We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fernhill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Fernhill. The hotel is bright and airy and everything was spotless. Friendly helpful staff and gorgeous gardens in which to stroll around. We stayed midweek so had a limited bar food menu to choose from but there was still plenty of choice.
Will definitely return and have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

On Thursday we had a family wedding in Fernhill House Hotel and stayed over night. We had a amazing time. The staff, the hotel and the food was top class. They did not miss a trick. Everything was catered for. The bedroom was modern and clean. Breakfast was lovely and I would highly recommend it. Gardens are fab also. We will be back.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank 133sinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from Fernhill House Hotel and we're still smiling. What a lovely place; no wonder the owners and the cheerful young staff who always seemed to be on hand to help are so proud of it. Everything is spotless, comfortable, and welcoming. The grub was good - the room (especially the bathroom) was superb and the setting and location perfect. What more could one want ... we're definitely going back.

Room Tip: Check Wifi signal strength, apparently not all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gringoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and even more so that you were 'Still smiling' even after you returned home. We look forward to welcoming you back again in West Cork.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently visited this fine hotel for a family celebration. Everything was well organised and the staff were very pleasant and welcoming.
Very good selection of food and wines available, dont forget to try the famous Clonakilty black pudding when you visit there.
Lovely peaceful setting on the outskirts of Clonakilty, well maintained extensive gardens with water features made perfect settings for photos.
We will return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank admarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just returned from a two day stay at The Fernhill House Hotel, where everything was simply very good. All the staff were extremely friendly, especially the youngest son whom was very helpful with advice on the locality. The bedroom was large, spotless with all that one would expect of a good hotel. The bar, restaurant and pubic areas of the hotel were all very inviting, whilst the garden was exceptional. Great venue to stay whilst exploring West Cork or simply unwinding locally. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil1D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for a wedding reception
Very personel and professional staff
Family run business
Would recommend this hotel to anyone
The marquee is a nice touch with beautiful gardens with a golf buggy to transport guests from the marquee to the hotel

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a lovely review. Our main goal is to ensure that every Wedding at the hotel is a wonderful day for everyone involved so it is particularly nice to hear that you enjoyed yourself.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for a wedding reception. The hotel and grounds were beautifully kept, the staff were all excellent, hard working, efficient, polite and helpful. The food was also first class. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
2.8 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
3 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
167 reviews
6.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
743 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill House Hotel

Address: Fernhill, Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#1 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: £86 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhill a Georgian mansion set on its own landscaped gardens overlooking the beautiful countryside of West Cork. The hotel is owned by the O'Neill family who look forward to seeing to your every need. The hotel features new rooms with each designed in a modern and unique style where attention to detail and comfort is paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Fernhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing