We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of O'Donovan's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
O'Donovan's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

An historic, friendly, homely hotel, with lots of character. Reasonably priced meals in the dining room and bar, which has all the usual stouts and Irish whiskeys, plus a nice supply of English bottled beers. Good breakfast, good music, good craic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    52
    11
    11
    11
See reviews for
29
47
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

stayed here for 2 nights on 27&28th august with 3 others the hotel was lovely and homely the owners were very friendly . We had traditonal music the 2 nights we were there . recommend to both young and old would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frankie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuaim da Gualin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just stayed here for one night while visiting Clonakilty.Its an old family run hotel right in the centre of Clonakilty,and we were well treated by all the staff.A very easygoing place.We enjoyed a few drinks at the bar and had a nice breakfast in the morning.Plenty of Clonakilty black pudding to be had.There were lots of interesting books left around that you could read if you felt like it.A great session in a little bar at the back the night we were there.I would recommend this hotel for its relaxing atmosphere and good service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacCraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I visit Ireland often, always visit Clonakilty and always stay at O'Donovan's! This is a family run
hotel that shows the way it should be done. They have a very friendly, helpful staff that will do anything to make your stay perfect. Lovely, clean, spacious rooms and two pubs full of good food and criac, that often have great music. The hotel is well located in the center of town and has it's own parking lot. It is full of Irish history. From the pictures of Michael Collins and other Irish patriots (some of who stayed here) all over the walls to several lounges full of great books on Ireland and on other interesting topics. They also have information on the famous US Bomber, Taint a Bird, that crashed near Clon during world war 2 and even have the crews pet monkey buried in the patio. Don't miss the opportunity to experience this traditional Irish hotel!

Room Tip: Never had a bad room. If you have a concern, call them. They will take great care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We enjoyed a very good meal at O'Donavans on a Wednesday evening. No booking and a very warm welcome. The staff were very attentive without over doing their attention. The food was very tasty and well presented. We noted good attention to hygiene when food was spilled at the entrance to the kitchen.
After the meal we were invited to go to Teac Beag for entertainment. Story telling, singing, poetry recitals - in an informal setting - it was a great night's craic and all free of charge. Our hostess told us that O'Donavans provide music for tourists FREE 7 nights a week from June to September. This evening's entertainment was the highlight of our week's holiday in Co. Cork.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We came to stay here while attending a wedding in another hotel. We had read some reviews and were slightly concerned but as availability was limited else where and the price was reasonable we took the risk. The rooms are tired and very basic. The beds are incredibly uncomfortable. The walls are very thin and so it is very noisy. It is a family run hotel and two out of three of the people we met at reception we very polite, however one lady we dealt with was rude, abrupt and obnoxious on both occasions. If you stay I would recommend all your bookings be made via email so there are no misunderstandings and that you are either a heavy sleeper who likes the floor or you are drunk enough not to notice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J84OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We've stayed at the Hotel a few times midweek and it was great. This year we stayed Friday Saturday and Sunday. After lovely evenings out on Friday and Saturday we were subjected to the most horrendous noise from those who attended the 'Disco' They were on the street until at least 3 a m and the noise, shout, cars revving and general buzz was terrible. We put up with it on Friday night, but when it started again on Saturday, that was enough. Spoke to reception, and was informed that this was a Town Centre Hotel and the way the youths were behaving was indicitive of the society we were living in!!!!! Couldn't believe the response, but did not pursue. The Gardai were useless. They drove up and down the street a few times, but did not get out of the vehicle. Perhaps they should be informed that public order offences also include excessive and unacceptable noise and behaviour. As I say, the Hotel and staff are great, but don't book to stay on a weekend if you value your sanity.

Gerry Nash Cardiff Wales.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.1 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
398 reviews
2.2 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Donovan's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Donovan's Hotel

Property: O'Donovan's Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Donovan's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your O'Donovan's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Donovans Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing