We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunmore House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I am just back from a weekend here with my boyfriend and his family. It truly was a wonderful experience from start to finish. The weather was horrific the two nights we were there however there was a blazing fire lit each day which was wonderful to sit beside and have a nice drink.
Finding the hotel was very easy as it was well signposted.
The lady at check in was lovely and very welcoming. However one small set back was the waitresses for breakfast a simple smile would go along way!
The room itself was huge and the mattress was by far one of the best I have slept in. One slight issue but nothing major is that the towels they provided and a little bit tattered and could be a lot bigger, they are quite skimpy.
Will definitely be back again! The breakfast is wonderful very tasty with a good selection!

Room Tip: Sea view room is essential
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for Dunmore House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

I went to Dunmore House for the first time about a month ago. My fiance and I were looking into wedding venues and from the moment we stepped into Dunmore House, we knew it was 'the' place for our wedding next summer.

My friend and I decided to book in for a night and do a little 'inspection'. It was fantastic start to finish. I would be a little fussy and I loved the attention to detail and 'love' given to the hotel which is rarely seen these days (i.e. no peeling wallpaper, no stains on carpets or couches). We had afternoon tea in front of the fire which was superb followed by dinner later which again, was fabulous no flaws at all!!! Service is prompt and really, it's quite difficult to complain about anything!!

Decor in the rooms is very chic boutique, crisp and the beds are King Koil = SUPER comfy!! L'OCCITANE products in the bathrooms (VERY impressive!)

Breakfast was beautiful. Locally made jam, full Irish breakfast and a great selection of buffet items.


Would highly recommend for a night/weekend away.

Room Tip: A sea view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myriamclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Nice rooms, great staff and friendly relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. A great base from which to explore the West Cork area generally. Lovely sea views. A bit outside the town but taxis are cheap and reliable. Food was very good, breakfast especially.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73MichaelK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The views of the hotel are wonderful but we would not stay there again as the hotel was quite basic and dated and basic features did not work well (wifi, food after 9 pm, comfortable rooms). This is a 3 star hotel and it shows. Very expensive for what you get.

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a wedding. It took us a long time to find the hotel (even with a sat nav) because the roads are very small and there are no signposts for the hotel. A few simple signposts for the hotel from clonakilty would help guests find the hotel much easier.

When we arrived, it was quite late and after checking in, we had to wander around the corridors looking for our rooms. There are no signs for where groups of rooms are. We ended up wandering down corridors that had no lights on.
When we finally found our room, the decor in the room was very dated. None of the furniture matched and it all looked like it was over 20 years old. The bedsheets were those old woolen types that are usually stored at the top of the wardrobe and only used in emergencies.
The door on the bathroom was not hung straight and would open by itself all the way into the bedroom unless it was closed completely.
The bathroom was actually very nice - it had been recently renovated and was very nice.

A major drawback of the hotel though was that they do not serve any food after 9 pm. Since we only arrived at 10.30 and were starving, we had no way of getting any food. The restaurant and bar had stopped serving food at 9 and room-service also only served food until 9. So we had no choice but to try and go to bed hungry wait for breakfast in the morning.

The wifi did not work in the hotel rooms - only in the public areas like the bar or the restaurant.

Breakfast was nice with a good range of options available. They also provide a full cooked breakfast as well.

The views from the hotel are great all right and are definitely the highlight of the visit there.

Overall, we would not stay there again. There are other hotels in the area which are much higher quality and cost the same.

Room Tip: get one facing the bay
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kb10102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for 1 night & was lucky enough to have early check-in and late check-out available to us. Weather was miserable all weekend but Dunmore house hotel is an ideal spot to be confined to the indoors! Food is fantastic (both in bar & at breakfast - fruit salad was best I ever had!) Our delux room was spacious, had gorgeous sea views and a bed that you could happily spend the rest of your days in! Foyer is very relaxing area and we really enjoyed sitting in front of fire reading papers and having a few drinks. The only very minor issue I had was the constant presence of a dog (maybe a Jack Russell) around the place, I'm not a dog lover so would prefer not to be constantlytripping over this little fella!! Overall though, this is a fantastic hotel, friendly and efficient staff and i thoroughly enjoyed an excellent nights stay here

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in Dunmore House Hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Spotlessly clean. Wonderful sea views. Great bathroom - shower and toiletries. Spacious bedroom. Very comfortable bed with well appointed reading lamps. Unfortunately dining room was not available to hotel guests during our overnight stay - so had to eat in the bar. This was a bit of a disappointment to us as we were celebrating a special occasion but hotel staff did their best to accommodate us otherwise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I stayed just 1 night, but it was more than enough to win us both over. What an amazing setting! Beautiful views over the bay, magnificent beaches and gorgeous weather. The hotel and indeed the entire area was very well kept and very clean. Our room was spacious, clean and had a fantastic view. The hotel grounds were very well maintained and interesting to walk around. Without exception each member of staff was courteous, friendly and very helpful. The food in the bar was varied and interesting and the breakfast menu was amazing. We would highly recommend Dunmore House Hotel to anyone visiting West Cork.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186600Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
3.0 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
388 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
150 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
257 reviews
7.0 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmore House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmore House Hotel

Address: Muckross | Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#5 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: £76 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunmore House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular vista of the Atlantic Ocean greets you on arrival at Dunmore House Hotel. This third generation family business first opened as a hotel in 1948. The house still retains much of its original character whilst providing all the comforts of a modern hotel. Situated on the shores of Clonakilty Bay in charming West Cork, the adjoining 9 hole golf course and sea terrace add to the enjoyment of this spectacular location. The bar and lounge areas are warm and inviting with an interesting collection of modern Irish art. Both the contemporary dining room and attractive terrace overlook the water. The extensive bar and dining room menus offer high quality locally sourced food, served daily. The magnificent coastal location of Dunmore House Hotel has been used to advantage to provide sea views from most rooms. The hotel is furnished and maintained to a high standard to ensure the comfort of all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Dunmore House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunmore Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing