We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macliam Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Macliam Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

By the end of July we posted a review on Macliam Lodge which was not too positive. The owners of the Lodge contacted us to follow up on our complaint which was related to noise. They took our complaint very seriously, explained how the noice was related to a temporary detour in the town caused by flooding and offered us a complementary stay on our next visit. The way the follow up was done was not only uncommon but also a really positive experience. Yes, we will be back, for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    18
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
51
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is an excellent guest house. The hostess was wonderful, both in welcoming us and enlivening breakfast (which was enormous) with humorous tales. The room was spacious, clean and left spick and span every day with toiletries refreshed. Excellent access to town, local through roads and superb Inchydony Beach. Would recommend this to anyone visiting the Clonakilty area

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat19492013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Had a wonderful one night stay. Got great local tips from Maeve who couldn't do enough to help us. The room was very spacious, clean and extremely quiet. Our room faced the main road but couldn't hear a thing. Very short walk got us into town. Plenty of parking at the B&B. Breakfast was grouse. Couldn't fault the B&B. Great price as well.
Found some nice restaurants and pubs in the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Macliam Lodge is a lovely B&B within walking distance of the centre of town. The owners are really friendly and welcoming. Stayed in the downstairs room which was lovely and quiet. Carparking available. Great breakfast. Clean room. The owner even gave us towels to bring to the beach as we got great weather in August.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hbee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed here a week ago as part of a large group and the service that we were offered was fantastic. The rooms were spotless and the cooked breakfast was excellent. The major differentiator however was the friendliness and hospitality of the landlady Maeve. She did everything in her power to make sure that our stay in clonakilty was perfect. I was part of a large cycling group and Maeve really went the extra mile. She even lent me a spair pair of shoes for the last day after my own shoes got soaked in the previous days cycle.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Macliam Lodge has done what many guest houses should do and installed wireless repeaters throughout the building, so the Wi-Fi signal is great! Good location close to town centre, on-site parking and a very friendly and helpful owner (Maeve) made for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajr453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends cycling down to Mizen Head in August. Maeve and her family couldn't have been more accommodating. Our bikes were stored under lock and key, our cycling gear was washed and dried, and because we had a schedule to keep Maeve even arranged for dinner for us in a local hotel on both nights we stayed, as well as ordering and delivering a cake to the hotel kitchen for us. Maeve and John are an example of true Irish hospitality at it's best, something that sets them apart and makes this a place worth visiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ethoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emmet Hotel
Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macliam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macliam Lodge

Property: Macliam Lodge
Address: Macliam Lodge Western Road, Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Macliam Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macliam Lodge is a well appointed home located in a quiet area just 5 minutes walk from the town centre. We have private parking. Our rooms are spacious and comfortable with all facilities including wireless broadband, power showers and hairdryers,T.V, Tea /Coffee. Our top priority here is looking after your needs and making your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Macliam Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing