We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Layout”
Review of The Emmet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Emmet Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We held our son's christening party there recently. The food was outstanding with a big demand for second helpings from all parties! The restaurant and sunroom were ideal for the meal, with a safe visible walled garden out the back where the kids could play while the adults could relax.

The Hotel has a nice relaxed atmosphere, while the service was very quick and friendly. Car parking was also no bother in the recently made over Emmet Square.

All in all we were delighted with our choice of venue!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Called in for dinner recently. New menu nothing of much interest. Chose "CRISPY PORK BELLY" NOT CRISPY NOR BELLY? Wife ordered Seafood Chowder. Manager was passing and I asked him how long he had been working there. 12 years. Said feels like that long wev'e been waiting for food. Eventually seafood chowder etc. came but no SPOON. Asked for spoon and was presented with a TEASPOON. Wife said never mind don't make any more fuss. We sat at the back and the noise from the barstaff was incessant ; throwing empty bottles into a small skip placed there for the purpose thereof. HAD TO COMPLAIN ABOUT AMOUNT OF FOAM ON BEAMISH. Gone really downhill since the "refurbishment". A once regular won't be returning

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank VASTERMIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Recently went to the Emmet Hotel to have some bar food and was very disappointed.
The food was below average at best and even our teenage boys were not impressed.
It was very quiet on the evening we went there and I can fully understand why.
A nice hotel in a nice area but the food was most disappointing

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank sceithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Deal rush. Great value for B&B. The missing star is only because we were given a shabby room without windows but without a problem when I asked to be moved we got a very nice room. The staff were very good humoured and accommodating. The bar needs higher stools but has great staff also. Great location, perfect for Michael Collins info. Near all bars and eateries.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank matsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Thought the location of this hotel was perfect. Very close to the main part of the town yet quiet at night time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the brown bread they serve their sandwiches on is very tasty. The hotel itself is a bit basic and the rooms not the newest but everywhere was very clean and for the price of the place would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 weeks ago. The town of Clonakilty is beautiful . We just needed a rest. The hotel is just around the corner from the main town and shops and restaurants but nice and quiet. We ate in the hotel the first night and the food was amazing. I normally hate hotel food but the Emmet's chef did them proud and was not expensive. The next day we went to the Skibbereen Heritage centre and the Great famine which were very informative and drove on to Lough Hyne. All very beautiful. We drove on to Bandon and Bantry all beautiful places. We drove back to Clonakilty. We had a great few days. The hotel is very well located for driving around. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: we were at the front and it was fine. There is a night club at the weekend so the side of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank peterdeirdreben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Arrived on a Thursday evening and establishment was very quiet, no receptionist behind desk so rang bell. After 2 or so minutes someone shouted from kitchen area "be with you shortly".
Reception is decorated with photos and memorabilia of Robert Emmett the Patriot and the Square where the hotel stands is also called Emmett Square.
A receptionist appeared after 5 or so minutes and greeted us quite warmly.The interior decoration of the whole place was like something from the 1950's era but clean!
Rooms appeared a little cramped but comfy.
From the main entrance you can look across the square to where the famous Michael Collins lived with his older Sister when he attended the local National School. A short distance away is the Model Railway Village, (The actual Rail line to Clonakilty closed down in 1961).
Also close by is the Main Shopping area which i found very Tourist friendly.
The Inchydoney Blue Flag beach is a short 5 mins drive away.
This Hotel is not Wheelchair accessible which i thought rather disappointing. There is free wi-fi on ground floor only. reception is only as needed and is not manned.

Room Tip: On nightclub nights, avoid rooms to hotel rear as club is underneath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim_Breslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.3 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
2.4 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
394 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emmet Hotel

Address: Emmet Hotel, 2/3 Emmet Square, Clonakilty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: £71 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Emmet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emmet is a fantastic boutique hotel in the heart of Clonakilty on Emmet Square. We offer great value for long stay holidays or shorter breaks and our location in the centre of Clonakilty makes us a great mid-week destination. We’re family friendly and our large family rooms will provide you with the perfect base for your holiday. We pride ourselves on choosing the best of our West Cork and Irish produce to create rich and varied breakfast, lunch and dinner menus for you to choose from. We know that Cloankilty, West Cork and this part of the magnificent Wild Atlantic Way will have something special that you will always remember. So choose The Emmet for your holiday, for your break, or for your stay. We are dedicated to ensuring that all our guests enjoy their stay with us and that you make the most out of your time in our part of Ireland. Cead mile failte! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Emmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emmet Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing