We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking forward to a return trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Looking forward to a return trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We arrived to a very genuine warm welcome , the offer of a drink and then escorted to our room, a rarity in this day and age . Excellent staff genuinely friendly and at the same time efficient. Everything about the hotel was top class the food ,the comfort level, of cleanliness and of course the location can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerlyons5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear walkerlyons5

Wow, what a wonderful review. Thank ou so much for taking the time to write your kind comments. I'm delighted to see you enjoyed all the aspects of the hotel and service and food during your stay.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the future. Thank you once again for your review.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    276
    136
    56
    29
See reviews for
519
918
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here with my wife for her 40th birthday treat. Had a super two nights and was sorry to leave. Spa is excellent and the sea water pool is worth spending plenty of time in aswell. Resident lounge is really comfy with large couches and armchairs. The outstanding feature though is the location with beautiful views of the sea and countryside. You won't be disappointed if u visit Inchydonney.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear NHDT

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Happy special birthday to your wife .I'm delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us especially our Seawater Therapy Pool. It's a wonderful feature in the hotel with lots of wellness benefits for our guests.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just returned from our 4th visit to Inchydoney we stayed for 3 nights. Staff, facilities, and location are top class as usual. Views from the balcony in the apartments are amazing. We mainly ate in the bar for food and it was good, portions were generous. My daughter ordered a pizza from the children's menu - it turned out to be a tortilla wrap with tomato sauce and cheese but that was the only real issue we had with the food. The residence lounge also offers food and it is a lovely area to relax and have a light lunch or high tea. The staff at Inchydoney are to be complimented, very professional in all areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear John F

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review on your stay here at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa. I'm delighted to see that you and your family had such an enjoyable time here on your fourth visit and that you choose to return so often.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit. Thank you once more.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a wonderful 2 night stay here. We had a long drive and were greeted by lovely staff at reception. We booked a room with an ocean view. I was very disappointed when offered a ground floor room where we saw more cars than ocean. I asked if possible to change for the second night and we were kindly moved to a room with balcony and wonderful ocean view. Food in the restaurant was beautiful and service very efficient and friendly. One young man (Kevin) took his time to chat to us and spread his knowledge of the local area. The one man band guy sat down with us for a half hour to chat after his gig.
Overall the venue was fantastic but for me it was the staff that left a very good impression on our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Smith H

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay here at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa. I'm delighted that you had such a lovely time here and that you enjoyed the food and service so much and that you found the staff so pleasant. I have passed on your lovely comments to Kevin and our Dave our resident musician and they were delighted.

Thank you once again for your very kind review and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from another visit to Inchydoney and still not getting tired of it. It was our 5th visit and 3rd with our young son. We got lucky with the weather but that is not what makes the trip.
The hotel just oozes calm from the minute you arrive, even without the complementary drink. The staff as ever were brilliant, always welcoming and friendly and always with a warm 'hello' whenever you see them.
The food in the bar is gorgeous and we ate here every night (tip- the food is cooked in the same kitchen as the restaurant upstairs so you're guaranteed good food but at much cheaper prices).
The breakfast is all encompassing with countless cereals, breads, frys, eggs, fish, pancakes...I could go on and on, and they serve until 11 which is always a good thing!
The pool and spa continue the relaxed feel as does the residents lounge.
As for kids- they are always welcomed. There are time restrictions on when they can use the pool, but 4 hours a day is plenty. There is a dedicated playroom filled with toys and games, and even an Xbox. Kids menu available in the bar. And if the weather allows there is always the huge beach right by the hotel to tire them out.
If chilling out around the hotel is not your thing then there are plenty of picturesque places to visit and enjoy not too far away, but you will need a car.
I'm already looking forward to returning next time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Gary S

Thank you so much for your very kind review of your stay with your family here at Inchydoney. Your comments were most kinds.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and that your children felt so welcome and found lots of things to do. I'm also delighted to see that you are already planning a return trip. We really look forward to welcoming you and your family back to us again.

Thank you once more for your lovely review.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My second time going to this hotel and I've struggled to find a hotel in Ireland as good as this. Staff are very friendly and are always going out of their way to accommodate your every need. I've yet to go to the main restaurant in the hotel (Gulf Stream) but I've been to the bar food place on every night of my 4 nights there and the food has been delicious on each occasion.My mother in law had a spa treatment and she commented on how re-vitalised she felt and for us the heated pool is perfect for young kids and the relaxing atmosphere of the entire hotel and the surrounding areas are perfect for all ages. This hotel surely is a great asset to Clonakilty and The county of Cork. Count me in as a regular!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Paul M

Wow what a stunning review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa.

I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that all the family found something to enjoy and that you all found the hotel, facilities, food and staff so agreeable.

I'm delighted also to see that you plan to return to us again and we really look forward to welcoming you.

Thank you once again and see you soon.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Myself and my husband stayed in Inchydoney for five days in March 2014. It was extremely relaxing, the atmosphere in the hotel is wonderful and the hotel staff were excellent. The staff were genuine and extremely helpful. The food is fab and the selection was great.

The pool and spa are amazing and not to be missed. The location of the hotel, which its beach walks and sea views make the experience so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Edel80

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of your stay here at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa.

I'm delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the facilities and found the staff so friendly and helpful.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the future. Thank you once more for your kind review.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
2.5 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
18.2 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Property: Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing