We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find”
Review of San Antonio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Antonio
Ranked #12 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bucks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what a find”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First time travelling through ireland arrived in kinsale exhausted found jimmy at san antonio by chance and wow what find
A lovely welcome and a beautiful house full of character lovely comfortable clean rooms and jimmy,s knowledge of the town and area was second to none even found a pub that played music would definetly return and would recommend in fact made it a very difficult act to follow on the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
72
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

San Antonio was a bit of a challenge to find in Kinsale with the interesting street layout throughout the town. After stopping to ask a local for help, we eventually found the B&B where the owner Jimmy greeted us warmly. San Antonio is in a 200-some-year-old house that has a lot of character. Regardless of it's age, the house doesn’t feel creepy, or worn at all. There was a nice remodeled bathroom attached to our room and huge windows in our room overlooking a quiet side street. The really nice thing is that it was only maybe 3 blocks away from the town center. Jimmy offered great information and advice on the area and looked up local music for the evening. The breakfast was spectacular. We stayed a few nights and while we were out for the day, Jimmy straightened our room, made the bed, replaced the towels, etc. Although we were not expecting that, it was nice to return to a clean room. There was wi-fi provided, but it was a bit spotty in our room. We felt welcomed throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Jimmie was just outstanding in taking care of our family. He was so kind and gracious from beginning to end. Rooms were very clean and the bathrooms very clean. I highly recommend. I would love to return one day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gp0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abersoch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Jimmie is a relaxed and charming host. San Antonio's is in 'the' perfect location to enjoy Kinsale, tucked away in a peaceful back water with a one minute stroll to the bustle of the town. Five of us spent four nights at Jimmi's whilst competing in the Irish Dragon National Championships at Kinsale Yacht Club. Breakfast & home baked soda bread is the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our fourth year with Jimmie. We love Kinsale and Jimmie is the ultimate host. Great breakfasts--ask for the porridge with Bailey's!! The central location means you can walk anywhere--restaurants, pubs, shopping or the harbor. There is a small parking lot in front of the B&B adequate for 3 maybe 4 small cars. We park ours and generally leave it the whole time we are in Kinsale. Jimmie is very knowledgeable about the area and what is going on. We always look forward to our visits back to Kinsale and the San Antonio is always our B&B of choice

Room Tip: Book early or you may be doing a lot of stair climbing!! lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and two grown children traveled through Ireland and stayed at the San Antonio B&B in Mid-May for two nights. It was our first time to stay in a B&B and truly did not know what to expect. The owner and operator Jimmie Conron greeted us as if we were best of friends and welcomed us as same into his home. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. We ate breakfast both mornings, which was very good... particularly the bread. We honestly feel we have gained a friend in Jimmie and will plan to return. Since we made it across the entire southern Ireland region from east to west in what seemed to be a rushed period of time, next time we will stay longer to just chill and enjoy the friendly Kinsale atmosphere! What a great experience!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cooksey280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This charming B & B was certainly the best of our trip in Ireland - stayed with Jimmy for 2 nights. We have to agree with the wonderful reviews published on Jimmy's San Antonio. Upon arrival, we were treated to a hot pot of tea in the living room. The breakfasts were super, with the soda bread being the best we had on our trip. Jimmy is helpful, without being intrusive. He's a natural at his chosen profession. Would recommend this B & B wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
897 reviews
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio

Property: San Antonio
Address: San Antonio 1 Friars Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
San Antonio Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing