We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ticked all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2009

stayed in inchydoney island lodge & spa with friends during the week. i dont usually do reviews but cant let this trip go by without doing so. i know i can speak for all four of us when i say great staff, rooms, food and scenery. do yourself a favour avoid airport hassle this year.took me three hours only to get down from prosperous. co.kildare

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planetKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,078 - 2,084 of 2,176 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2009

Stayed one night during an Irish Business trip in Cork area, with one of my colleague.

Hotel is located in one of the most pleasant area of South Ireland.
Great View on the Atlantic ocean, and this had a so strong holidays feeling...but was only a overnight stay for business.
Great Reception and helpful staf, a Irish typical liquor is offered after arrival and we drank this one quietly in front of the chimney.
Room was very comfortable . Large and "Very Deep" bed (perhaps a slightly harder mattress could be better). Some could reproach the darkness of certain room even with sunshine outside.
Restaurant is not really at the level of the hotel. Dishes were well prepared but not really tastefull. This said, the waiter was really nice and had a discussion with us.

I recommend after the diner to walk for a while on the beach, This is excellent for the digestion , and you will appreciate the nice position of the hotel.
In conclusion : Very great place to stay for business but certainly still better for holidays break

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

my husband and i just celebrated our wedding anniversary at the lodge and spa. we got a great last minute rate, hence the title of this review. the hotel were unable to upgrade us when we told them it was our anniversary, but they did send complimentary wine and chocolates up to our room. the one thing that stood out is that every member of staff that we dealt with was courteous and friendly. in places like the lodge and spa you may worry that staff may be snooty...be assured this is not the case. food in the dunes bar was lovely, breakfast was also nice. of course the location is unbeatable. on the sunday morning the swimming pool was overrun with kids...we had come here to get away from ours! the view from our balcony was beautiful, room was well appointed....it was a really relaxing stay. normally i can find fault anywhere i go...not at inchydoney. i would highly recommend it (especially if you can get it at a good price).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

originaly booked for 3 nights but we were offered a deal so stayed for 2 more nights, we arrived on the monday eve to a warm welcome and a glass of irish mist, the duty manager brought us to our room and went through the opening times of spa, bar food times etc, had a lovely view from our room which was on the 4th floor room 402 and over looked the nicer of the 2 beaches, if you were staying in rooms 404 onwards the view would be a little better.
GREAT THINGS ABOUT THE HOTEL
Very friendly staff always smilling and willing to help.
The best breakfast ive ever had in a hotel. a very good selection of fruit, cheese, yogurt muffins, pancakes juices etc, top ups of tea and coffee and its served untill 11am.
The residents lounge, a big stitting room where a fire is always burning where you can get food and drinks and a nice afternoon tea.
Fab location.
Paper outside door every morning
Pool fab, lovely sea water and nice jet's etc... i even learned to swim in it !!!!!!!!
Turn down service.. butlers chocs every eve and extra towels or water as you need them.
Gulf stream restaraunt lovely

THE NOT THAT GOOD BITS
Wasn't mad about dunes pub, food i found was poor enough frozen chips etc,
my key card stopped working so had to go down to reception 3 times in my robe having been at the pool and it still didnt work.

Would def come back again though as found it to be good value, apart from the poor bar food, the appartments may suit some better as you can still use all hotel facilities, i found it good that kids are only aloud in pool for 2 hours in the morning and 2 in afternoon, but not great if you are planing on coming with kid's as you have to be organised to be ready to go to pool with no flexability.

pool closes at 8pm i think this is way 2 early.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disko1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

I have to agree with previous reviewers, this is a beautiful hotel, friendly & helpful staff, great food, large comfortable rooms with balconies and a location to die for but all at a price. This was my third stay and all the rooms have been refurbised to a very high standard, the spa has also been extended. The facial & massages were amazing, however, if you want a luxury treatment I wouldn't recommend a wrap, I was expecting a head massage while wrapped in plastic & a warm blanket but I was just left in the room on my own for 20 minutes - not very impressed with that! The beaches are incredible and Clonakilty is a lively town full of restaurants, pubs & fantastic traditional shopfronts. On the downside the hotel was very quiet for the entire time I was there so the place lacked atmosphere. I suspect this is due to the prices they are charging, I have stayed in 5* hotels for less and I'm sorry to say in the current climate it is unlikely I will be returning to Inchydoney for quite some time again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rox09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Was at inchydoney for my birthday in feb. the hotel is so great and staff too. had dinner in their main restaurant upstairs and we were seating by the window and we had such beautiful views of the sea, it was divine.

rooms are nice and so as the spa

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Just back from 2 fantastic days at Inchydoney Island Loge & Spa. I had heard lots about the hotel before I went- but nothing prepared me for the fantastic setting. I have never seen such beautiful beaches. You could be anywhere when you go over the hill leading to the hotel. I was met by the manager on duty and after a 4 hour drive and i could feel myself relax as I sat in the beautifully decorated reception area. I was shown to the my room- which had a balcony looking out onto the beach- it was breathtaking!! The service, facilities , Spa and heated seawater pool and above all friendly staff- will mean a regular visit from me- it's a must for everyone.... Would highly recommend..

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
429 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
2.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
160 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
264 reviews
7.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: £138 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing