We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunmore House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The BEST”
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Thank you for looking after us so well during our recent conference with you.

Departing on the final day every delegate were in agreement that the hotel was superb from start to finish.

A great Irish family run hotel with a superb team who clearly have great pride and passion for their jobs. We meet every year in various locations and without a doubt this has been the best hotel we stayed in. Ideal location, lovely rooms, super food and excellent staff. Hospitality at it's best

Well done to Carol, Mary, Ann-marie and all the others who looked after us.

We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheArbutusBuckleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    63
    9
    12
    5
See reviews for
121
169
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights with our young children. There's a beautiful view from the rooms and from the restaurant. Rooms very clean and large (sea view). Free wi-fi all over the hotel. The pub is very nice also for the children to eat in. The position of the hotel is worth the stay. Wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolanboks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Just want to say a massive thank you to Annemarie and all the crew at the beautifully located Dunmore House Hotel. We recently celebrated my sister's wedding there and had the most amazing experience. From food, to accommodation to function room, we could not find fault. Going so far as to gift some of our party with shoes and potatoes, Annemarie and the staff could not have done enough for us. Though they have a busy line up of weddings throughout the summer, Annemarie makes you feel that your day is the only one she's concerned with. We absolutely loved our stay there and applaud the attention to detail, personal care and lovely customer service provided by all the team. Thanks Again.
Karen & Crew

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazgap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berchtesgaden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Watching the traditional Irish weddings has always been great fun during our annual holidays in the Dunmore House Hotel and this for more than 12 years. Also the very professional handling of these events by the management and staff as well as their friendly and warm-hearted attitude has been most impressing. This time – in July 2010 – we had or own small function celebrating a birthday together with friends from various counties of Ireland. All arrangements were just perfect and the evening dinner was gorgeous. Next morning we played a competition on the golf course of the hotel with its dream views over the sea. After an excellent lunch we spent some relaxing hours on the new patio of the hotel from which one can almost touch the ocean. When leaving again our friends were enthusiastic about the hotel, its facilities, surroundings and service and also very proud to have such a place in Ireland. Of course we are looking forward to our next holidays in the Dunmore House Hotel.

Günter and Reinhilde Krambo
Germany

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krambo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We went down for the weekend for a family celebration. Our hearts fell when we saw a wedding in progrees but the wedding was confined to a separate part of the hotel. The room are wonderful- 50 metres from the sea. the staff were superb, and the beds were really comfortable. The food was excellent, fresh fish, old fashioned cuisine, eg pate sherry trifle turkey and ham, but all excellently done. Portions almost too big. lovely little golf course attached. One slight drawback is no direct access to the sea, But across the bay at 5 mins drive is a huge beach. If you wanted to go away with a few friends for a weekend this would be ideal

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hond6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We had our wedding reception at Dunmore House Hotel on April 10th, 2010. About one third of our 150 guests were from Australia, where we live, and we felt that we could not have chosen any better place for our guests to enjoy the beauty of Ireland. The reception was superb, and the staff amazing - truly we were made to feel as though we were the only couple to have ever had a wedding reception at Dunmore House Hotel, even though we know that Carol, Anne Marie and their wonderful staff host hundreds of receptions every year. Their organisation was fantastic, and just made it so easy for us, right from the very start we never had any troubles planning our reception in spite of living half a world away from the venue!

A number of our guests stayed at Dunmore House the night of the wedding, and all were delighted with their accommodation. For days afterwards we were being told by our friends and family that it was "the best wedding ever". So for this we must say a huge thank you to Carol, Anne Marie and the staff of Dunmore House Hotel. We are now looking forward to returning to Dunmore House to celebrate our first wedding anniversary.

Susan and Billy Meade, Townsville, Australia

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan_grehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Easter Monday, 2010 - my best friend and her husband held their wedding reception at Dunmore House Hotel and we couldn't have been more pleased or impressed with the location, facilities or service that the team at Dunmore House provided for this special occasion.

Between wedding and reception, family and friends were made to feel welcome in the receiving area, where they relaxed in front of the fire, overlooking the stormy Atlantic...

The reception was held in a spacious, well designed room, accommodating the 150 guest without them feeling either squashed in or spread out too far, with room to dance and mingle... Dinner was a more than memorable affair, accompanied by excellent service.

And then the party started and rocked on until 3.00am, when we moved into one of the intimate bar areas, for the sing-along by family and friends, over a "last" Irish Whiskey.

Thankyou to the team at Dunmore House Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reganka456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
3.0 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
382 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
146 reviews
7.0 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
703 reviews
2.5 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmore House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmore House Hotel

Property: Dunmore House Hotel
Address: Muckross | Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#5 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunmore House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular vista of the Atlantic Ocean greets you on arrival at Dunmore House Hotel. This third generation family business first opened as a hotel in 1948. The house still retains much of its original character whilst providing all the comforts of a modern hotel. Situated on the shores of Clonakilty Bay in charming West Cork, the adjoining 9 hole golf course and sea terrace add to the enjoyment of this spectacular location. The bar and lounge areas are warm and inviting with an interesting collection of modern Irish art. Both the contemporary dining room and attractive terrace overlook the water. The extensive bar and dining room menus offer high quality locally sourced food, served daily. The magnificent coastal location of Dunmore House Hotel has been used to advantage to provide sea views from most rooms. The hotel is furnished and maintained to a high standard to ensure the comfort of all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dunmore House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunmore Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing