We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent two nights in Inchydoney, facilities, room, beach and view were top class. With the sun beaming into the bedroom each morning, lovely to sit out on the veranda with a cup of Nespresso soaking up the sunshine before heading down to breakfast. Food, local and atmosphere were just top class..

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BridieTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Dear Bridie Tipperary,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to tell us about it.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    276
    136
    56
    29
See reviews for
519
918
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cluain Lára, Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent the August bank holiday weekend here recently. It was a really busy time of year but the Hotel staff were all extremely helpful, professional and approachable. There were loads of activities to do, Sea Kayaking (around 30 minutes drive away) and a surf school on the beach where board rental and wetsuit rental was €25 for two hours which is really good. The waves were suitable only for beginners, maybe go further afield within Cork for more advanced and powerful waves.

The hotel itself is amazing, located on a headland over a stunning beach. The room was roomy and comfortable. Residents have free use of the relaxation pool (most hotels charge for this privilege).

Amazing food, drink, location, activities, cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Another thing to note, pets are welcome in the apartment blocks which is great to see, lots of families around with their pets.

Room Tip: Apartments are pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Dear LiamR,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Inchydoney. I am delighted that you enjoyed yourself and got to experience the surf. We were very lucky with the weather in August so you really got to see the beach in all it's glory.

I hope you will come and visit us again. The winter months are just as beautiful!

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd,
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for one night at Inchydoney and loved the room, the location, facilities, pool and dining room. The welcoming glass of Irish Mist is a very nice touch. Proximity to the beach is great and we spent a few hours relaxing in the sun and dipping in the sea - the weather was superb. Our only disappointment was the lunch served outside on the day we were leaving. We literally waited for one hour after ordering lunch, whilst all around us fellow diners were served. To add insult to injury, when a (presumed) manager came to the table to apologise and asked if we would like a glass of wine, we accepted but the price of this was included on the bill - we brought this to their attention and the bill was subsequently adjusted. I realise that this was a very busy day at the hotel, with lots of holiday makers, not all hotel residents, lunching there. However, our experience did slightly sully our view of the hotel and our good opinion of service up until then.

Room Tip: Look for a room with balcony to the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyageuse49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Voyageuse49_12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us.

I am disappointed to hear that there was a delay in your lunch being served. Ideally we would hope that you wouldn't be waiting this length of time. I have passed on your comments to the restaurant team.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have been coming to Dunes Bar on Inchidoney since .. when it first opened. So it can't be the same staff that have been there all the time - though it certainly looks like that.

First, the positives. The food is always good. The menu is interesting, varied, not over-priced (though not cheap either) and well presented. A decent crab claw lunch served outdoors (when it eventually comes) is hard to beat.

So why do all the staff look so downbeat? And why are they so slow? Getting an order in - either form the table or from the bar - always seems to be a mission (at the bar especially, where you appear to be invisible, regardless of the number of staff wandering up and down inside). And why do none of them ever smile, or exchange the odd bon mot? It's not as if Cork people are short of words.

We always regard going there as a bit of an adventure. How long will it take us to get served? And will that be longer than the time required to settle the bill? Good game when you're on holiday

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dec105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Dec 105,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

I do hope you received our private message with regard to your issues.

We have reviewed our service in the bar and hope that when you visit us next time you will enjoy the true Inchydoney experience.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Staying at Inchydoney had been a long held wish - I'd dreamed of breathtaking views, fantastic food and beautiful rooms. I wasn't disappointed ! I loved the relaxation room, the pool and the breakfast! If you are looking for a first class break in stunning surroundings with excellent staff to make you feel welcome - Inchydoney Island Lodge and Spa is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Dear BerDavis,

I am delighted that we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. It is high praise indeed. I have passed on your lovely comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are just back from a three night stay at Inchydonney. On arrival you can't help but be impressed by the location of this hotel. We were greeted at the car park by a member of staff who checked that we were staying at the hotel so we could access the hotel car park. This is a great idea as I can imagine that you would otherwise be fighting for a space with other beach goers. We we warmly greeted at reception and shown to our room 414. This room has a great view of the beach and the sea. Really fancy coffee maker in the room but we asked for a kettle to be provided as we are tea drinkers, I don't really understand why they don't have kettles in every room.

Spa visit: I had the summer ritual treatment which was wonderful and we'll worth the money. Body scrub, moisture wrap, Indian head massage and massage for €99 for 70 minutes lovely! Mum had the facial which she also said was great but a little more expensive at €130 for 70 minutes.

On the first night we ate at the Dunes restaurant. This was incredibly noisy and full of families with children. It had been a lovely hot day on the beach so maybe this is why they were so full??? We had to wait in the lobby for about 10 minutes for a table but were then quickly seated. I had monkfish with crab claws and mussels which was fantastic. My mum struggled a little as she is not a fish eater and found that the menu was lacking in other choices. We also found this when visiting restaurants in Clonakility, the emphasis is definitely on fish (which I can understand due to the location) but again mum found that non fish dishes were few and far between, leaving little choice. There is a great selection of restaurants in Clonakility and we ate at an sugan ( where mum had lasagne!) good food and nice pub.

On our last night we decided to eat at the formal restaurant. The food was excellent, scallops for starters, lamb for main and chocolate fondant to finish. All courses were lovely, the restaurant was quiet which is what we were looking for after the Dunes. Although this is a great place to eat I felt that it was a little overpriced at €59 for 3 courses, essentially 6 with the amuse bouche, the sorbet and tea or coffee.

Overall we had a lovely stay and I would recommend this hotel to others. We were overcharged twice during our stay, both times in the restaurants, so check your bill. They apologised for this at reception on check out and we were given a complimentary walnut loaf!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4 th floor have great views also go for a room furthest away from the lift as rooms clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritofKillaloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear SpiritofKillaloe,

Thank you most sincerely for sharing your comments in relation to your recent visit to Inchydoney. I am delighted that you and mum enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to others.

I am disappointed that you mother felt there wasn't enough choice in Dunes restaurant however we aim to offer a wide variety of local produce such as Shannonvale chicken, Skeaghanore Duck and Slaney Valley lamb.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again and perhaps you both can enjoy some of this fine produce.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mojácar, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for long weekend. Wow what a lovely hotel. The views are superb. The food is too die for. The staff very friendly and professional. Jennifer from the spa gave me a wonderful Ellimis facial . Would highly recommended this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Dear JuliaF,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on you lovely comment to Jennifer in the Spa.

We hope to see you soon again in Inchydoney.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
2.5 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
18.2 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Property: Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing