We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunmore House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Dunmore House Hotel and could not recommend it highly enough. It is the perfect spot to relax and unwind and an ideal base for seeing some of West Cork. The hotel is very well kept and the staff could not be nicer - extremely friendly and very obliging. Stunning views across the bay and the barman is also easy on the eye! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilkennyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    63
    8
    11
    5
See reviews for
114
165
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for my brothers wedding and this place is second to none.

To begin with the location and scenery are just breathtaking....looking out over the Atlantic ocean, wandering around the streets of Clonakilty, driving through the Cor countryside.

The amenities at the hotel are very good, the place is well kept and the service was just great.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights recently and were immediately made to feel welcome by the staff. The room was clean, spacious with a modern bathroom with fantastic walk in shower. We had two evening meals, both of which were exceptional. Others have made comment about the service and I absolutely agree....nothing was too difficult, no pressure, friendly and personable. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoesephG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just enjoyed a truly relaxing night in Dunmore House.On check in we were offered a choice of rooms, we had previously stayed in Dunmore as we attended 2 weddings over the past couple of years, this time we choose room 203 with a bay view, stunning ,as it was a most amazing sunny evening. Our room was immaculately maintained,as is the entire hotel, both inside and outside, the entire decking area is so spotless its a pleasure to sit outside with a pre dinner drink. The hands on owner management pays off, we had a very informative chat with the former owner Mr O Donovan. Our only problem when we sat down to dine in the bar was trying to choose from the extensive bar food menu, our selection of a t-bone steak and a delicious courgette and brie tart with bacon didnt disappoint! The bar was very busy Anne Marie greeted so many of the guests as if they were dining in her own house it did really feel so homely and welcoming. I do always say there is nothing like a freshly cooked breakfast and this is exactly what you get in Dunmore House scrumptious!! Keep up your high standard of maintenance as it can be so lacking and it does make all the difference! Sure if its fit for our president who am i to argue!!

Room Tip: Bay view rooms add to the enjoyment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodnwine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The family and I along with some friends stayed for one night at the Dunmore house hotel. We had a wonderful night sleep in the luxurious, huge bed. The room was spotless and the view from the room was breathtaking.
We sat out on the boat decking and I have to say the service was outstanding! Julie was so on point, she could have been telepathic! We got a little chilly.... Before we could even shiver, there was a delivery of woollen blankets for us. We ordered snacks... It was dark and without asking, there was a delivery of tea lights in holders for us. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful... Loads of choice and very delicious! We really felt looked after and it was a perfect ending to a lovely holiday. This is an absolute must! If you find yourself in beautiful west cork, do yourselves a favour and go here. You won't be disappointed! We'll definitely be back . Thank you very much for spoiling us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathw00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We’re just back from 2 nights in the Dunmore House Hotel. The hotel was excellent from start to finish. I had booked to stay in July but had to reschedule and the staff accommodated this change without any fuss or hassle. We stayed in room 303 which was spacious, immaculate and had amazing views across the bay. The food (we had afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast) was delicious and great quality and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. It’s a friendly, welcoming and very relaxing hotel and I’m looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just had a fantastic week in dunmore house. Beautiful hotel & stunning scenery. The staff are excellent & so friendly towards children. I would highly recommend this hotel. Didn't see any flies, the hotel was immaculate & who cares if your bedroom furniture doesn't match?!?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracyoflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.5 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
3.0 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
369 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
245 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
134 reviews
2.5 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmore House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmore House Hotel

Property: Dunmore House Hotel
Address: Muckross | Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#5 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunmore House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular vista of the Atlantic Ocean greets you on arrival at Dunmore House Hotel. This third generation family business first opened as a hotel in 1948. The house still retains much of its original character whilst providing all the comforts of a modern hotel. Situated on the shores of Clonakilty Bay in charming West Cork, the adjoining 9 hole golf course and sea terrace add to the enjoyment of this spectacular location. The bar and lounge areas are warm and inviting with an interesting collection of modern Irish art. Both the contemporary dining room and attractive terrace overlook the water. The extensive bar and dining room menus offer high quality locally sourced food, served daily. The magnificent coastal location of Dunmore House Hotel has been used to advantage to provide sea views from most rooms. The hotel is furnished and maintained to a high standard to ensure the comfort of all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunmore House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunmore Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing