We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for weekend with kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel for weekend with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We have 4 kids so find it difficult to find hotel to fit us all took interconnecting rooms which upon arrival were pleasantly surprised as really nice rooms and quite large but found the main hotel lobby and bar and restaurant very dated and tired looking great activities f kids with kids club which runs from 11 to 3 which kids loved the kids had buffet dinner which is great idea they go up and get their own food which they loved also kids disco in bar from 9.3 to 11 again they loved basically had nice break with kids but definately wouldn't go as couple as wouldn't be break as too many kids in hotel also lovely beach a few kilom away

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caoimhe40402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel has a range of accommodation from rooms to apartments and it sounds like the interconnecting rooms were a perfect fit for you. The Easter break is a busy time for families and as you mention there are lots of activities for children. We appreciate your feedback on the lobby, this is scheduled for a make over in November, bringing it more in line with the decor of the rest of the hotel. We hope you will return to the West Cork area again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    249
    98
    29
    29
See reviews for
405
101
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

During the Easter holidays was the first time we stayed at the Quality Hotel Clonakilty. It is and excellent hotel. Our 2 children aged 5 and 11 loved the camps. The food was also great. Will stay again hopefully in the near future

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom apartments, ideal for familys
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof42008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. It was lovely to hear that you family enjoyed your stay in Clonakilty. We are always adding activities to our children's camp so I am sure if you return to the hotel, they will enjoy it! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here for one night this weekend on a B/B basic was lucky to get a room as the were full think we got last room ,check in was quick lovely friendly girl on reception ,bedroom was fab so was the bathroom,.didn't eat in the hotel so can't review that ,Great hotel if you have kids the have loads for them to do plus a cinema on site,i didn't have kids with me but it didn't bother me when the were around ,I have to say the were the most friendly hotel staff i have ever encountered from check in to bar staff and breakfast staff well done its nice to get a smile and a welcome keep up the good work and i will def be paying it a visit again .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MunsterfanWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to stay at the hotel and that you had such a good experience. We were particularly pleased to hear that the staff were so friendly and left you with such a positive impression. Hopefully we will see you return to Clonakilty in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel looks a lot better on the outside compared to the inside. I have seen on replies to other reviews here it called 'Traditional'. I don't agree with that. The decor of the entire hotel is stuck in another decade or three ago. The lobby is dark and not at all fancy. The colour of the carpet on the hallway leading to the room is disgusting and matches the curtains in the guest room. The guest room is very old fashioned looking. Breakfast was like organised chaos down in the breakfast room the following morning and the food was average at best. Check in was a good experience with a pleasant staff member but check out was the complete opposite. The staff member asked me nothing about my stay, like how was your stay? A really rushed and unfriendly experience. I won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RKF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. The hotel is decorated exactly as per the many pictures on our website. We understand if this was not to your personal taste, however we do not feel it merits the comment that it is "disgusting". All areas are clean and well-kept and the bedrooms are equipped with every modern convenience, such as flat screen TV's/DVD players, free WIFI and a mini fridge.

As you stayed over the Easter break, breakfast was much busier than normal with lots of families. We appreciate that when the dining room is at full capacity, it can appear hectic, however the buffet would have been restocked frequently and we believe you were seated and served in a timely manner.

It was lovely to hear that you received a warm welcome on arrival and please accept our apologies if this was not your experience on check out. As you can see from the other reviews, the staff are regularly praised for their helpfulness and friendly manner. There may have been many others waiting to check out, however you should have been given the opportunity to voice your feedback or leave it in the comment card box which is permanently at the reception desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for Easter Week in an apartment at the Quality Hotel Clonakilty. The apartment was spotless though the twin sofas could probably do with updating. When we arrived the travel cot was missing a base board and the digital TV box wasn't working. I phoned reception and within 5 minutes the cot and digital box were replaced. I was impressed with the speed of service considering it was a very busy change over time for them.

Everything at this hotel complex has been well thought out with child safety and entertainment in mind. I travelled with a 2 and 5 year old and there was plenty to keep them busy for the week between the playground, pool, jungle gym, bouncy castle, kids club and 3 screen cinema.

Food in the restaurant was spot on and the children's buffet offered plenty of options and was reasonably priced. Breakfast also ticked all the boxes. We found the service in the restaurant very friendly and efficient.

There was entertainment in the bar most evenings for the kids and they all had a ball. I think the hotels biggest strength is it's continental attitude to being family friendly and not just offering lip service like some "family friendly hotels". The staff were amazing with the little ones during our stay.

This hotel was a good base for exploring West Cork and only a 10 minute walk into Clonakilty town centre (passing a decent playground on the way). If you are having lunch in Clonakilty I would wholly recommend the Seafood Platter in Richy's Bistro, best €14.95 I spent in a long time.

I would highly recommend staying in the apartments for young families (The apartments are not self catering but do provide microwave, fridge, kettle, toaster and cutlery). Also there was a decent HD TV with freesat and saorview digital channels.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review. We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed your Easter break. Our children's facilities are unique and we really appreciate when guests notice how good these are in comparison to other hotels. As you mention, it is often the friendliness and willingness of staff to help, that can make all the difference to a stay and we are pleased to hear that the hotel staff here, left you with such a positive impression. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

2nd year staying at this hotel with the family. We had a great time last year and even better this year. For the adults the food and service was excellent. Loved the evening menus and couldn't wait for the delicious breakfasts.
The children were catered for to an exceptional standard. The kiddie camp, jungle gym, pool etc were really enjoyed by the younger members and it was a struggle when we announced it was our last day and time to leave. The food that they were given was varied with healthy options. Squash was always available.
Lastly the staff were really friendly, experienced and made every effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Noonie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review and for being such a loyal customer. We very much appreciate our repeat guests and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. You have spoken very highly of both the staff and the facilities at the hotel and it is very rewarding for us to know that you left the hotel with such a positive impression. We look forward to seeing you return again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

What a great place for families big and small. Check-in was quick and professional, the entire hotel was comfortable and clean. Staff were on the ball and friendly at all times. Obviously the entire business model is built around children and their parents. The small fridge in the room is perfect for keeping the milk fresh, the playground, whilst basic, is perfect for letting the kids tire themselves out.

The pool is great, but for the number of families using it, I was surprised that there weren't unisex or family changing areas. The pool water could do with being a few degrees warmer too, but to be honest, I think I felt the cold a lot more than either my daughters or my wife did! No loss on them at all.

The jungle-gym provided hours of entertainment, and the young women on duty were professional and attentive of the little ones.

Best of all was the Easter Egg hunt and the free Easter Egg for the kids.

The food is, as previously said, basic bar food type, and I found the adults' prices a little on the high side, but the childrens' buffet was satisfactory and cheap, and that's what counts.

I would definitely recommend and come back again. Where else would you be able to bring a noisy 1-year old down to reception at 6 in the morning to stop her from waking up her sister, and find 2 other parents there in the same boat?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sean.casaidhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The Easter Egg Hunt is as much fun for our staff as it is for all of our guests! We really try to go that "extra mile" for our guests and it sounds like you enjoyed all the family facilities at the hotel. It is lovely to hear that you are thinking of returning, thank you for spreading the word about us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
2.0 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emmet Hotel
Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre

Property: Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Address: Park Road | Co. Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#4 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel is located in Clonakilty in the heart of scenic West Cork where individuals and family are well catered for. Guests can enjoy Lannigans Restaurant, Oscars Bar and our award winning Leisure Club. Younger members of the family can avail of Kids Kamp during peak times and the jungle gym & toddler area/creche are open all year round. A three screen cinema, high ropes and zip wire adventure centre and extensive free parking complete the complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Clonakilty
Quality Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing