We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I don't know how to delete my previous review but in reference to being charged twice for lunch it was sorted and a very nice girl Lorraine contacted me to apologise for the confusion. Again service could be improved but the food was lovely!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi Karen F

I am delighted to read that we were able to resolve your issue, we are currently reviewing our systems and procedures. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Kind regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

924 - 930 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just back from staying at this hotel and spa as advertised , this is not a romantic getaway at all , we went to the restaurant it was packed to the ceiling with kids screaming and running around ,this hotel should be advertised for family getaway !! also for the price the rooms where really disappointing ....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrsmyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that your dining experience was not as we would have expected. Yes, we do welcome many families and friends during the Summer months and try to allocate dining times to suit both our families and those not travelling with children. My apologies if you were not made aware of this.

Kind regards

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here and absolutely loved it, from the service to the food and the view from our room was amazing . Loved the welcome drink of irish mist and the lovely gift of jam on departure such a nice touch.
Loved then nespresso machine in the room and certainly enjoyed our coffee's sitting on our balcony taking in the stunning views.
We ate in the bar and the gulfstream restaurant and couldn't fault the food or service in either.
We only had two small issues one was the pillows we felt were really uncomfortable but maybe that's just a matter of personal preference also the pool area is in a bit of need of some tlc showing some wear and tear.
Great staff, great location, will definitely be making a return visit and are looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ollielucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Ollielucky

Thank you for your lovely comments, its great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments regarding the bar and the restaurant - I have passed them to the Chef.

We do hope to see you again in Inchydoney and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked Inchydoney for a 3 night break after our wedding. Since it was 4-star rated, €220 per night B&B for superior room (sun / mon / tues), we were expecting something really nice... It was really disappointing and did not meet our expectations at all.

Our main issue was with the room. For a superior room in a 4 star hotel at that price, we expected something a bit luxurious or better than average. The room itself was a total let down, small, decor is dark and worn. For a place that seems to sell itself on the amazing view, the windows are small. It felt crowded and my initial impression was just disappointment. Balcony had 2 chairs but no table or place to rest drinks/book.

The bathroom was the same standard. Exposed plumbing, old fixtures and fittings, no separate bath & shower..

Since our stay, I have seen a few other reviews here describe it as run-down and i think that sums it up.

the reception area is lovely, it seems bright and airy and newly decorated but when you head to the hallways & rooms the decor changes and it is clear the renovation stopped at reception.

We didn't visit the spa or pool so i cant comment on them.

If the hotel was rated as 3-star and we had paid half the price then our expectations would have been different (lower) and maybe it would not have been a problem. But we kind of expected better and so we felt cheated by the whole thing.

We checked in late (9.30pm),realized quickly that we both thought the room was a let down, and went down to reception about it. the receptionist was v nice and said she would ask the duty manager to phone us. He did, and he agreed to charge us the deluxe room rate for that night (€190) and said to speak to the manager the following morning to see what could be done.

The next morning we took a walk around the hotel and i could see into some of the rooms as housekeeping were working. Basically all the rooms looked the same as ours.

We told the manager that we did not feel the rooms were not 4-star and not worth the price charged. She explained there were no suites available. She asked if there was anything they could put into the room to improve it, and she offered us something from the spa as a gesture (cant remember what now but i looked it up after and it had €25 value per person)

we thought about just staying and just making the most of it. But to be honest if we had stayed 3 nights, we would have been paying approx €600 for 3 nights B&B and it definitely was not worth that... i would have hated to pay that much for it. We decided to cut our losses and check out. We paid for the 1 night and moved to Castlemartyr for the remaining 2 nights. Similar prices, 5-star hotel and it was really beautiful. If we had arrived earlier for check -in at inchydoney i dont think we would have stayed the 1 night.

If you got Inchydoney for a cheap rate and were happy with a 3-star hotel, maybe it would be ok because the location is lovely. i think the hotel is trading on its great location rather than itself.

But i would definitely not recommend it for anyone on a romantic getaway / special occasion / paying full price.

I have never left a tripadvisor review before, because i have never felt that this strongly that a hotel did not live up to its reputation and the price it charges.

Bottom line: i would never recommend this place to my family or friends.

Room Tip: When we spoke to the duty manager, we queried what was the difference between the deluxe and superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ClarewD4185SR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear ClarewD4185SR

I am very concerned to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I have spoken to the team here and I understand that they did everything in their power to try and accommodate you. I am sorry that the decor in the room wasn't to your liking, however you will see from this forum that many people love everything about the rooms.

Our Manager offered you some treatments in the Island Spa so that you could fully appreciate the Inchydoney experience, however I understand you declined the offer. We don't have any treatments valued at €25 in the Spa.

I think you will see that from all of the other reviews here, our guests speak very highly of the hotel, the staff and the service. Your issue with the decor in the rooms is a matter of personal taste I believe, so I am sorry that this took from you enjoying your stay.

Kind regards

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night here at the start of July. What a beautiful hotel!!

Greeted by really lovely friendly staff.
Got a free drink on arrival too-which was a nice touch.
We got a bonus upgrade to a suite-which was a great surprise.

The suite was beautiful with stunning views of Inchydoney beach. Nice complementary plate of chocolates and strawberries too.

We also ate at the Resturant there -meal was a bit pricy but the food was gorgeous and worth the money.
We had breakfast the following morning too-bit of a wait for breakfast (breakfast room is small) but the breakfast was lovely.

A great experience-Plan to return and stay for longer the next time.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Cormea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Cormea

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments, I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, its a lovely surprise to be upgraded to the suite - I am glad you enjoyed it.

We do hope to welcome you back to Inchydoney soon and for a little longer next time!

Kind regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Peaceful, very beautiful location right by the sea. Great facilities (gorgeous spa pool), very good service; big and very comfortable room, beautiful furniture and art displayed. Very good for families with young kids (baby food, children room, one can even borrow kites!). Two good restaurants. Only thing to improve: the duvet was too warm for nice weather. All the rest was perfect.

Room Tip: I would advice not to have a room on the ground floor as it could be accessed from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Dear Merphile,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments and feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have passed on your comments to our accommodation manager. I look forward to welcoming you again and we can arrange to have the duvet of your choice for you.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in Inchydoney for only one night in July as we were in Cork for a short visit. We were overwhelmed by the courtesy shown to us-from the little welcome tipple on arrival to the lovely jar of homemade jam which we took home with us. Our room was beautiful with a fab balcony and seaview.we couldn't fault the place!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roisin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Dear Roisin,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will get to stay a little longer next time!

I have passed on your lovely comments to all the team here.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
433 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
415 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
167 reviews
7.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
743 reviews
18.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: £137 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing