We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth the visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fernhill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Ardee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“well worth the visit”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently as friends of ours were having their wedding reception in the hotel. Its a delightful hotel with friendly efficient staff that really make you feel welcome. The wedding meal was lovely and our room was very pleasant and spacious. Due to over-enjoyment at the wedding we did not make it to breakfast, but by all accounts it was the "bees knees".
I would definitely recommend a stay here and I will revisit next time Im down in clonakilty

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    46
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
112
141
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here last month for one night on a last minute booking with my 80 year old mother. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they are all so professional and welcoming. The hotel is immaculate, rooms are tastefully done out and spacious and it's very peaceful for a goods night sleep. Breakfast amazing with a good choice selection and service fantastic . Would def recommend this place if you looking for somewhere peaceful with plenty of parking available. One point to say is though the shower is over the bath which wasn't any good to an 80 year with limited use of legs as it was impossible to get into.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveskiathos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
I am delighted that we could make your break with your mother an enjoyable one. As a family run hotel we know time together is important.

We do have other bedrooms with separate showers and some with wheel chair access showers. If you are staying again, please let us know your request and we will do our utmost to ensure it is met.

Thanks again for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irl
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Last weekend I was lucky enough to have been invited to a wedding being held in this beautiful hotel. From start to finish it was a very pleasant experience. From arrival reception in the marquee on their beautiful grounds, the fantastic dinner, and even the fish and chips for the night time break. The staff at all points were friendly and accommodating. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean nicely appointed. Little touches like the sprigs of dried lavendar on the face-clothes in the bathroom make this hotel a little jewel in West Cork's crown. Being a Corkonian living now in Galway and also working in the hospitality industry this experience made me very happy.

Fernhill House is a perfect example of how things should be done!! Excellent work.

Room Tip: We stayed in 208 and couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonanCah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It certainly is high praise seeing that you work in the hospitality industry. I have passed on your review to our staff and it has provided excellent motivation to them.

Thanks again

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic 4 nights we had at the Fernhill house hotel! Great value, clean, modern, friendly and very helpful staff.

After a disaster with our 1st booking at another hotel we found Fernhill via a booking website n drove up to see if they had availability. Not only did they put us up for 4 nite's but they also matched the online deal!

About 15min walk from town Centre but perfect distance wen your full of food and beer!

Staff always gave us suggestions of places to visit,places to eat and pubs to drink in!!

Definitely 4* not 3* - great find in a fantastic location!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinynose82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hello, Michael here.

Thank you very much to you and your partner for taking the time to write such amazing reviews. It was great that we could make your break enjoyable especially seeing that you were celebrating a birthday. It is also a relief that you liked the birthday candle as not everyone likes to celebrate their birthday but I thought that you were up for the 'craic'.

Hope to see you in West Cork again.

Best regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed for four nights at Fernhill to celebrate my 40th Birthday last week and have nothing but praise for both the Hotel and its staff. Great rooms and en-suite, superb food, excellent Guinness (very reasonably priced for a hotel) and fantastic staff made our stay a most memorable one. Personal touches from the staff included the loan of brollies on more than one occasion, a lift into town one evening (thank you Michael), complimentary tea, coffee and home-made biscuits when checking in and most thoughtful of all - a candle on my Birthday breakfast. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough (and I've stayed in many the length and breadth of the country) and will definitely return - 5 Star. Clonakilty highlights include: walking on Inchydony beach, food at the Malthouse Granary Restaurant, and last but certainly not least - our new favourite pub in the whole world; DeBarra's.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny4bullits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I wish I were on holidays and could stay for longer:) Hotel is in a great condition, very clean, very comfortable. A lot of greenery outside, very relaxing. It is peaceful and quiet, which to me is a massive bonus. Staff are amazingly attentive without being intrusive. Burger on the bar menu is very tasty and comes with a little flower on top:))) Definitely a place to return to for a nice weekend away or an event.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We attended a wedding recently in Fernhill House Hotel,wonderful location,hotel beautifully decorated and maintained to the highest standards,it should have more stars*****.
This hotel has a reputation for good good food and so it was,from the nicest vegetable soup to the fillet of beef which was to die for!!
Great to see the personell touch evident throughout the day,a well run family business,loved the ride in the buggy with the charming proprietor!!!
Fresh fish and chips served later in the evening,this wedding would be hard to beat!!!
N +B Cork.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. My father, Michael Snr, drives the buggy on Wedding days and he was delighted to be called charming!

Hope to see you at the hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
3.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
397 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
141 reviews
6.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill House Hotel

Property: Fernhill House Hotel
Address: Fernhill, Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhill House Hotel& Gardens is based on a Victorian House set on its own landscaped gardens overlooking the beautiful coutryside of West Cork. The hotel is owned by the O'Neill family, and along with their management look forward to seeing to your every need. The hotel features new rooms with each designed in a modern and unique style where attention to detail and comfort is paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fernhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing