We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Irish hotel experience in a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunmore House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at Dunmore House for a friend's wedding in June 2014. From the initial booking right through to getting something I forgot posted to me, the customer service from this fabulous family-run hotel was amazing. The staff at all levels look like they like their jobs and are working 110% all of the time to make everything sparkle and shine and give you a great experience. For wedding food I was really impressed and the views from my room were spectacular. Given that so many Celtic Tiger hotels are now grubby and tired looking, it's obvious that Dunmore House is continuously invested in and cared for. Highly recommended. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buamarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for Dunmore House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

just home from a two night stay at dunmore house,sorry to leave it was so relaxing.have stayed a few times and again on this visit found everyone to be so welcoming and helpfull,the room was spotless with a fantastic sea view,lovely decor,food was great ,its a haven of relaxation a credit to managment and staff we are looking forward to returning again aug or sept ,a very special place,ann and michael

Room Tip: sea view rooms are excellent ;you can leave windows open and hear to waves as you drift off to sleep
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We discovered this hotel a few years ago whilst attending a wedding. We have been back a couple of times, most recently last week.
This hotel is a "gem" for comfort. cleanliness, friendliness and all one needs for a few days away.
All staff are so helpful and know what they're doing, the place is spotless throughout and food, especially breakfast is worth the visit alone.
Rooms excellent and we shall return.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the sea was excellent!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked short notice and was very happy with my choice when arriving at the hotel. The people are very freindly and welcoming. The room rather large, nicely decorated and very clean. The view was second to none! The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic. We will be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissMiss003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just back from a one night stay in Dunmore House Hotel and I am just sorry we could not stay longer. It is a fabulous setting and our room had a fabulous view across the atlantic ocean. It was so relaxing, I could just have stared out to sea for ever. The decor was lovely in shades of white and grey very cool and pleasant and it was very spacious and contained everything you might need. The staff were superb and genuinely friendly and interested in every guest. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and had a nice selection of fruits, cereals and breads as well. We played a round of golf after breakfast and it is a very nice testing course with marvelous views and was in great condition. Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irisheyesKillarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here on a Thursday night for one night and also ate in the restaurant. I absolutely love this place! Staff are amazing and you could spend the entire day chatting with them like old friends.

Our room was fantastic. Apparently each room has different decor so I would have loved to have seen them all. Beautiful sea view from the room was a real treat!

Went whole hog and had three courses in this restaurant (sea view also!). We both had the soup for starters with fresh, homemade bread. For mains, I had the the Cod au gratin (yum!) and my partner had the steak (had to stop him from licking the plate). For dessert I had the chocolate fudge cake and my partner had the apple and rhubarb crumble. Every dish had a slight twist which was well received! We nearly had to rolled out of the place but a leisurely stroll down by the beach did the trick!


Would recommend this place 100% - top marks for everything!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CathyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel was a nice relaxed family run hotel. They are located just across the bay from inchydoney beach & had fantastic views, a really wonderful location. The staff were really nice & helpful.

The hotel itself is nicely decorated & the rooms with clean, with a fabulous view. There wasn’t much happening in the hotel; we drove into Clonakilty for music & nightlife.

The breakfast was nice for a small hotel. I’d recommend this to a couple looking for a quiet break to an older couple to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
3.0 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
390 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
150 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
258 reviews
7.0 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmore House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmore House Hotel

Address: Muckross | Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#5 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: £77 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunmore House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular vista of the Atlantic Ocean greets you on arrival at Dunmore House Hotel. This third generation family business first opened as a hotel in 1948. The house still retains much of its original character whilst providing all the comforts of a modern hotel. Situated on the shores of Clonakilty Bay in charming West Cork, the adjoining 9 hole golf course and sea terrace add to the enjoyment of this spectacular location. The bar and lounge areas are warm and inviting with an interesting collection of modern Irish art. Both the contemporary dining room and attractive terrace overlook the water. The extensive bar and dining room menus offer high quality locally sourced food, served daily. The magnificent coastal location of Dunmore House Hotel has been used to advantage to provide sea views from most rooms. The hotel is furnished and maintained to a high standard to ensure the comfort of all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Dunmore House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunmore Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing