We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glendine Irish Home
Nearby Hotels
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'Donovan's Hotel(Clonakilty)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre(Clonakilty)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Emmet Hotel(Clonakilty)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtmacsherry Hotel(Courtmacsherry)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Munster Arms(Bandon)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
110
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadon arrivalspacious bathroomlocal tipseggs from their own hensgreat hostsapple juicewonderful homefull irishexcellent breakfastlamb shanka great stayout of this worldclonakilty hotelwarm welcomemickmari
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

In our experience over many years this accommodation beats the lot ~ A very warm welcome by Mari and Mick ~ very clean and comfortable ~ great food ~ we were given very useful information and maps which allowed us to gain the maximum enjoyment from this wonderful area of West Cork . Transportation to and from local Restaurants was offered every evening . Also Muffins were waiting for us in our rooms on our return each day ~ Most welcome !! This B and B is of a very high standard . This is the perfect base to explore the West Cork Area . Thank you Mari and Mick for your wonderful hospitality and kindness ~ Roma,Roger and Rachel .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendine, Owner at Glendine Irish Home, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Hi Folks,

Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay with us. You also made it a pleasant few days for us, particularly the 'few drops' in the evenings and that's not the rain we're talking about :-). Glad you made it back to Wales safe and well. Looks like the Summer has finally arrived so hope you take some time out and soak up some of that long awaited sun.

Warmest regards to all,

Mick & Mari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is my second stay at Glendine. I was there for a couple of nights in December 2011 to run the Clonakilty marathon and in February 2013 to run the Back2Back marathons. Both Mari and Mick were delightful hosts and made me most welcome. The accommodation and the food was excellent and just what I needed in order to recover from running in this beautiful part of the West Cork. The scenery in the area is lovely and the sea views excellent. Glendine is definitely a great base from which to explore and the people are so friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendine, Owner at Glendine Irish Home, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Hi David,

Thank you for your review. You must be nearly recovered at this stage. Back to back marathons is definitely an early sign of dementia. It's madness to do it once, but twice in two days !!!!! Still, well done on completing them. It's a feat not many people can boast of.

Looking forward to seeing you again sometime.

Cheers,

Mick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My wife, Jill and I stayed at the Glendine in mid September, 2012. Mari and Mick are fantastic hosts. The inn and rooms are very clean and well maintained. The breakfast was wonderful, very filling and a great start to the day. We chose to stay there based on the Trip Advisor reviews and were very pleased with the choice and the value. The location is great. It is about a 10 minute walk to the downtown area. Plenty of restaurants. The walk back is a little up hill, but not strenuous. Highly recommended. You will be very happy you chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendine, Owner at Glendine Irish Home, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Hi John,

Thank you for your review. If my memory serves me correct, you and Jill were here during your honeymoon. Glad to see that ye've made it past the first six months together. Hopefully you'll enjoy many more. Maybe as the big anniversaries go by you might decide to retrace those steps again and if God spare us, we'll still be here.

Cheers,

Mick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed here for one night in December 2012 and chose it after reading other reviews on here.

Mick welcomed us with tea and delicious homemade muffins and gave us some great recommendations as to where we should go, and also very helpfully a map! Our room was large, well furnished and spotlessly clean and the books and magazines were a real thoughtful touch.

As other reviewers have mentioned Mick very kindly offered to drive us into town and pick us up afterwards - definitely above and beyond the call of duty and very generous.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I don't think I ever got chance to tell Mari just how amazing her homemade bread, jam and marmalade was - I hope you read this at some point!

I'm so pleased that we stayed here - the name Irish Home is definitely true, we were heartily welcomed into Mick and Mari's beautiful home and it was a pleasure to meet such lovely people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendine, Owner at Glendine Irish Home, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Hi Kate & Helen,
It's lovely to hear that you got home safe and well. I hope you enjoyed you few days of 'Pete McCarthy revisited'. Mari has also read your very kind review of your stay with us and is delighted that you enjoyed it so much.
I hope that you have a very merry Christmas and a happy New Year for 2013, especially for Kate!!
Cheers,
Mick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We feel so fortunate to have found Glendine Irish Home B & B in Clonakilty for a two night introduction to West Cork. Mari & Michael Hanly truly know how to make a "home from home" experience for visitors. We loved our very comfortable room with views from two large windows, the spacious bathroom, the inviting sunroom, and the location - surrounded by pastures and fields, but an easy, safe, well-lighted walk to all the pubs, restaurants, shops, and attractions in Clonakilty town center. The breakfast choices were incredible - thin, delicious pancakes with lemon juice and sugar, creamy porridge, delicious eggs, grainy bread and brown bread, and Mari's homemade jams and marmalade. The Hanly's are committed to running an environmentally friendly home with an emphasis on locally sourced food and sustainable practices, which attracted us from the start, and experiencing their efforts inspired us to re-double our own at home .
We have been telling people that staying at Glendine really helped us get a feel for the history and tradition ( not to mention the beauty) of West Cork - we would return in an instant!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanandRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews