We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical stay in Dunowen House”
other travellers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
130 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 130 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical stay in Dunowen House”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

11 women stayed in the main house for 2 nights in Jan 2017 and we had an amazing time. The space in the house, the setting and the peace & quiet were just magical. All the bedrooms are decorated to the highest standard & so clean and fresh. We went for walks to the nearby coves/beaches and visited the nearby Clonakilty for a few groceries - the Supervalu is well equipped! We were able to come & go as we pleased & the owners supplied firewood for the 2 stoves which gave out great heat- you won't want to leave the house because it's so cosy. You would need a car to get around but if it's a quiet, relaxing get away with a group of friends you want this is definitely the place for you.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
Karen, it was a pleasure to have such a lovely group of ladies stay and enjoy their time here. Delighted you all had such as great experience. We hope to see you back again in the near future! Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a family get together over Xmas and New Year. The house is fantastic. 6 large ensuite bedrooms, 2 large living areas with fireplaces and a kids room which worked really well for us as we had 3 toddlers! I would highly recommend staying here as a base for exploring Cork or just to relaxed in country home. Kela and Steven who live nearby were great hosts, thank you very much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2017
Thank you for the great feedback. We really enjoyed having your lovely fun family around and delighted you were happy with the house. We wish you all the very best for 2017 and hope to welcome the newly extended family back again! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyFerl
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I recently spent a weekend in Dunowen house to celebrate our wedding. We arrived the night before the ceremony to a warm welcoming atmosphere, log stoves burning and the scent of fresh scones baking in the kitchen. Even on a gloomy misty day the house looked amazing. The photos available online didn't do the house justice, as beautiful as they are. The rooms are all very generous in size and the decor is luxurious and unique to every room. We held a small ceremony in the gorgeous sitting room which was decorated for Christmas. It was extremely intimate and a bit magical. Every member of the family who stayed with us couldn't speak highly enough of their stay. We hired the Orchard cottage also. We had ample space for both families to interact and blend together. The night before the wedding we cooked dinner in the well equipped kitchen, my chef brother fell in love with the cooker! No shortage of serving dishes etc. We had lunch on the day catered for us by the owners of the house, the food was abundent and delicious. The only negative thought we had during our stay was disappointment that we hadn't booked to stay longer. I'm from County Cork originally so Dunowen house isn't a great distance from me. But if I ever have a family gathering again, or even a getaway with friends, I will definitely be heading to Dunowen. The comfort, space and privacy the house gives will only enhance any celebration or gathering.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your beautiful review. It was a pleasure to be able to host your beautiful intimate wedding celebrations. We wish you every happiness for the future and hope to welcome you back to Dunowen at some time - definitely for a longer stay! Many thanks again, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophie165...
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best hen weekend in the most perfect house with very welcoming hosts. Every aspect was 5star quality”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Absolutely AMAZING, u need to experience it for yourself. Welcoming delicious homemade treats and blazing stoves. Such a yummy dinner made with love with fresh ingredients. The house is even more gorgeous than pictures. Short stroll to the beach. Beautiful unique rooms. Hope I get to return someday soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Wow - thank you so much for your great feedback and comments. We really appreciate it. Keep spreading the word and hope to see you back again! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous House, charming and welcoming owners”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived in the dark on a Friday night to a very warm welcome from Stephen and Kela, fires glowing and a warm and relaxing atmosphere that left you immediately at ease. The house itself looks wonderful on the website but the reality is even nicer. Fires we lit every day for us . We dined in on Friday night and had a lovely meal which was ordered in advance and beautifully prepared by Kela and Stephen. We did our own catering on Saturday night from delicious food sourced locally and cooked in the well equipped kitchen. Clonakilty itself is a pretty town, great to stroll around and stop at a traditional pub, the local supermarket , SuperValue is also work a visit with loads of local food. All in all everyone had a great weekend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: the directions
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Delighted the house exceeded your expectations! It was a real pleasure having you all stay with us. Hopefully we'll see you again in the near future. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogling
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wedding at Dunowen House”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We were lucky enough to hold our wedding at Dunowen House last year. We rented the house for a long weekend and Kela and Stephen ensured that we thoroughly enjoyed our wedding weekend by being incredibly accommodating. The house itself is beautifully decorated throughout, each bedroom with it's own theme & so comfortable. Our families stayed with us and loved the house as much as we did and guests who arrived for the wedding day also commented on the beautiful house and location. If possible, I would return to Dunowen each year for a repeat weekend! Or even better, live there!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Happy Anniversary! How the year has flown. Many thanks for the lovely feedback. Make us an offer we can't refuse and you never know ;-)
Best wishes to you both, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShellG29
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent rating is an understatement!!!”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Where to begin! From day one Kela and Stephen were amazing hosts! Always on hand to give ideas for activities etc they couldn't have done more!
The house itself was beautifully decorated and comfortable! The pictures don't do it justice! The fires were lit on arrival and the house was warm and toasty! Our warm scones on arrival were a lovely treat also! The bedrooms were beautiful and seriously comfortable making it hard to get up in the morning! All with en suits each room more spectacular than the other! Our three course meal that Kela and Stephen cooked and served blew us away it was amazing and delicious! I've never stayed in a hotel or house more relaxing and elegant! Thank you Kela and Stephen for making our weekend as incredible as possible! I can't thank you enough!!! We will be back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Wow! Thank you for your wonderful review. Guests like you make it all the worth while! Hopefully we'll see you back at some future date.
Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing