We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Left unimpressed...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malthouse Granary Restaurant - CLOSED

Malthouse Granary Restaurant
Price range: US$23 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Left unimpressed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Ate in the Malthouse recently and was left a bit disappointed by the food. Starter of seafood platter was bland. Have had some amazing platters in the past but this was just lacking something. Some nice brown bread to accompany would have made a huge difference, but the smoked salmon/crab mayo/lukewarm mussels/calamari was a let down. It could have done with an extra flavour to liven it up a bit. Chicken stuffed with Durrus cheese and wrapped in bacon was better, but nothing to write home about. Dessert was the best dish - a warm chocolate tort with cointreau soaked orange segments.

Of the 3 others in our party, 2 weren't impressed with the fish of the day offering - sole stuffed with crab meat - although it sounded delicious. The seabass though was a hit!Sides of garlic potato,red cabbage and veg were nice. One particular staff member (didn't get her name) was great and extremely friendly, but the other girl serving could do with taking a few lessons from her colleague!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E_Cork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    29
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Five of us had a meal here on Saturday night. We were not disappointed. Service was very friendly, food was excellent. The fillet stake was done just the way I like it. Garlic potatoes were fantastic. All of us were more that happy with our choices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Poochsmooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in clonakilty for 4 nights and ended up eating here twice!

Amazing, top quality food, large portions so be careful on ordering starters!!!

Definitely 5* rating!

Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tinynose82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Seafood at Malthouse 'scales' new heights!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great restaurant/bistro in central Clonakilty....and I would highly recommend this place to anyone visit the town. Great range of seafood, meat and poultry - but if you like your seafood....then this is the place! Mouthwatering platters to indulge in or be selfish and opt for the hake, cod etc.....don't get me started on the desserts.....yummylicious!! Also, great selection on the wine list....and staff are very good in recommending wines to suit seafood, steaks or vegetarian options. Definitely worth a visit :o)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace-Heno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Consistently Good every time, chefs with flair !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have eaten at this lovely cosy restaurant a few times the past year and it is consistently good. The food is superb, we went for the early bird menu which offers a nice selection of lovely dishes to wet your appetite !

I had the calamari and my husband had the chicken wings for starters, both were beautifully presented and served with a basket of lovely fresh bread. For mains we had the chicken and the Fish and Chips. The fish and chips is a wonderful dish and the chips are served in a little bucket, my chicken was tender and succulent. The chicken was served with a lovely selection of fresh vegetables and very tasty potatoes dauphinoise.

The chefs in this restaurant are worth their weight in gold as they know how to cook and present good quality food, a special thanks to them for a wonderful meal. We washed this superb meal down with a generous glass of French Chardonnay reasonably priced at €5.50 a glass.

The bill in total was €50.00, superb value, easy on the pocket but a treat for the taste buds ! This is what people want in these recessionary times. We look forward to eating from the A La carte menu before Christmas as we saw some of those dishes going out and they look divine !

A special mention also has to go to the great staff working at the Malthouse, they are always super friendly and efficient and always have a smile !

The Malthouse is a great venue for any occasion, get booking !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wellywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malthouse Granary Restaurant also viewed

Clonakilty, County Cork
Clonakilty, County Cork
 
Clonakilty, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing