We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is outstanding, excellent wedding venue, amazing staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fernhill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had our wedding reception in Fernhill in December 2013 and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The staff are fantastic. They are courteous, friendly and helpful without being fake. They still retain the lovely realness of west cork, where they'll have a laugh with you, not be too stiff. They made our family and friends feel really special and cared for.
The food was outstanding. If you love great food, get married here. It's fantastic. Caroline and Neal were so good when helping to choose the menu.
Michael and Teresa were brilliant too making sure we got fantastic photos in the gardens and in their beautifully decorated hotel. The photos are so festive due to all the lovely decorations.
I cannot recommend Fernhill highly enough. It's fantastic. They fulfil their promise to make your day so special.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcork78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had our wedding reception at Fernhill House Hotel last summer and it was the most amazing day. For those of you thinking of having your wedding here, all I can say is just go for it!!! I highly recommend it as you can be sure of a great day to remember for you and all of your guests.
It really is such a beautiful venue which benefits from stunning gardens and beautiful hotel. Everything was five star…..from being brought down to the drinks reception in the marque in the golf buggy, the beautiful meal and the fish and chips shop (which went down a great treat with the guests and it is still talked about!!!). The left over sandwiches which were brought to the residence bar were such a nice touch and were very much appreciated.

Caroline, Michael and the rest of the O’ Neill family together with the staff were so welcoming, helpful and friendly and added to the relaxed atmosphere of the day. We didn’t have to worry about a thing on the day or on the lead up to the big day. Caroline was always there at the end of the phone/email happy to answer any queries we had.

I could go on and on but go see for yourself. If only we could have the day all over again. Maybe we’ll just have to come back and renew our vows in a few years!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hello Louise O and thank you for your stunning review! We are delighted that we could help make your day a truly special one and wish you both years of happiness together!

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here as a friend was having her wedding reception in the hotel. It was a great experience form start to finish. The rooms were lovely, bright, warm, and spotless. The beds were very comfortable too. The food in the hotel was fantastic and the owner was around during the course of the evening and the next morning at breakfast checking that everything was alright. The staff on a whole were friendly, welcoming and attentive. The wedding was fantastic and the rooms were quiet at the same time as they are located away from the function room. The hotel grounds are well worth a walk around as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_M01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. You seemed to encapsulate nearly all of the service points we strive to meet! We are delighted that we could make your experience a pleasant one and hope to see you in Clonakilty again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently as friends of ours were having their wedding reception in the hotel. Its a delightful hotel with friendly efficient staff that really make you feel welcome. The wedding meal was lovely and our room was very pleasant and spacious. Due to over-enjoyment at the wedding we did not make it to breakfast, but by all accounts it was the "bees knees".
I would definitely recommend a stay here and I will revisit next time Im down in clonakilty

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here last month for one night on a last minute booking with my 80 year old mother. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they are all so professional and welcoming. The hotel is immaculate, rooms are tastefully done out and spacious and it's very peaceful for a goods night sleep. Breakfast amazing with a good choice selection and service fantastic . Would def recommend this place if you looking for somewhere peaceful with plenty of parking available. One point to say is though the shower is over the bath which wasn't any good to an 80 year with limited use of legs as it was impossible to get into.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveskiathos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I am delighted that we could make your break with your mother an enjoyable one. As a family run hotel we know time together is important.

We do have other bedrooms with separate showers and some with wheel chair access showers. If you are staying again, please let us know your request and we will do our utmost to ensure it is met.

Thanks again for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Last weekend I was lucky enough to have been invited to a wedding being held in this beautiful hotel. From start to finish it was a very pleasant experience. From arrival reception in the marquee on their beautiful grounds, the fantastic dinner, and even the fish and chips for the night time break. The staff at all points were friendly and accommodating. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean nicely appointed. Little touches like the sprigs of dried lavendar on the face-clothes in the bathroom make this hotel a little jewel in West Cork's crown. Being a Corkonian living now in Galway and also working in the hospitality industry this experience made me very happy.

Fernhill House is a perfect example of how things should be done!! Excellent work.

Room Tip: We stayed in 208 and couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonanCah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It certainly is high praise seeing that you work in the hospitality industry. I have passed on your review to our staff and it has provided excellent motivation to them.

Thanks again

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic 4 nights we had at the Fernhill house hotel! Great value, clean, modern, friendly and very helpful staff.

After a disaster with our 1st booking at another hotel we found Fernhill via a booking website n drove up to see if they had availability. Not only did they put us up for 4 nite's but they also matched the online deal!

About 15min walk from town Centre but perfect distance wen your full of food and beer!

Staff always gave us suggestions of places to visit,places to eat and pubs to drink in!!

Definitely 4* not 3* - great find in a fantastic location!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinynose82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Hello, Michael here.

Thank you very much to you and your partner for taking the time to write such amazing reviews. It was great that we could make your break enjoyable especially seeing that you were celebrating a birthday. It is also a relief that you liked the birthday candle as not everyone likes to celebrate their birthday but I thought that you were up for the 'craic'.

Hope to see you in West Cork again.

Best regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
3.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
422 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
0.9 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill House Hotel

Address: Fernhill, Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: £87 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhill House Hotel& Gardens is based on a Victorian House set on its own landscaped gardens overlooking the beautiful coutryside of West Cork. The hotel is owned by the O'Neill family, and along with their management look forward to seeing to your every need. The hotel features new rooms with each designed in a modern and unique style where attention to detail and comfort is paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Fernhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing