We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2009

we stayed for 2 nights with our young daughter.what can i say! the hotel is set on two fantastic beaches.when we checked in we were asked if we would like a welcome drink(nice).we were shown to our room by a really lovely young man who told us about things to do in the town. we had a fantastic room spotlessly clean with everything we needed including the cot.and a view of the aboved mentioned beaches.our dinner in the gulfstream restaurant was top class the food and service were great.after dinner we had a drink in the lounge it was so relaxing.we used the pool also top class.with lovely touches in the changing rooms.breakfast the next morning was just as great,the selection from the cold and hot buffet was fantastic we didnt know were to start.the service again was out of this world.the hotel is lovely but it was the staff that make it so special child friendly and helpfull and always smiling and saying hello.we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cov444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,129 - 2,135 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2009

We were off to cork for a couple of nights last december and decided to avail of a great rate in the inchydoney hotel. We landed quite late but found a lovely smiling receptionist waiting for us and the manager on duty took our bags to our room for us. The room was fantastic and the best thing about arriving late was the wonderful surprise you got in the morning when you see the sea view, simply spectaular.

It was the time of the pork scare in Ireland and the staff (kitchen in particular) laid on food so good that we would not even notice. The meal in the bar the evening before was excellent also

But however good the hotel is the real star of the show has to be the beach. It is a true delight to work of breakfast by strolling along this beautiful strecth of seaside.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

ths was my third time to Inchydoney as I absolutely love it. I've been with friends for girly weeekends and the treatments and realxation rooms and cosy residents lounge are perfect for that.
It was the first time I brought my husband and I was dying to hear the male perspective. He loved the peaceful quiet atmosphere and the bar, especially the bar food. We had to cancel a booking in clonakilty town for our second night there to go back to the bar so we could both have the crab claws for starters. They were divine.
I think his favourite thing (and mine) was the pool. it is actual seawater (heated) which feels fantastic to float around in and the jets and jacuzzis are as good as going to a physiotherapist.
There are balconies added to the rooms this year which have a fabulous view of the sea. There can be nowhere nicer to look out on on a stormy day than inchydoney beach wondering how do those surfers go out in that?
We went for a rest and a bit of luxury and we certainly got that.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mmw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

I booked this over the phone and managed to negotiate a double room rate of 120 euros a night (there was also a note left in the room when we arrived to say that adding extra days would be charged at a "special" rate of 120 euros a night)

Therefore don't pay any more than this as the hotel was pretty empty Monday- Friday and only got slightly busier at weekends so they need the custom.

Located next to the sea, the self catering accommodation face directly out to sea whereas all the hotel rooms do not (lean over the balconies and look left/right). If I went again I would book the self catering accommodation.

It was great to walk along the beach in the mornings.

Rooms were great with nice "sea theme" touches. The spa was quite poor. The relaxation room was cold and unviting and it would have been good to have sofas in the reception area rather than cabinets of stuff for sale. However the actual treatments were excellent.

We did have a meal in the Glasshouse which was a bit fussy (and the desserts were too sugary) whereas the attached "pub" had good, robust food.

I really did enjoy the tranquil residents' room with piano, squashy sofas , fire and cups of tea.

Overall? Not bad. Just get a good rate and then it will feel like value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Firstly, how did this hotel get planning permission to build such an eye sore in such a beautiful place?

We got a 2 night break at this establishment as a wedding present, the cost excluding dinner was in excess of €800 - what one gets for their money is best described as a RIP - OFF.

Check in is slow.

The rooms, which have been recently renovated are good, with great views along the shoreline.

The fitness centre and spa is run down, for example cracked tiles, dampness throughout and broken lockers.

One redeeming factor is that the food served in the restaurant is to a very high standard, we ate fish on both evenings and it was fresh.

On a funny note, when we arrived on the Saturday they were preparing for a wedding. The red carpet was laid out, which was toren and had holes in it - how bad is that?

In conclusion the location of this hotel is fantastic, the hotel ruins the landscape and the price is akin to theft. If you are prepared to spend €1,000 on going away for the weekend go to Ashford Castle and avoid this place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

This hotel commands a spectacular location. The beaches are stunning, even in the August rain! Breakfast in the dining room is lovely, offering a good spread and gorgeous views. The Dunes Bistro, very popular with young families, offers a more casual atmosphere, serving generous portions matched with good service. After dinner The Lounge is a great spot to relax by a burning fire while sipping a liquor. Our room was clean and comfortable, though try to get one that does not overlook the entrance lobby if you want some privacy. The staff were kind and helpful. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bagpipes37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We had been here three times before but the last time we were there (2 years ago) we were disappointed as the hotel had gotten really shabby. We heard the hotel had been revamped so decided to give it another try.

The location of this hotel is amazing, sitting between two blue flag beaches and all rooms promising sea views. The revamp has included an addition of balconies to all rooms and they really do work. It is just lovely sitting out on the balcony looking out at the fabulous views, it really makes the room feel much bigger. The room itself is very comfortable and the decor is pleasant. The bed was really comfortable.

The bathroom had not been revamped and was pretty grotty but apparently they are getting around to this. We had no hot water on the first night of our stay and called housekeeping who came up to check it but they never came back - we got no apology and we were just ignored. I found this rather odd.

The spa in this hotel is lovely. The pool is sea water which is really lovely. I had a facial which was fabulous (a bit expensive but a lovely treat).

The food in the restaurant was really good and despite our poor experience with housekeeping and the grotty bathroom I would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
433 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
414 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
743 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
264 reviews
22 mi away
Riverside Park Hotel
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: £134 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing