We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay”
Review of Duvane House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clonakilty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duvane House
Owens Cross Roads,AL
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Must Stay”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

You will be in for a treat at Duvane House. It's a charming Victorian home built by a bishop in 1780 as his summer home. Gorgeous antique furniture. A delightful, chatty, elderly hostess. She recommended O'Donovan's for dinner- good choice. Indulge in the signature beer of County Cork- Murphy's Stout. Stop at Imperial Hotel bar for nightcap. Our traveling companion's relative built the fireplace.
You'll be pleased with Duvane House.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
co cork
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed at Duvane House for one night in their lovely clean family room with our 2 kids . We had a real enjoyable stay & our hosts were very nice & welcoming especially to our kids who even got to collect freshly laid eggs in the morning for our breakfast !! Its a beautiful B&B, a short drive to the town centre with the lovely Inchydoney beach nearby. We hope to get back again soon !

Room Tip: The family room is lovely quite spacious room with ensuite situated at the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitameade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our party of seven adults stayed for four nights over Easter. Noreen and Rensie are very warm and welcoming hosts and the farmhouse is clean, warm and very comfortable. It also has a sitting room just for guests, which is lovely. We arrived late afternoon and having shown us to our delightful rooms, Noreen rustled up tea and homemade fruit bread and joined us for a chat about Clonakility. My 86-year old mother was with us and had enjoyed many holidays in Clon as young girl as her mother came from the town. She was soon swapping stories and Noreen gave some very helpful tips on contacting people who might remember my mother's relations. Breakfast at Duvane House is amazing and even our daughters (22,20 and 18) were happy to get up early for the delicious homemade muesli and traditional Irish cooked breakfast. If you want to experience true Irish hospitality then a visit to Duvane House is a must; Noreen and Rensie are such kind and welcoming hosts that it is like visiting much-loved grandparents. A wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welovemadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Lovely old farm house, it is an old house but it is, warm and clean with a very welcoming host and a great little breakfast. It is located just outside Clonakilty, our taxi ride home in the evening was €8

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claralaralara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were having trouble with our phone, so I went to the Tourist office in Cobh and asked them to call the B& B we wanted to stay at (we usually plan as we go). I pointed to the wrong one in the book, but it was a great mistake! Noreen greeted us warmly and asked about our day. We were offered a choice of rooms and once we chose one, we chatted, had tea and discussed where to go for the evening. She gave us directions and told us where to park so that our car would not get locked in the church parking lot! Breakfast the next morning was terrific! They even make their own delicious honey! The room was spacious and the bathroom was comfortable. The house and surrounding gardens are full of charm and character. We will definitely stay here again and send others Noreen's way!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Our party of three adults and one child stayed at the lovely Duvane House for one night in July 2012 on an overnight visit to Clonakilty. We chose this B&B because of the promise of a rustic, period farmhouse set in amongst pretty gardens and we certainly weren't disappointed. The house is full of character and the bedrooms are extremely comfortable. Added to this, Noreen gave us such a warm welcome I felt like I was visiting my own family. We really appreciated how our four year old was fussed over and given a personal tour of the farmyard. There's a great choice for breakfast and we enjoyed the chance to try out fresh local produce -- and got loads of tips on where to pick up our own supply of fish, veg and brown bread during our self-catering stay in Skibbereen the following week. All in all, I'd highly recommended a stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room on the first landing to the left and loved it. The beds were so comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed two nights at Duvane House and were given a very warm welcome from Noreen who is very friendly and chatty and goes out of her way to help. As we were the only guests staying at that time we really were well looked after. The bedroom was very spacious and comfortable and we were also offered a choice of room. The breakfast was also very good and we were offered a variety of choice. An excellent choice for anyone staying in this area.

Room Tip: The back room with two beds faces the back of the farm so for a better view the front of the house w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanieL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
3.3 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
405 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
382 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
1.8 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
146 reviews
1.9 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duvane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duvane House

Property: Duvane House
Address: Ballyduvane, Clonakilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Clonakilty
Hotel Class:4 star — Duvane House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing