We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Dunmore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunmore House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just enjoyed a truly relaxing night in Dunmore House.On check in we were offered a choice of rooms, we had previously stayed in Dunmore as we attended 2 weddings over the past couple of years, this time we choose room 203 with a bay view, stunning ,as it was a most amazing sunny evening. Our room was immaculately maintained,as is the entire hotel, both inside and outside, the entire decking area is so spotless its a pleasure to sit outside with a pre dinner drink. The hands on owner management pays off, we had a very informative chat with the former owner Mr O Donovan. Our only problem when we sat down to dine in the bar was trying to choose from the extensive bar food menu, our selection of a t-bone steak and a delicious courgette and brie tart with bacon didnt disappoint! The bar was very busy Anne Marie greeted so many of the guests as if they were dining in her own house it did really feel so homely and welcoming. I do always say there is nothing like a freshly cooked breakfast and this is exactly what you get in Dunmore House scrumptious!! Keep up your high standard of maintenance as it can be so lacking and it does make all the difference! Sure if its fit for our president who am i to argue!!

Room Tip: Bay view rooms add to the enjoyment
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodnwine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for Dunmore House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

The family and I along with some friends stayed for one night at the Dunmore house hotel. We had a wonderful night sleep in the luxurious, huge bed. The room was spotless and the view from the room was breathtaking.
We sat out on the boat decking and I have to say the service was outstanding! Julie was so on point, she could have been telepathic! We got a little chilly.... Before we could even shiver, there was a delivery of woollen blankets for us. We ordered snacks... It was dark and without asking, there was a delivery of tea lights in holders for us. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful... Loads of choice and very delicious! We really felt looked after and it was a perfect ending to a lovely holiday. This is an absolute must! If you find yourself in beautiful west cork, do yourselves a favour and go here. You won't be disappointed! We'll definitely be back . Thank you very much for spoiling us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathw00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We’re just back from 2 nights in the Dunmore House Hotel. The hotel was excellent from start to finish. I had booked to stay in July but had to reschedule and the staff accommodated this change without any fuss or hassle. We stayed in room 303 which was spacious, immaculate and had amazing views across the bay. The food (we had afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast) was delicious and great quality and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. It’s a friendly, welcoming and very relaxing hotel and I’m looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just had a fantastic week in dunmore house. Beautiful hotel & stunning scenery. The staff are excellent & so friendly towards children. I would highly recommend this hotel. Didn't see any flies, the hotel was immaculate & who cares if your bedroom furniture doesn't match?!?

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracyoflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I cant understand how this hotel has so many good reviews. We stayed here and omg do they actually clean it. The place was full of flies in the smoking area outside I say that it doesnt be cleaned from one end of the week to the next I thought that was bad enough.
But considering we paid €150 for 1 nights accomodation in a room that you could barely move is beyond me only we had not a choice. The room had furniture that again was not matching and the flies on the window there were loads (we were not there in the real hot weather so I would hate to see it then)
Dont waste your money staying here and dont let there website mislead you!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mariekerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was at a wedding in this hotel.. The food was very good.. had smoked salmon starter, lovely soup and seabass for mains. there was a good choice on the menu.. the staff were very nice and attentive escpecially Ann-Marie and Kevin the nice bar man. The DJ played really late at the wedding which was good too. It is very hard to get a taxi from the hotel on a saturday night. you have to nearly wait an hour and a half. There is a beautiful view in this hotel also looking over the bay. All in all this is a nice place to visit..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishchic06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

What a great venue. Food, service and location has to be one of the best this country has to offer.

The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much much.

This hotel has something for everyone. Nice bar, lovely terrace and what magnificent surroundings.

Delighted to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
3.0 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
390 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
150 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
258 reviews
7.0 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmore House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmore House Hotel

Address: Muckross | Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#5 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: £77 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunmore House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular vista of the Atlantic Ocean greets you on arrival at Dunmore House Hotel. This third generation family business first opened as a hotel in 1948. The house still retains much of its original character whilst providing all the comforts of a modern hotel. Situated on the shores of Clonakilty Bay in charming West Cork, the adjoining 9 hole golf course and sea terrace add to the enjoyment of this spectacular location. The bar and lounge areas are warm and inviting with an interesting collection of modern Irish art. Both the contemporary dining room and attractive terrace overlook the water. The extensive bar and dining room menus offer high quality locally sourced food, served daily. The magnificent coastal location of Dunmore House Hotel has been used to advantage to provide sea views from most rooms. The hotel is furnished and maintained to a high standard to ensure the comfort of all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Dunmore House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunmore Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing