before the others received there meals. I work in hospitality and this Is not the service anyone should have displayed to them. The supermacs in the next town would Have been better. I am very sorry to have to say it.

Helpful?
3 Thank rainydaygoaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Customer is always right?”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our family have dined here on more than one occasion. On our last visit our eldest son ordered a burger. In fairness to him he is slow to complain, but after a while did mention his burger wasn't nice as it had a funny taste. His mum took a bite and agreed with him. I in turn took a bite and sure enough there was a bitterness one would associate with food having gone off.
We mentioned this to a staff member and a replacement dish was promptly delivered to our table. Fair enough one would say, these things can happen. I would always be prepared to give the benefit of the doubt.
When we were paying for our meal the owner/manger was tending to us. He commented our child "didn't like" the burger. We corrected him saying it was gone off at which point he mentioned they had not received any other complaints that day. He suggested it must have been the seasoning.
We are fortunate enough to have been able to eat out in a large variety of restaurants over the years and can say with certainty it was indeed gone off.
For any staff member/manager or owner to imply we couldn't tell the difference is irritating to say the least.
Unfortunately there was no form of apology offered.

The staff here are good. The management not so. As for the food stick to the traditional dishes which they do well. Forget stir fry, oriental dishes etc. these they don't do so well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank someguyinCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice meal at the end of a long day”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at nearby Annabella B & B and walked into town after a long drive around Dingle Peninsula. Was glad to have a decent meal at the late hour. Service was good and food was hot and filling.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

What an experience my wife,3 young kids and I had in this fine restaurant. We were just passing through the town on our way home from visiting relatives on a Sunday evening, and all felt hungry. Driving through the town nothing stood out apart from "The Gallery" at the end of the town. Parking was a small bit difficult to come by but we found a spot not too far away. When we came in the door, the place was jam packed, always a good sign but not when you're looking for a seat! But immediately we were greeted by a young waiter who asked us to just take a seat at the bar or on the sofa and he'd have a seat for us shortly, we didn't mind and it was only 3 or 4 minutes before we were seated. The waiter then was full of conversation and brought colours and colouring books for the children. We weren't overly hungry so we just got a large bowl of nachos between us to start and the were delicious, full of flavour. For a main, I got the rib eye, my wife the chicken curry, and our kids ordered spaghetti bolognese, chicken tenders, and roast lamb from the children's menu. The service was extremely professional and the young waiter made sure we were OK for everything, going out of his way to get my son more gravy for his lamb when he was clearly under pressure. All our mains were delicious, every plate cleaned! When paying, what I can only assume is the owner dealt with the bill, was very friendly and full of chat. It was very reasonably priced and will definitely be back, for the price, professionalism of all the staff (particularly our waiter) and just the general atmosphere. Top marks.

Helpful?
5 Thank simonlimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Mallow, County Cork
Mallow, County Cork
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing