We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
donettak2...
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Dunowen House is absolutely beautiful. The home and its surrounding are perfect for a relaxing, soothing getaway or a large, special event party. I found it to be a perfect blend of the old and new, elegance and comfort. I brought 13 of my family members, ranging in age from 12 to 71 and every single person loved it. We were beyond thrilled.

As wonderful as this was I must save my highest praise for Kela. This delightful young woman went above and beyond to make certain our stay was all we hoped it would be. When I had a minor medical emergency, she was right there to make certain I received all the care I needed. Her assistance and concern were genuinely appreciated.

If you have the opportunity to stay at Dunowen house, go! You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
While we absolutely love your feedback about Dunowen, the fact that you called me a "young woman" tops it all! :-) That just made my day!! We were more than happy to help you out and make sure you were in safe medical hands, absolutely no trouble to us at all. You have such a lovely family and we were delighted to host you all during your recent visit to Ireland. We wish you all the very best and hope you will keep in touch. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patsy888
County Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I was on that same hen party in May and it was fabulous,everything and anything you wanted was in the house.The owners are very helpful and polite.Rooms are amazing all on suite ,very spacious,even wood for the fire was supplied.its definetly one to be recommended and hopefully we will be back.Thank you for a lovely week end in west cork

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review. We'd be happy to welcome you back any time to enjoy more of the delights of West Cork & please do spread the word!! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkennyG...
Kilkenny
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hen Weekend”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I booked Dunowen House as a surprise for my sister's hen. To say it was an amazing stay was an understatement. Loads of space for all of us, and every part of the house was amazing. Stephen and Kela are on hand if you need anything. We all had a fantastic weekend and would certainly book again, for any occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Delighted that the house lived up to expectations and that you were so happy with your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again, no matter what the occasion! Many thanks, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine...
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
“Hen Party”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I headed down with 22 girls for my hen party in Dunowen. It had been all arranged by my bridesmaids so I didn't know where we were staying until the day. Dunowen house absolutely blew me away. The house is gorgeous, really nicely decorated and really comfortable. We took over the house and began to relax straight away. We had dinner cooked for us that night which everyone agreed was delicious. The stove was burning in the living room which was impossible to leave. All the beds were comfortable and plenty of hot water for 18 girls (which can be difficult!) The next day a few headed off to the beach and some more lounged around the house. We had the little cottage beside it as well which I heard was very comfortable and looked very cute when I visited it. The owners came over to light the stoves again and then let us be. We really had such an enjoyable weekend then.
All in all I'd have absolutely no reservations in recommending Dunowen for a hen party/family gathering/group away. The only problem people will find is trying to get a weekend the house is actually available to rent but I feel it's going to get more and more popular.

Thanks so much for a wonderful weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback and review, we very much appreciate it. Best wishes for the wedding and hope you will come back to visit us again.
Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnsLime...
limerick
2 reviews
“Stunning venue for any occasion”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Dunowen House is simply beautiful. A lovingly restored property with stunning views and minutes from the beach, I could not recommend this property highly enough. We were a hen party of 19 and the property was ideal for our weekend.
While Kela and Steve live on the same land, the property is absolutely yours for the weekend. We only saw the owners when they popped in on the Saturday morning to light the fire for us and cook us a gorgeous late lunch on Saturday afternoon. The food was delicious, all home grown or locally sourced and Kela was happy to work around our requirements (lots of hangover fare required!).
Every room in the house is stunning and spacious. Loads of room for a party or family reunion. We also had use of the recently renovated cottage next door, which was equally quaint and beautifully decorated.
As it's out in countryside you don't have to worry about disturbing the neighbours, however it's still within a couple of miles from Clonakilty which is a great town to go out in. You can arrange a local bus or taxi very easily (I think Kela can do this for you).
I could not recommend the house highly enough, it will not disappoint!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Many thanks for your very kind feedback and your recommendations. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will see you at some stage again in the future. Best wishes for the wedding and have a wonderful day. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ackbeth20...
Nantucket, Massachusetts
1 review
“We will be back!!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our recent stay at Dunowen House was absolutely perfect! The house and property are beautiful - even in Feb!. Kela and Steve have created a holiday home that is elegant but comfortable. The location is ideal for traveling all over the south west of Ireland. Coming back to a warm fire (thank you, Steve) was irresistible so we had lovely day trips and dinner at Dunowen most nights.
Kela and Steve are terrific and were available to answer any questions about the house - always helpful with suggestions and directions for anywhere we wanted to go.
We loved our holiday to Ireland. Dunowen House, Kela and Steve are the top three reasons!
This is the house you want to tell everyone to rent but selfishly don't want to share the magic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Aaaww, thanks for much for your lovely comments. We loved having you as guests and recommending things for you to do, especially all the food related tips! Please share your experience about Dunowen, we'd be delighted to see more guests from Nantucket and Boston over this side of the pond. We would love to see you again in the near future. Again many thanks for being such great guests, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ainegalvi...
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Best weekend ever in an amazing house”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This house was the perfect location for the hen party. We really couldn't have asked for anything more. Having seen pictures of the house on the website, we knew it would be nice but it really did exceed all our expectations. The rooms have the luxury feel of a hotel yet the whole house has a lovely relaxing vibe to it that you won't get in a hotel. We had a group of 22 girls who all had a ball! We stayed in on the Friday night and were delighted we had decided to do that as we got to spend some time in this beautiful house. Fires were blazing when we arrived, thanks to Keela, and fresh scones awaited us. We had brought lots of things for self-catering e.g. tea, sugar, butter, toilet roll, towels etc not quite knowing what to expect but in fairness all of these things were already in the house so there was no need to bring them. The house is only 10/15mins from Clonakilty town and from Inchydoney beach so plenty of options for activities to pass the day on the Saturday. On the Saturday afternoon, we have a very interesting make-up class in the living room and later that evening Keela cooked a delicious 3 course meal for all the hen party. It was great being able to enjoy a meal in the house without the hassle of getting everyone to a restaurant. Being able to bring our own wine also was very handy. We were all a bit sad to be leaving this beautiful house on Sunday and are already trying to think of an occasion that would allow us to book it again. Overall, the hen party package is good value for money and something a bit different. It was a great house to allow people who wouldn't all have known each other before then to mingle and get to know each other better. Keela was also great in the weeks leading up to the hen to answer any questions we had and was a pleasure to deal with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy, homely feel to the house which instantly made everyone relax
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2016
Apologies Aine for the late reply to your lovely review! We very much enjoyed having all your lovely group here - it was great to see bride to be, sisters, friends, mums & aunts all enjoying the pre-wedding celebrations and enjoying Dunowen House so much! Best wishes for the wedding and the bride & groom's future and we hope to see many of you here again for future celebrations or a holiday. Many thanks, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing