We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Words and Photos hardly do this amazing...”
other travellers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
130 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 130 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cora_coll...
limerick
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Words and Photos hardly do this amazing experience justice - stay here!”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I had the pleasure of being included with a group of friends from the United States, one of them was having an art exhibition in the nearby Inchidoney Lodge and spa. The location was ideal for this group as it is a 15 minute drive to Clonakilty and Inchidoney. The house exceeded all expectations in every way.The Decor throughout was comfortable and superior to any other house I've even stayed in including hotels. Everything you could possibly need in terms of kitchen equipment, laundry facilities etc. was there. The grounds are magnificent, my best memory is of having a lovely breakfast on the south facing terrace with nothing but the sound of the nearby cows! There is a pebble beach 5 minute walk away and a beautiful sandy beach about 25 min walk [not that I did walk it!] Kela and Stephen were the perfect hosts, they had warm scones ready for our arrival and were at hand if needed, they even came to the exhibition opening. Unfortunately, I could not stay the whole week myself so I missed the catered dinner which my friends raved about. If you have a large family to share this house for a holiday or special occasion for a group who like luxury and style, this is the house for you.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Dear Cora, it was a pleasure to have you all here during the Summer even though the weather wasn't the best! Many thanks for the really lovely feedback on the house and delighted it exceeded expectations - we prefer it to be that way. Hopefully we'll get to welcome you back in the future for a longer stay. Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B
2 reviews
“The most amazing place in the world!!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I wouldn't even know where to begin with how blown away we were with our time at Dunowen House, so I'll start with the owners. Kela and Stephen couldn't have done enough to make our trip special. They were always on hand for questions prior to arriving (and there were a lot with a party of 18 people) and if we needed anything whilst we were there. They were kind enough to unpack our online order for when we arrived and there were some delightful welcome gifts waiting for us.

The house itself blew our minds. It was beautifully decorated throughout, as well as practical. We also hired the cottage to give us that extra space and it is incredibly charming. The music room was a favourite of ours as well as morning chats in the huge kitchen. The grounds are well maintained, but not too big to have a nice stroll around.

Kela and Stephen cooked and served a 3 course meal for 18 of us on the Saturday night, which was a real treat and very tasty. It was a special day for us as 2 of our closest friends got engaged at Sand's Cove, which is a beach a short walk from the house. So the meal topped off a great day. And as ever, Kela and Stephen were such doting hosts.

I can't imagine anywhere better to stay than Dunowen House and we will definitely be returning, and have also told all our friends and family that they have to visit!

Thank you Kela and Stephen and we can't wait to come back.

Lauren and the group

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is out of this world
Liked least: Nothing - it was all great
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Dear Lauren, many thanks for the lovely feedback and we are delighted that your friends chose here to get engaged....we're suckers for a bit of romance! We hope to see you all again and appreciate the recommendations to family and friends. Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collette...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In the words of Noel Redding - She's so fine, She's so very very fine!”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Second visit to Dunowen - this time for my eldest son's 30th birthday celebration. I have four sons who all came on this holiday together with partners, extended family and friends. We visited Clonakilty many times when the boys were small but they all agreed that this was the very best holiday - it was special - we had a fabulous week and did not want to leave. Kela and Stephen (our lovely hosts) recommended two fabulous restaurants...Deasey's in Clonakilty and Pilgrims in Roscarberry - both meals were excellent. The house was as I remembered from my first visit...an amazing property with a great story to tell. I will be back. Cannot recommend it highly enough. Thanks Kela and Stephen xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, the home-from-home
Liked least: As I said before - leaving was the thing I liked least!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thanks Collette, lovely to see you again and to meet the extended family. It's great when a return visit lives up to expectations! Hopefully when you come back we can arrange a certain famous somebody to be sitting beside you in Pilgrims again!! Star studded West Cork! Kela & Stephen x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A
Saint Leonard, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exactly what I wanted”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had such a great time. So peaceful and relaxing. Our hosts Kela and Stephen prepared a delicious meal our first night which really took the weight off. The location is perfect to the Atlantic way and nearby Clonakilty is a charmer of a town. Will do this again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thanks Rodney for the lovely feedback. Such a fun group to have staying, we really enjoyed meeting you all....our Whippet Alfie especially loved being spoiled by you all!! Look forward to seeing you back again soon. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah R
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Dunowen house far exceeded our expectations. The house had every amenity we could have wanted and more. A total of 11 of us stayed at the house for a week. We enjoyed the beautiful location and took advantage of many of the possible day trips that are easily accessible from Dunowen.

We had our wedding at the house which proved to be a perfect fit. It was an intimate wedding with just the 11 of us total. Kela catered the event and even was able to produce a vegan menu which we requested. The food was absolutely amazing. I think she may have turned some of our family members vegan :)

Throughout the entire process Kela was very helpful. She arranged a van to take us into Clonakilty in the evening, answered many of our question about local vendors and suggested various good restaurant.

I cannot give Kela enough praise for providing such a wonderful home and experience. We all hope to be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Dear Sarah, again many congratulations on your recent wedding and thanks for such lovely feedback and comments. Yours was indeed a perfectly formed intimate wedding and we were blessed with such a beautiful day. We were delighted to have you all here and that Dunowen will be a big part of your story together. Hopefully we will see you here again at sometime in the future. Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan B
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“You will remember THIS place. . .and your heart will return.”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We deeply loved Ireland! Such beautiful countryside steeped in history! We were delighted to arrive at our amazing home for the week--the Dunowen House. This amazing historic home was grand and yet warmly inviting. It has welcomed a variety of guests-aristocracy, ancestors of Cork hero Michael Collins, and rock and roll legend Noel Redding. Noel actually lived here for thirty years. Many famous musicians have played music here and the acoustics are truly amazing. We too raised our voices in harmony and played some of the musical instruments.

There was ample choices of impeccable bedrooms, each with its own flair and comfort. We loved gathering in the front living room with morning and evening light pouring in and that fresh Irish air! On cooler nights we would nestle in the opposing music/den around a cozy fire.

There was a fully stocked kitchen and one of our favorite meals was breakfast, which consisted of rashers, scrambled eggs, toast with creamy Irish butter & raspberry jam, and/or homemade scones.

Time was relished at Dunowen House just soaking up the day, which was walking distance to the sea. Great home base for site seeing and shopping in Clonakilty, Kinsale, or numerous other charming villages. Simple joys abound, like a picnic on the beach (Red Strand) with flavorful cheeses, fresh raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, grapes, rashers (Irish bacon), and amazing brown soda bread. We occasionally surf fished...then leisurely drove along the picturesque coast to a lighthouse. Our hearts and lives were enriched during our stay in this lovely home. Our deepest thanks to Kela and Steven for their gracious hospitality and treasured time in this sweet home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review! reading it makes us feel so luck to be living and enjoying life here. It was a pleasure to welcome you all here and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in beautiful West Cork. We hope that one day we can welcome you back again. Many thanks and our fondest regards. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donettak2...
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Dunowen House is absolutely beautiful. The home and its surrounding are perfect for a relaxing, soothing getaway or a large, special event party. I found it to be a perfect blend of the old and new, elegance and comfort. I brought 13 of my family members, ranging in age from 12 to 71 and every single person loved it. We were beyond thrilled.

As wonderful as this was I must save my highest praise for Kela. This delightful young woman went above and beyond to make certain our stay was all we hoped it would be. When I had a minor medical emergency, she was right there to make certain I received all the care I needed. Her assistance and concern were genuinely appreciated.

If you have the opportunity to stay at Dunowen house, go! You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
While we absolutely love your feedback about Dunowen, the fact that you called me a "young woman" tops it all! :-) That just made my day!! We were more than happy to help you out and make sure you were in safe medical hands, absolutely no trouble to us at all. You have such a lovely family and we were delighted to host you all during your recent visit to Ireland. We wish you all the very best and hope you will keep in touch. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing