We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Dream Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunmore House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Dream Escape”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here with my mother in May.This hotel was in the perfect location the rooms were absolutely amazing and the view was to die for. I really cannot fault this hotel on anything . From the moment we arrived until the moment we left it was perfect. The staff were the friendliest I have ever encountered and the food was top class. The whole experience was 5 star and we will defiantly be returning.It is a real gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Had a room on third floor and it was perfect room 301 very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    62
    8
    11
    5
See reviews for
110
163
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at this Hotel recently attending a family wedding.
A very well managed small rural hotel with many rooms overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. The Hotel is ideally located in a quiet rural setting which enables guests undertake day trips to view the beautiful coastline and numerous local scenic routes. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful & couldn't do enough for one. The cuisine was excellent & breakfast was particularly good. Highly recommended for functions, weddings and adventurous family holiday breaks.

Room Tip: Request a room with an Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel has the friendliest staff I have ever experienced! .....And it is genuine, not forced! Their breakfast is also the best hotel breakfast I have ever had and I have stayed in 5 star hotels both here and abroad. It included a cereal, fruit and yoghurt buffet with an amazing choice of each as well as a full hot breakfast menu which is served to your table. I have a pet hate for hot breakfast buffets as food never tastes the same from the jamboree storage containers so I was delighted with this. The fruit selection included fresh berries, stewed rhubarb , stewed apple, melon balls and a selection of dried fruits. Breads and crossiants also abounded.
Now, the sea views from the front rooms are stunning. Ask for one of these rooms! However if a large group want to stay together and save money there are some apartments on the campus which are very comfortable also. Be warned though that these do not have a sea view though they are very well kitted out and serviced.
We had our evening meal in the bar. I ordered crab claws and although it was a starter portion I asked for them to beef it up into a main course which they did at no extra charge. They were nothing short of delicious. Thinking about them now makes me want to return which I intend to as soon as possible!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deroiste_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for a week. Fabulous hotel and general areas of the hotel are smart and chic with a typical warm West Cork welcome.

The lounge if very comfortable with enviable views out to the Atlantic and coastline. The bar is inviting with attentive staff. There is Sky TV in the bar for important events (The Masters was on for the final day and the sound was very low to appease non-golfing occupants). The television isn't on continually either. There is an excellent menu for the bar food and it was delicious.

A good way to judge a venue is by the toilets, Dunmore do not need to worry here. Very clean, modern with choice of luxury paper towels or a powerful hand dryer. L'Occtaine soap and lotion too - perfect.

A 9 hole golf course sits above and behind the hotel giving stunning 360 degree views of the surrounding area. The groundsmen/man were out every day whilst we stayed the week and there was a ladies day to encourage new and current players to the sport.

The children loved the small family dogs who are extremely well behaved, popping up outside at various times and very happy to be petted and spoilt with attention.

The views from the hotel are breathtaking, we had a week of sunshine, blue sky and fluffy cotton wool clouds.

Thank you so very much Dunmore, we are really looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CantSingforToffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Last week I spent 2 nights in Dunmore House hotel for a wedding and everything was great. Room was very nice with a great ocean view. Very comfortable large bed (I'm 6ft5"). The food was great and a nice residents bar with great pints. I would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Spent the week here on business. Large, comfortable rooms to stay in. Greeted by staff each morning with a wonderful breakfast, remembering what I had eaten the day before and fast, friendly service. The facility offers great dining in both the dining room and bar (took an opportunity to eat at both) and the views from the room is not to be missed. Right on the ocean with beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Always made to feel welcomed when we made it back in from a long day at the office.

You know you are at a great place when tourists, businesses, and locals flock into the hotel to enjoy the wonderful food, gorgeous views, and cozy conversation areas! Definitely staying here next time I'm in Clonakilty

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the ocean, but I've enjoyed staying on the top floor where it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just back from a short stay at Dunmore House Hotel with my mother and sister. It is in a fantastic location, a few miles outside Clonakilty, with spectacular views of the sea and beaches at Inchydoney. The hotel is beautifully decorated and everywhere is spotlessly clean and well maintained. It was a joy to sit in the comfortable lounge, admiring the view and enjoying the relaxing ambiance of the place. Our room was lovely, very spacious with very comfortable beds and pillows and again the fantastic sea view. We dined in the Adrift restaurant and also in the bar and would highly recommend both. Breakfast was also delicious with a very good choice. But what really impressed us the most, was the wonderful hospitality of the owners and staff, they are truly exceptional. From the moment we arrived we were made feel really welcome, they couldn't do enough for us, especially for my mother. That personal touch made our stay. I have to say without a doubt this was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and on the doorstep is the beautiful West of Cork with so many captivating places to visit such as Rosscarbary, Glandore and Union Hall to name but a few. I'm already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PunchFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
3.0 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
55.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
2.5 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmore House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmore House Hotel

Property: Dunmore House Hotel
Address: Muckross | Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#5 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunmore House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular vista of the Atlantic Ocean greets you on arrival at Dunmore House Hotel. This third generation family business first opened as a hotel in 1948. The house still retains much of its original character whilst providing all the comforts of a modern hotel. Situated on the shores of Clonakilty Bay in charming West Cork, the adjoining 9 hole golf course and sea terrace add to the enjoyment of this spectacular location. The bar and lounge areas are warm and inviting with an interesting collection of modern Irish art. Both the contemporary dining room and attractive terrace overlook the water. The extensive bar and dining room menus offer high quality locally sourced food, served daily. The magnificent coastal location of Dunmore House Hotel has been used to advantage to provide sea views from most rooms. The hotel is furnished and maintained to a high standard to ensure the comfort of all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunmore House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunmore Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing