We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and very good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Emmet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emmet Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Clare
Level Contributor
356 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great location and very good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Thought the location of this hotel was perfect. Very close to the main part of the town yet quiet at night time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the brown bread they serve their sandwiches on is very tasty. The hotel itself is a bit basic and the rooms not the newest but everywhere was very clean and for the price of the place would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    34
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
33
46
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 weeks ago. The town of Clonakilty is beautiful . We just needed a rest. The hotel is just around the corner from the main town and shops and restaurants but nice and quiet. We ate in the hotel the first night and the food was amazing. I normally hate hotel food but the Emmet's chef did them proud and was not expensive. The next day we went to the Skibbereen Heritage centre and the Great famine which were very informative and drove on to Lough Hyne. All very beautiful. We drove on to Bandon and Bantry all beautiful places. We drove back to Clonakilty. We had a great few days. The hotel is very well located for driving around. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: we were at the front and it was fine. There is a night club at the weekend so the side of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterdeirdreben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Arrived on a Thursday evening and establishment was very quiet, no receptionist behind desk so rang bell. After 2 or so minutes someone shouted from kitchen area "be with you shortly".
Reception is decorated with photos and memorabilia of Robert Emmett the Patriot and the Square where the hotel stands is also called Emmett Square.
A receptionist appeared after 5 or so minutes and greeted us quite warmly.The interior decoration of the whole place was like something from the 1950's era but clean!
Rooms appeared a little cramped but comfy.
From the main entrance you can look across the square to where the famous Michael Collins lived with his older Sister when he attended the local National School. A short distance away is the Model Railway Village, (The actual Rail line to Clonakilty closed down in 1961).
Also close by is the Main Shopping area which i found very Tourist friendly.
The Inchydoney Blue Flag beach is a short 5 mins drive away.
This Hotel is not Wheelchair accessible which i thought rather disappointing. There is free wi-fi on ground floor only. reception is only as needed and is not manned.

Room Tip: On nightclub nights, avoid rooms to hotel rear as club is underneath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Breslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Situated close to the centre of town, this hotel has high standards. The room was very comfortable, with tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was comfortable and there was no problem with noise from outside. Food in the bar is not cheap, but is excellent in terms of both quality and quantity. The staff could not have been more helpful and were very friendly.
The only downside was the un availability if the residents lounge during the first evening due to a meeting. This was not a big problem as the bar was available at all times.
I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Clonakilty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazerSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Lovely friendly atmosphere with most helpful staff. Great breakfast and lunch and the dining area was very pleasant. Could walk everywhere and the bar was nice and buzzy. Very good value for money and perfect base for exploring this area of the country.

Room Tip: As there is a nightclub on Sunday night ask for a room away from the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandUna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had lunch in this super little hotel on the square in Clonakilty with my wife and daughter. Service was excellent and the food was really superb. We didn't have to wait long for our order that came piping hot and exceptionally well presented. The lady that served us was very pleasant and efficient and had everything under control. Needless to say there were three empty plates at the end and we really enjoyed this meal which was very reasonably priced and there was plenty on the plates!!We sampled some local cider which was delicious with our meal. We will be returning to this hotel sooner rather than later-well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferryport354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I took my wife and 2 kids to the Emmet Hotel today to have lunch (celebrating 7 years married). Food was fantastic, staff were very friendly and polite. Kids enjoyed the 'secret garden' which allowed them to run around/play with toys. Great experience had by all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.3 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
0.1 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emmet Hotel

Property: Emmet Hotel
Address: Emmet Hotel 2/3 Emmet Square, Clonakilty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Emmet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emmet is a fantastic boutique hotel in the heart of Clonakilty on Emmet Square. We offer great value for long stay holidays or shorter breaks and our location in the centre of Clonakilty makes us a great mid-week destination. We’re family friendly and our large family rooms will provide you with the perfect base for your holiday. We pride ourselves on choosing the best of our West Cork and Irish produce to create rich and varied breakfast, lunch and dinner menus for you to choose from. We know that Cloankilty, West Cork and this part of the magnificent Wild Atlantic Way will have something special that you will always remember. So choose The Emmet for your holiday, for your break, or for your stay. We are dedicated to ensuring that all our guests enjoy their stay with us and that you make the most out of your time in our part of Ireland. Cead mile failte! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Emmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emmet Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing