We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous.”
Review of Macliam Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macliam Lodge
Ranked #3 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Maeve and her husband are fantastic. Our room was something you could well see in a five star hotel. They were very friendly and brought us to the restaurant we were going too as I had heels on. Actually Not too far to walk from town as we walked home. Breakfast was very tasty. Will def visit again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noeleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Macliam Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is the best b&b I have ever stayed at.Maeve & John are so friendly people,they could not have done anymore for one to enjoy their holiday,Just lovely people,i am hoping to return in September.Looking forward to returning

Room Tip: very quiet and central for town
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ben l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough about this B&B! Ok where to start?

We had a fairly large group....5 adults and a baby...needed 4 rooms and fairly last minute.

Maeve, the owner, was wonderful! She had rooms all ready for us when we arrived (even accommodated the request to have 1 room be a bit farther away from the rest due to the baby). She and her son helped us bring our bags up (and with a baby we sure had bags!), offered to do a load of laundry for baby, offered to drive us into town to the pharmacy when baby developed a cough, and has amenities in EVER room: tea/coffee, tv, hair dryer, hot water bottle and showers with water pressure better than we have at our homes! She even gave us a little honey in the evening to help with a cough. She is wonderful!

The breakfast this AM was great! Full Irish breakfast, cereal, yogurts, cheese, tea & coffee....we are stuffed!

I highly recommend you give this B &B a try if you are in the area....we will for sure come back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank kmpolich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I arrived in Clonakilty intending to camp but heavy rain and nightfall made me google Maclean Lodge having passed it en route to the town. I was welcomed with a very reasonable room only rate and my own off street parking place. The room was modern and spotless with excellent touches like free wi fi, a great big shower, bathrobe and the loan of a phone charger. Situated about an 8 minute walk from the town centre on the main road was a real bonus for me to visit the awesome de Barras folk club. I wasn't staying for breakfast but had a great natter with Maeve in her again spotless kitchen. Overall a great welcome in a flawless B&B

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a wedding in the nearby Fernhill House. We stayed in the MacLiam Lodge. The room was a double, comfortable and en suite. The host was chatty, friendly, good-fun and relaxed. Nice breakfast. Parking in front. Plenty of rooms

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Macliam Lodge is ideal for your visit to Clonakilty: a fantastic location on the main street through town, a delicious full Irish breakfast made to order each morning, quiet and comfortable rooms to sleep each night. You will find sitting areas well stocked with books, hairdryers and tea kettles in every room, and friendly conversation and advice from John and Maeve for visiting their beautiful country. You will be sad to leave behind this lovely lodge that feels like home, and will already be planning your next visit to enjoy Maeve's delicious cooking, Clonakilty's pubs and sites, and a perfectly restful vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great place to stay in Clonakilty. Good location, just a short walk into town. Rooms are well appointed with everything you need--TV, hair dryer, electric kettle with tea and coffee. My room faced the front, but I didn't notice any noise from the street. Showers were always nice and warm. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The best part, however, was the hospitality shown by the owners. Maeve and John are very welcoming and make you feel right at home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgs408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.2 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macliam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macliam Lodge

Address: Macliam Lodge Western Road, Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range: £73 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macliam Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macliam Lodge is a well appointed home located in a quiet area just 5 minutes walk from the town centre. We have private parking. Our rooms are spacious and comfortable with all facilities including wireless broadband, power showers and hairdryers,T.V, Tea /Coffee. Our top priority here is looking after your needs and making your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Macliam Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing