We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a warm welcome, great food and excellent views.”

The Bulman Bar & Restaurant Kinsale
Ranked #7 of 72 Restaurants in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$42
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a warm welcome, great food and excellent views.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A little out of town but the service, food and views are well worth it. Small but personal with a great choice of food and excellent specials. When the weather is good, sitting out in the sunshine with a beer or glass of wine if perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    184
    46
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food! Great service!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Cycled to the Bulman on a warm day. Great views from the front with a refreshing drink! I had half lobster which was delicious and my partner had the tuna steak with wasabi mash which was huge and delicious! He asked for the fish well done and it was cooked to perfection. The staff asked us were we OK to wait a little longer while the fish cooked and that was no problem. The lady serving us brought us complimentary soup and bread to keep us going while we waited which I thought was a really nice gesture and showed how attentive they were. Can't wait to visit again. Brilliant food, fabulous views and super staff!

Helpful?
Thank Lori115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely food and setting and service”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

In my view this restaurant deserves to be higher up the ranking for places to eat in Kinsale. We generally go at lunchtime and the place is always buzzing. In season it is sometimes a challenge to get a table but worth the wait if the upstairs is not open. Small car park down a very narrow road. Food is excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We sat downstairs in the pub and though we had to wait for a table, it was totally worth the wait! The food was absolutely delicious and there is a good selection including specials which change regularly. Great selection of local beers and ciders as well and the staff were very friendly. I would definitely choose The Bulman over other restaurants in Kinsale. Looking forward to my next visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in Ireland!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our friends recommended this place so we braved the long walk from downtown Kinsale. It was wonderful!! No room downstairs in the pub so upstairs we went with spectacular views. The sun came out for us. The batter on the fish was so tasty with no greasy feel at all. The fries were skinny and cooked to perfection. The servers were basically absent but friendly when they did appear and we really didn't want for anything. The long walk back was needed after we cleaned our plates!! A must do if you are in Kinsale.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bulman Bar & Restaurant Kinsale also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to The Bulman Bar & Restaurant Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing