We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of An Sugan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
An Sugan
Ranked #12 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We had a lovely meal in An Sugan this weekend.

We shared the Clonakilty pudding starter which was a lovely mix of white and black pudding. A must for any tourist when in Clonakilty.

I had the mixed seafood in the filo bowl which was really nice and my fiancée had the seasbass which was even nicer.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murpmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thanks you so much for your review and kind comments.
We really appreciate you taking out the time to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

Comfortable bed clean room and spacious! Breakfast was a big let down. Myself and my partner both ordered a full Irish. I got scrambled egg instead of the fried egg. The scrambled egg was awful and both plates were swimming in grease it was like the frying pan was just turned over completely on the plate.. I ate half a rasher and couldn't look at the rest. My partner ate his but only because he was hungry! For me I simply thought it looked disgusting. I have stayed here before and had no complaints so maybe it was a different chef. Overall very disappointing.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maireadsemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Please accept our sincere apologies.
We take this very serious and will look into the matter raised and make sure it will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I completely agree with the previous review which was also my experience. Being a solo traveller it's always difficult to find somewhere which won't charge you over the top. At €30 for a lovely single room with a breakfast included, I felt it was really good value for money. The waitress who showed me to my room was very friendly and helpful, found a place for my bike in the foyer and happy to search through her pamphlets for a pub with music for the evening. I decided also to have my evening meal there, as the atmosphere in the restaurant was warm and comfortable and the food was delicious. I would recommend it to anyone going through Clonakilty and I also must add that I loved the artwork on the walls, fabulous !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
And thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Hope to see you again soon some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We booked 2 nights B+B at An Sugan and were really impressed with the gorgeous rooms, great shower, crisp white bedlinen and fab location,all this for €35 B+B per nite! the breakfast is to die for especially the Irish Mist porridge+ scrambled eggs+ smoked salmon. Previous comments on staff were certainly not our experience with everyone being friendly+ helpful. Would definitely recommend the restaurant the atmosphere, food and portions were superb. Will be back!

Room Tip: The bedroom windows are single-glazed so if you have trouble sleeping ask for a room at the back as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosieposie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your comments. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Went here on a friends recommendation on tuesday last. Two non Irish waitresses were on and one with the long black hair was so rude. She didn't smile once and kept scowling at where we left our buggy. We ordered 2 simple sandwiches but it took almost 50minutes for them to arrive.. Seriously it was a toasted sandwich and a beef bap-which were lovely in fairness. We were there with a 2year old so were hopin for quicker service but didn't receive any explanation for the delay.. We won't be rushing back!
Service and staff friendliness so disappointing!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Tigger078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

An Sugan was a lovely bed and breakfast to stay in, the room was lovely, and the b&b was very central, it was very reasonably priced and the breakfast the next morning was lovely. A lively place to stay in Clonakilty.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We went to An Sugan for a drink this afternoon. My girlfriend was feeling a bit peckish and decided to order a portion of fries. We had to ask to be served and the female waitress was not one bit friendly. After eventually ordering from the barman, who was polite in fairness, and paying the three euro, the sauce having been delivered to our table, we were then informed by an obnoxious female staff member, who appeared to be the manager, that they were unable up serve us a portion of fries as they only do so with a full meal. This did not make sense to us and left us completely in disbelief. Hopefully other visitors to Ireland will not judge Ireland on the lack of a cead mile failte in An Sugan. Just to reiterate the barman was sound, but the female manager was very rude.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony121London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
402 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Sugan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Sugan

Address: 41 Wolfe Tone Street | Co.Cork, Clonakilty 00000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range: £59 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — An Sugan 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Georgian property, once home to poetess Mary Jane Irwin, An Sugan is a family-run guesthouse and seafood restaurant. Located at the heart of the historic city of Clankilty, the guesthouse is 10 minutes' walk from Clonakilty Museum, which boasts a display of Michael Collins memorabilia. Each room at An Sugan feature a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities. The furniture is chic and modern and guests can enjoy a stylish environment. Yoghurt, cereals, and Full Irish breakfast are also included in the room rate. Next door to the guesthouse, the An Sugan seafood restaurant boasts an award-winning menu which is designed to complement fresh fish delivered daily and local produce. Guests can enjoy the West Cork Seafood Pie and Traditional Fresh Fish & Hand-Cut Potato Chips. The restaurant also offers lighter options and home-made desserts. 5 Km from the property, Inchydoney offers beautiful beaches and scenic views of the sea. Whale watching, fishing and surfing are amongst the activities available in this seaside town. Templebryan Stone Circle, also known as the Druid Temple, is 2 and half km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your An Sugan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing