We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly efficient and welcoming staff made for a very enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clonakilty Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly efficient and welcoming staff made for a very enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This family-run hotel has just reopened following major refurbishment and is an ideal place to stay if visiting Clonakilty and west Cork. The staff were exceptionally friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Hotel is in a great location right in the centre of town with a beautiful reception & lobby area and room was equipped with all amenities, including tea/coffee making facilities, free wifi etc. The breakfast was cooked to order perfectly and delivered with warm Irish charm! Would recommend this hotel warmly. Sean & Paddy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    59
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
37
94
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hi we stayed in this hotel for a weekend. When we were checking in Sat eve 6pm there was no one at reception. When a young man from the bar came to check us in, he was not interested in how our trip was or making any small talk at all. Basically just wanted to get us checked in and out of the way.

The rooms are very nice. When checking out it was the same story with an older gentleman. I complemented Clonakilty Restaurant and surrounding area but I may as well have said I was from Mars for all the pass he gave me. For what we paid it would not kill them to be polite.

I won't be staying here again if at all possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noeleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
190 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a hotel right in the centre of Conakilty. Very friendly service, nice communal areas of the hotel and a prefect location of the town centre with free WiFi and plenty of free parking nearby.

Our negative comments would be dated bathrooms with a shower curtain, cheap synthetic pillows, no aircon, hot room and too loud to open the windows. I also find it rather strange that the breakfast is in a windowless room, playing elevator music when it could be housed in the far more attractive restaurant area. The breakfast service was friendly but the food was of little quality which is a shame.

Room Tip: Do not book a room facing the height street if you want to open the windows as far too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My husband has dietary problems. They catered for him to the T.they very fantastic .Lovely friendly, helpful staff. Great welcoming feel when you arrive . Excellent food. A must stay in if you are in that area. Great value also

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mackronie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Patricia and Christopher have remodeled this hotel to satisfy what a traveler would want. Cordial greetings, sparkling clean everything, gracious sitting areas, a good bar and restaurant. It is situated on the main road through Clonakilty which is a delightful town to visit for a day or two. LizEd243

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizEd243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, everyone so friendly and staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, most friendly staff I've met. Beautiful dinner and great location. Rooms comfortable. Thanks a million for a memorable stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliodhna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stopped in Clonakilty Hotel for quick lunch during my bussines trip.
Service was quick, lunch menu well designed to suit everyone. Picked Steak Sandwich and cup of tea.
Food arrived quickly and nicely presented. Prices very reasonable.
I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
2.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.9 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clonakilty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clonakilty Hotel

Property: The Clonakilty Hotel
Address: Wolfe Tone Street, Clonakilty Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clonakilty Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the heart of Clonakilty,an EDEN destination on the Wild Atlantic Way, The Clonakilty Hotel offers comfortable accommodation at an affordable price. Each of the hotel's 31 bedrooms are bright with adjoining en-suite bathrooms. The hotel offers the very best of local food served all day every day in our Copper Pot Restaurant & Bar, or dine in our Cedarwood Restaurant. Our friendly staff will be happy to provide local information and recommendations. Conference and banquet facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Clonakilty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing