We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macliam Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Macliam Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I arrived in Clonakilty intending to camp but heavy rain and nightfall made me google Maclean Lodge having passed it en route to the town. I was welcomed with a very reasonable room only rate and my own off street parking place. The room was modern and spotless with excellent touches like free wi fi, a great big shower, bathrobe and the loan of a phone charger. Situated about an 8 minute walk from the town centre on the main road was a real bonus for me to visit the awesome de Barras folk club. I wasn't staying for breakfast but had a great natter with Maeve in her again spotless kitchen. Overall a great welcome in a flawless B&B

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    18
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
51
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wedding in the nearby Fernhill House. We stayed in the MacLiam Lodge. The room was a double, comfortable and en suite. The host was chatty, friendly, good-fun and relaxed. Nice breakfast. Parking in front. Plenty of rooms

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Macliam Lodge is ideal for your visit to Clonakilty: a fantastic location on the main street through town, a delicious full Irish breakfast made to order each morning, quiet and comfortable rooms to sleep each night. You will find sitting areas well stocked with books, hairdryers and tea kettles in every room, and friendly conversation and advice from John and Maeve for visiting their beautiful country. You will be sad to leave behind this lovely lodge that feels like home, and will already be planning your next visit to enjoy Maeve's delicious cooking, Clonakilty's pubs and sites, and a perfectly restful vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great place to stay in Clonakilty. Good location, just a short walk into town. Rooms are well appointed with everything you need--TV, hair dryer, electric kettle with tea and coffee. My room faced the front, but I didn't notice any noise from the street. Showers were always nice and warm. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The best part, however, was the hospitality shown by the owners. Maeve and John are very welcoming and make you feel right at home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgs408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
389 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed there in December - I KNOW, strange time to need the services of a comfortable home from home. However, this guesthouse is perfect for anyone visiting West Cork at any time of the year. Our reason for being there was to attend a wedding at the nearby Fernhill House Hotel.

The owners are very welcoming and the house itself is very large even if first impressions are deceptive. (There are more rooms at the rear of the hotel). The room we were allocated was very nice, roomy with 2 single beds and a double, nicely appointed en suite with good shower, toilet and sink. There is a flat screen TV and Tea Coffee making facilities. The room key also has a front door key for latecomers. We arrived home 3am and were as quiet as mice. It's a pity some of the other guests didn't do the same. We were awoken in the early hours of the morning by a noisy group who ignored the 'Quiet Please' sign at the end of the stairs.

Breakfast is really good with full range of cereals, juices, youghurts, brown bread, and a nice selection of home cooked food. I had the two poached eggs with bacon and toast, the eggs perfectly cooked with the yellowest yolks I have seen in a long time and a lovely flavour. Coffee and tea was lovely and no problem with seconds of anything. Breakfast is between 08:30 and 10am.

Checkout is at 11:30 and cost for two of us was €90 which we thought was good value. On leaving we had a very nice chat with the owners who showed no inclination to rush us out the door. Their reaction with other customers was very nice/natural and some foreign guest seemed very taken with the irish hospitality They have a range of rooms including family, slots of options. For multi night stays, they offer good reductions.

All in all, a lovely stay, even if it was only for a night. Free Wi-Fi included, the security code is displayed in every room.

Room Tip: There is a lovely self contained room at the back of the house. If you want a little privacy, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

A clean, quiet room (at the back of the house) & a delicious breakfast. A very helpful & friendly couple, free wifi & an easy walk into the lovely town of Clonakilty, with a great choice of restaurants.

Room Tip: On a main road but room 7 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

By the end of July we posted a review on Macliam Lodge which was not too positive. The owners of the Lodge contacted us to follow up on our complaint which was related to noise. They took our complaint very seriously, explained how the noice was related to a temporary detour in the town caused by flooding and offered us a complementary stay on our next visit. The way the follow up was done was not only uncommon but also a really positive experience. Yes, we will be back, for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
0.4 mi away
Emmet Hotel
Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macliam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macliam Lodge

Property: Macliam Lodge
Address: Macliam Lodge Western Road, Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Macliam Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macliam Lodge is a well appointed home located in a quiet area just 5 minutes walk from the town centre. We have private parking. Our rooms are spacious and comfortable with all facilities including wireless broadband, power showers and hairdryers,T.V, Tea /Coffee. Our top priority here is looking after your needs and making your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Macliam Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing