We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic House”
other travellers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GEMLAW1
Darwin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic House”
Reviewed 28 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The house was great, all rooms are beautifully decorated and all bedrooms have large on suites. Plenty of room for our 12 guests to sit and eat together but also room to hide in the different living spaces, also has a lovely well equipped kitchen. The house is in a beautiful secluded setting but is within walking distance of the beach and only a 20 minute drive into town. Myself, family and friends all had a great time at Dunowen House and would recommend it as the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or just have a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jullop
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect house for large family/group celebrations, in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 22 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Dunowen House is a pleasure to stay at. This house provided my family (10 adults, 5 children & 4 dogs) with an abundance of space and luxury to enjoy a weeks holiday together in beautiful Co. Cork.
All of the bedrooms are spacious, with their own private en suite bathroom. The kitchen is very functional - we cooked every night during our stay and we had everything we needed.

The owner Heather, is very helpful and lives right next door, but is never intrusive during your stay.

The location is great, offering peace, whilst being only a short drive away from Clonakilty, which offers everything you could possibly need in a small town. I was staying with my children aged 4 & 7 and this area offered a great range of activities (park, cinema, swimming pool, indoor play area) to entertain them, when on the rare occasion they got bored at the 'big house'!

There is a lovely little beach cove just a short walk away, and just a little further (3km) there is Red Strand Beach, with it's beautiful golden sands and clear waters, it makes a fantastic addition to any holiday.

Whatever your reason for visiting Dunowen House & Co.Cork you will enjoy your time there. It's a beautiful house in a wonderful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and garden was just bliss.
Liked least: Not everything in the property was working just right, a few minor tweaks and it would have been perfect. (e.g. provision of a tumble dryer & door locks)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran W
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome House!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Ten of us stayed at Dunowen house for our trip to Ireland from Canada (Ottawa. It is an ideal location for any large group, with beautifully decorated bedrooms (6) and bathrooms. Overall the house is very comfortable with plenty of room for everyone.
Contragtulations to the home owners on a beautiful renovation of this histiric property.
I would recommend this house without hestitation.
kw

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Spacious, decor, grounds
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirzy-pie
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 6 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We hired Dunowen House for my sisters hen party in June. She and the guests were amazed at the fabulous house and grounds! We had 20 people staying and had so much space. Heather, the owner, was brilliant. She brought us firewood to light a fire in the hugh drawing room and organised catering in the house on two nights. The hen was a huge success with everyone raving about how different and special it was. A definite 5 stars to Dunowen and Heather!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury!
Liked least: No phone coverage!!!!!
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth88_11
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure on the outskirts of Clonakilty.....PERFECT for Hen Parties, family holidays etc!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a weekend at Dunowen House for my sisters Hen Party. There was a very large group of us for 2 of the nights, however this stunning house with its amazing interior and homely atmosphere was more than capable of accommodating everyone. Heather (the owner) was so helpful with our preparations and in making my sisters Hen Party special and most definitely a weekend to remember!!We had an in house Chef prepare a fabulous meal for us on the Saturday night at a very very reasonable cost. The food was second to none. Heather has an amazing eye for detail and on arrival at the house she had scented candles and tea lights lighting with stunning fresh flowers scattered around the house. This amazing house is located 5minutes drive from Inchydoney beach and a 5minute walk from Red Strand. This house truly is a treasure and a must see. It is a real treat especially for special occasions like hen parties and birthday parties. I would highly recommend it to anybody interested and would like to thank Heather Miles and her two lovely dogs Steve and Rosey :) again for making us feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous house and decor and the beautiful grounds.
Liked least: I can honestly say there was no part of this house I did not like.
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vengo
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tempted to keep this magical house a secret”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We were an extended family group of 7 adults and 6 children (ranging in age from 3 to 17) who stayed in Dunowen House for a week in summer 2011. You know how you're always at least a bit disappointed with a rental when you first see it? Not with this house. It exceeds all expectations. Other reviews have said it but it's true. The photographs don't do it justice. This house will put everyone in a good mood. There are magnificent bedrooms, a top floor room with four single beds that the children loved, a music room with a baby grand piano, violin and guitar, a lovely dining room that seated everyone, a drawing room with huge straight backed couches and armchairs, fireplaces, a cobbled courtyard, a tree swing, masses of bullrushes and young apple trees in the grounds and a terrace for sitting out or for barbecues. Everything in the house is beautiful or unusual or interesting or all three but it also manages to be completely child friendly, perhaps because there's so much space. My small children still talk about this house almost a year later.

Noel Redding from the Jimi Hendrix Experience lived here for years; many of his copies of Hot Press from the 70s and 80s are still in the house. Bring bikes if you can to cycle to the nearby cove and beach. Bring your old piano sheet music. You'll want to play again. The house is great for eating in and and fireplace chats but has lots of space if you'd like some solitude. There are great shops and restaurants in Clonakilty, a model railway for small children and several local summer festivals. The local pub is within walking distance. There are great local beaches - Heather will get you oriented. We took two longer trips to Bantry House and Mizen Head. Both well worth seeing.

Heather is nearby if you need anything and couldn't be more obliging. Mobile phone coverage was patchy on some networks but wifi was connected. There are loads of towels - there's nothing mean about this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved everything about this house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EimearMal...
Kilkenny
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect house for a perfect Hen weekend!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This house is just amazing! We stayed for Friday night and Saturday night for my friend's hen weekend. There were 17 of us staying and we had plenty of room. All of the girls were so impressed with the house. We cooked in the house on both nights and all sat arround the huge dining table for dinner. We lit the fire in the beautiful sitting room on Friday night and just enjoyed being in such wonderful surroundings. If you're looking for a house for a group for a hen I would say book this house - you won't be dissappointed. One of the girls who stayed is already planing to book it for a hen she is orgainising.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing interior design throughout the whole house.
Liked least: I did not like leaving.
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing