We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic welcoming house Kela & Steven were...”
other travellers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise M
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic welcoming house Kela & Steven were fantastic”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We decided to have a family holiday in Clonakilty for my husband Owens 60th birthday.
Our children and grandchildren all came along Dunowen house looked perfect and it didn't disappoint.The house was beautiful,gardens fantastic and the most magical beach for kids 10 minutes walk from the house.The scenery is breathtaking and unspoilt and the whole holiday was wonderful.
Thank you Kela & Steven

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback, it was a pleasure to have you all here and that the weather was so good for the majority of your stay. Hopefully we'll see you in lovely West Cork again at some stage in the future. We hope you enjoyed your extended break visiting other spots on the Wild Atlantic Way. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaHedd
1 review
“Relaxed”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I had a fabulous weekend here for a hen party. Our group of 17 girls ranged from 21 to 61, and everybody was impressed and delighted with the venue. I believe it made the weekend.

Everybody loved the rooms, the decor and the food. The fire was lite both evenings for us. The large rooms downstairs were ideal for having everybody together, and the comfort of every room ment it was easy for everyone to spread out, take a corner and enjoy the down time.

Dinner was cooked for all guests the first evening and everybody was stuffed (the brownies are to die for). The second evening taxis had been arranged for us, and a 10min drive took us into clonakility, for some good pub scenes. Both mornings/ early afternoons we were able to saunter around and explore the beautiful coastal country side.

Its the type of place you want to tell everybody about. I'd love to have stayed longer, and I'm certain it won't be my last visit.

Thanks Kela and Stephen

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
You are very welcome - we are delighted you enjoy the house, the surrounding area and of course my special brownies!!! Best wishes to you all for the wedding later this summer. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleddie
Chinley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant for large get-togethers !!”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Dunowen is perfect! Nestled in the beautiful countryside of West Cork within walking distance of two beaches and a 10 minute drive to Clonakilty. A great place to explore West Cork from but once you get there you won't want to leave!

The house has been beautifully designed and furnished and is incredibly well equipped. Kela has thought of everything. It is clean and comfortable and has wonderful relaxing atmosphere. We instantly felt at home, all thirteen of us!.

Kela was great, she greeted us on arrival with homemade jam, scones and cakes and very kindly provided us with the essentials like bread, milk & butter. She then gave us the grand tour of the house which really is grand! All the rooms are beautifully spacious. The bedrooms and bathrooms are incredible. Super comfy beds with beautiful linens and plenty of nice soft towels provided.

The music room with all the memorabilia was a great place place to sit in the evening, log fire burning and with great selection of music to listen to. Plenty of games and instruments too!! In contrast the living room with views of the garden and large patio was a lovely quiet, relaxing room with some really interesting books to read and lovely open fire.

The kitchen is light and spacious with views over the garden and surrounding countryside (so well equipped as well). Nice big table for family breakfasts! The dining room, just off the kitchen, has windows running the full length of the room with doors opening out on to the patio. We stayed mid May and the weather was really good so spent a lot of time on the patio.

We were in Clonakilty for a family wedding and a lot of the guests came to see us on the Saturday. We had afternoon tea for twenty plus on the patio. Kela's catering was so good all the food disappeared very quickly especially the salted caramel chocolate brownies and lemon & coconut cake!

We all had such a good time at Dunowen and will be going back just as soon as possible. It really is a great place to stay whatever the season.

All in all better than any five star hotel!! I recommend you book now!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful & detailed review, hope all our guests enjoy Dunowen as much as you did! It was lovely to have you all here and we were more than happy to help you in your post-wedding celebrations. We hope to see you all here again sometime in the near future - Bertie the donkey misses your visits!! Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithjess...
1 review
“Wedding of the century”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We hired Dunowen House for our wedding - the first one Kela and Stephen had ever hosted at Dunowen. It was all, without exception, fantastic. The house is beautiful and a wonderful celebratory space. We were lucky to have decent weather and were able to use the grounds for our ceremony and drinks, before heading into a huge marquee on the patio for dinner. Kela was able to link us up with excellent local suppliers which meant we had supurb catering - top quality food in generous quantities, friendly and hardworking staff and great furniture and equipment in the marquee. We had 120 guests who were all very well looked after. Kela and Stephen worked so hard to make it all come together - they must have put in at least a 12 hour shift on the day and even ended up taking people home at the end of the night! Truly fantastic and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
We were blessed to have had such a fantastic & chilled out couple for our first wedding here at Dunowen House - no stress, relaxed vibe, great fun! Thank you for choosing the house as your venue, we were privileged to have been part of it and delighted to have helped make it such a wonderful event for you. Best wishes in your married life together, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick O
1 review
“Really Fantastic House in Amazing Location”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed in May 2015 with a big extended family and had a fantastic time.
Kela and Stephen were great, helpful with everything and even baking us fresh scones!

There is a 5 minute walk to a small secluded beach if you want some quiet, but the grounds are fantastic themselves, with a real feel of being miles away from it all.

The 6 double bedrooms are all incredible, equally nice, each with a bath and shower (from memory) and all fantastic size. Sitting rooms, kitchen, dining room, everything is just fantastic.

Oh, and clonakilty is a great town if you don't know it. So I can't really say enough good things about this place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Delighted you all enjoyed your stay here, that the house lived up to expectations and that the weather was quite kind. Glad to see you enjoyed the scones too - my secret recipe!! We hope to see you back again in Clonakilty at some stage in the future. Many thanks, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOODHEAVE...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not only luxurious but magical”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is truly one of Ireland's hidden gems when it comes to luxury self catering. In fact luxury self catering is a significant understatement.
From the minute I drove up to the house surrounded by mature trees and rolling hills I knew there was something special about Dunowen. The drive was followed by the warmest of welcomes from Kela and Stephen and after some homemade scones and jam I got the guided tour of the house with each room more impressive than the next. I loved the log fires, music room, the very convivial dining room and the short walk down to a beautiful sandy cove ...I will be back for a longer stay next time !
Thank you for a most memorable time in a magical location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thanks so much for your lovely review....hopefully we won't be so hidden for long! It was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back with friends and family. Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 May 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely kind words and positive feedback about your stay with us here at Dunowen House. It was a pleasure to have you all here! We love it when guests leave Dunowen having enjoyed it as much as we do. Hopefully we'll see you back in West Cork in the near future. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;