We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Eggs Benedict EVER!”
Review of Cucina - CLOSED

Cucina
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Eggs Benedict EVER!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stumbled upon Cucina one morning when we had showed up for the local market WAY too early (darn guide book). One of our party hadn't eaten breakfast and the rest of us figured we'd just get coffee. Well when I saw eggs benedict on the menu, I couldn't resist. So glad I did not. They were AMAZING! The bacon was so crispy and light (not fatty at all) and the eggs - I'm not even sure how to describe them - fluffy?

If you go, stop and read the framed magazine article in the hallway by the bathrooms. The owner was trained at Cordon Bleu and has traveled the world cooking for celebrities, princes and all manner of people. It's the kind of thing most places would brag about - they stuck it back by the bathroom. The owner was a delight, obviously knew her regulars. I would have loved to stay and here more about her adventures.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azdesertdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“get the eggs benedict”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

really really really loved the bacon that the chef did with the eggs benedict. please keep it up i will be back next year!!!!!! unfrotunitly i am back in nz now so cant pop in on a saturday morning again for awhile.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fifthfloor_ohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb food and welcoming staff”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Excellent quality and served with a smile, the crab salad was delicious, I have eaten here twice and will come again

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Boscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bucket of coffee”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Had a cappuccino here this week - well that is what it was called on the menu. However a cappuccino is a shot of espresso topped with frothy milk served in a normal sized coffee cup. This abomination was about half a pint of brown sludgy stuff topped with some milk froth served in what looked like a yellow bucket which was so heavy to lift that one needed the muscles of a boxer to lift it comfortably.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballinpittle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointing drop in quality”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Dropped in for a cappuccino and a hot chocolate as Cucina has always been the best but something has gone wrong here now. Coffee served in a massive 'java' branded cup. Too large and needed a bit of muscle to even lift it. Hot chocolate was tepid and lacked any flavour. Constructive criticism to staff member when we paid was met with zero interest. Lots of competition in Kinsale these days so we won't be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cucina also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing