We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, great wedding but slightly expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunmore House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed for a wedding. Could not fault the wedding food, reception etc. The rooms were lovely too. The view from the hotel itself is stunning. Our room didn't really face the sea, we never asked for this option. So maybe ask if you want a good view. There were not problems with the cleanliness of the room and hotel itself. However, one thing I found it was lacking in the room was a kettle for tea. It was a great hotel / room, but I think all in all was a bit expensive for what we got. I think you pay for the view and location more. Still, I would go again if there was a wedding there!

Room Tip: Not sure if you can specifically ask for a room with a view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicious_toast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

I had just the best day of my life thanks to Dunmore and ann Marie! They did everything fo me and relieved all my stress! Honeymoon suite was amazing and staff fab! Most beautiful view in the world! I cannot recommend it enough for your wedding!

Stayed: September 2012
2  Thank freyjabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in one of the houses on the hill, overlooking the bay, during a stint for my sister-in-laws wedding recently. The house was great value, clean and spacious. The reception at the hotel was warm, and it was so idyllic sitting here in the afternoon with a coffee, taking in the view of the wintery sea stretched out before us. The staff, in particular Anne Marie, were exceptionally accommodating and friendly. The wedding went seamlessly because of their help. I didn't want to leave really..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

stayed here recently,location was amazing but hotel was ok.food was alright.staff were friendly but the overall problem is the cost of the rooms,way overpriced for what you pay for,a real put off for me in the future.150 euros was the cost of a room with no seaview...a box room with double bed...wow!..but thats ireland for you...i know winter is coming and things will get quiet but charging these prices is very cheeky and off putting

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liadancork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

From day one, when we met Anne Marie Harte, we knew this had to be the place. This, after we had seen the very prestigious Inchidonney across the bay. Was it the views from Dunmore, was it the approachability of Anne Marie or the homely feel of the place? To be honest, it was a combination of all three, none more important than the other!
Organising a wedding is very stressful, but when it came to organising ours, from the reception point of view, no stress what so ever! Nothing was too much trouble, nothing was an issue!
We had some guests were not keen on our choice of mains, but this was not an issue for Anne Marie and Dunmore. She told us off for worrying, and reassured us that everything would be fine, she promised us no one would leave disappointed. How right she was!!! To hear people rave on about the food over and over again meant to us that our guests have left satisfied! Almost everyone commented on the food, mainly about the quality, taste, how perfectly cooked the veg was and so on and so on...
As the groom, I was nervous before the wedding. I stayed at Dunmore the night before. Mary at reception was so nice to me from the minute I came downstairs on the big day. A cup of human kindness goes a very long way indeed. It meant a lot more given that my mother was unable to be there by my side.
I speak from the heart, that's the best way, we would forever be grateful to Anne Marie and Dunmore House hotel!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vishal97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

150 euro for a tiny room for one night with a dribble for a shower. would have been better off in a traveloge style place as that what i recieved just with an unworthy price tag. Also had no vegi option but the managed to find a nut roast for me but waitress was unsure they would be able todo it at first

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Liddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed for a family wedding. This is a fantastic venue for a wedding. Ideal for photos over the bat. Room was also great. Food for Wedding was excellent and the breakfast was nice. Staff very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzzingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
3.0 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
394 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
261 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
7.0 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmore House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmore House Hotel

Address: Muckross | Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#5 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: £79 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunmore House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular vista of the Atlantic Ocean greets you on arrival at Dunmore House Hotel. This third generation family business first opened as a hotel in 1948. The house still retains much of its original character whilst providing all the comforts of a modern hotel. Situated on the shores of Clonakilty Bay in charming West Cork, the adjoining 9 hole golf course and sea terrace add to the enjoyment of this spectacular location. The bar and lounge areas are warm and inviting with an interesting collection of modern Irish art. Both the contemporary dining room and attractive terrace overlook the water. The extensive bar and dining room menus offer high quality locally sourced food, served daily. The magnificent coastal location of Dunmore House Hotel has been used to advantage to provide sea views from most rooms. The hotel is furnished and maintained to a high standard to ensure the comfort of all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Dunmore House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunmore Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing