We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bulman Bar & Restaurant Kinsale

The Bulman Bar & Restaurant Kinsale
Ranked #6 of 73 Restaurants in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$42
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a lovely lunch here, in the sunshine yesterday..oysters, guinness, fish and chips…it's in a beautiful spot by the water's edge and good for children to play on the little beach. Easy to keep an eye on them from chairs on the edge of the quay.
It can be very busy and you may be wise to book a table.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank effie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    177
    44
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Seafood chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Always go this pub when in kinsale, it's a lovely walk from the centre.

Great murphys and even better sea food chowder. On the last day of our holiday we had lunch here, the fish and chips were gorgeous,a must place to eat

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank molliemo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a warm welcome, great food and excellent views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A little out of town but the service, food and views are well worth it. Small but personal with a great choice of food and excellent specials. When the weather is good, sitting out in the sunshine with a beer or glass of wine if perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food! Great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Cycled to the Bulman on a warm day. Great views from the front with a refreshing drink! I had half lobster which was delicious and my partner had the tuna steak with wasabi mash which was huge and delicious! He asked for the fish well done and it was cooked to perfection. The staff asked us were we OK to wait a little longer while the fish cooked and that was no problem. The lady serving us brought us complimentary soup and bread to keep us going while we waited which I thought was a really nice gesture and showed how attentive they were. Can't wait to visit again. Brilliant food, fabulous views and super staff!

Helpful?
Thank Lori115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely food and setting and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

In my view this restaurant deserves to be higher up the ranking for places to eat in Kinsale. We generally go at lunchtime and the place is always buzzing. In season it is sometimes a challenge to get a table but worth the wait if the upstairs is not open. Small car park down a very narrow road. Food is excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bulman Bar & Restaurant Kinsale also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to The Bulman Bar & Restaurant Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing