We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located on the edge of town with views of the bay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clonakilty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay View House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nicely located on the edge of town with views of the bay.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spent a night recently at Bay View House with a small group of friends and found the experience well up to the B&B standards in Ireland. The host(s) were welcoming and easy going, had a good knowledge of the local attractions and were willing to venture recommendations on places to eat and drink. On this occasion both were welcome at the end of a long day travelling and as it turned out right on the money. The dinner venue suggest was a great experience and probably helped us avoid a poor alternative.

Room Tip: First choice should be a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rintoul353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
106
209
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here for a weekend this summer and I thoroughly enjoyed. Bay view is conveniently located on peaceful road within walking distance of clonakilty town. This gorgeous family home has beautifully maintained gardens and our twin room was nothing short of 5 star luxury. Breakfast was lovely and the sunroom is perfect place to chill out and relax. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

From the time we arrived - August 2013 - we were greeted warmly like old friends. Nothing was too much trouble and the rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The breakfasts were fantastic and it was no trouble to have an earlier one on the morning we had to leave. Nice views and so close to town. Would recommend Bay View house to anyone and everyone. Our daughter has stayed here on different occasions and is always treated as we were. Thanks Miriam and Noreen for your warm and friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tussle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The BayView is just out of town, a three minute walk, and has a large field of lush green grass with cows between the house and the bay. To sit in the sunroom and look out at that view, over a welcoming cup of tea, was a pleasure.

The rooms provided a generous amount of sleep options - the twin room had 2 doubles, and the double room had a queen and 2 singles - and the double room had a view out over the cows and the bay. With lots of decoration and ornamentation, and hostesses very willing to share their local knowledge, there was plenty to engage you.

Their recommendation for dinner was a very good one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The staff were warm and courteous, always willing to please. Breakfasts range from porridge with special "cream" to a full traditional Irish breakfast to fresh fruit and yogurt, Rooms were always made up right away. Upstairs and down stairs lounges.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_M_Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

What a great family the Driscolls are,this really is home from home.We stayed here a few years ago and decided to come again in September.Their success is due to hard work and attention, to detail.The house and garden are a delight and the help in finding places to visit and stay in other areas are second to none.We will certainly return next time we visit the country.Also the full irish breakfast is amazing cant wait to go back,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topchef37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have often stayed here in the past and our most recent visit was from the 8th to the 11th September 2013. It is a very efficient and professionally run B&B, spotlessly clean with a very friendly family running it, Tony, Noreen and Miriam O'Driscoll who show kindness and courtesy to their guests.

The room was very good indeed, very well furnished, spacious with en suite and very peaceful.

The breakfast was tasty and generous. The daily rate was very good.

Bayview is on the edge of Clonakilty town giving a guest a quiet environment (no town noise) but still having the town, its restaurants, Model Village, pubs and shops in close walking proximity. Clonakilty is well situated for trips to Cork city, Kinsale, Courtmacsherry, west Cork, county Kerry and Cork airport and Cork ferry services

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the house have a view to the south over Clonakilty Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajodonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
2.4 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
2.0 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bay View House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Bay View House Old Timoleague Road, Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clonakilty Bay (tidal estuary), green pastures and rolling hills provide a magnificent backdrop to Bay View House. Located less than five minutes street lit stroll from the town centre, this stylish bed & breakfast combines classic elegance, a relaxed atmosphere and good old fashioned courtesy. In summer, our gardens render a great lingering spot where guests can enjoy the evening scent of roses and freshly mowed lawns.Avail of complimentary WiFi service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing