We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome”
Review of Jo's Cafe & Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jo's Cafe & Rooms
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I had a lovely stay at Jo's in August. My room was simple, clean, and comfortable, and the delightful cafe downstairs gave me a good excuse to have a pastry each morning. The location was perfect for exploring Kinsale.

I want to thank Jo especially for her hospitality. My luggage was late in joining me, and Jo kindly lent me pajamas so that I wouldn't have to sleep in my travel clothes. When you're just beginning an international trip and are feeling somewhat disconcerted as I was, a little bit of kindness goes a long way. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    11
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
13
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Jo's rooms are very modest; however, the location simply can't be beat in Kinsale. Also, Jo is a very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are over the cafe, and the aroma of fresh baked goods early in the morning is a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Perfect location to walk to all the sights in Kinsale. Rooms were comfortable, clean, basic, and a good value. Jo is charming and runs a lovely cafe for breakfast and lunch. Enjoyed scones and croissants after a restful night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandM838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We've just spent a week with Jo and her staff and had a wonderful time. The service was always friendly and the quality of both the lodging and the Cafe was exceptional. The room was immaculate as was the bath. The mattress was excellent and a real help to a sore back. We took advantage of the ability to walk to stores and events in downtown and enjoyed the view of downtown from the large window in our room. The cafe relies on local produce and meats as much as possible and the results are wonderful. It was great to be able to walk back for lunch and maybe a nap. We loved Kinsale and will always come back to Jo's. P.S- the Chicken Caprese is fantastic

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This review is for the rooms at Jo's only. I have posted another review for the cafe.

The rooms are dank, dirty, outdated, cold, and in disrepair. The shower was clogged, toilet did not flush well, bed was very old and uncomfortable. It was the kind of place where you did not want to take off your socks because the floor was so dirty.

I gave a 2 rating simply because it was so cheap. Had the price been any higher, I would have given a 1.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adampietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eire
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in Jo's in January. Fantastic location, room was spotless and very adequate for what we needed. The cafe is amazing with the most delicious home baked goods. Had the best hot chocolate ever there! Jo is so welcoming and we could have sat in the cafe all day watching the world go by! We left a few pounds heavier as Jo' s baking is hard to resist. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed in April 2011 with a friend. We were the only one's for that night, so Jo was kind enough to offer us each our own room for the same as sharing a room. Comfortable rooms, especially after a long day walking around and getting lost and driving down a sidewalk trying to find Charles Fort. Close to many restaurants and pubs.

Jo also had 2 lovely dogs on premise, but were outside. Jo was super friendly. Her cafe located adjacent to the rooms is lovely. Had a great selection of baked goods and really good coffee. Will stay again. Thanks Jo!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julievann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierneys Guesthouse
Tierneys Guesthouse
#32 of 50 in Kinsale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#13 of 50 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jo's Cafe & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jo's Cafe & Rooms

Property: Jo's Cafe & Rooms
Address: 55 Main Street, Kinsale, Ireland (Formerly Kinsale Arms)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jo's Rooms are clean, relaxed and comfortable. Our central location on Main Street Kinsale allows guests to stroll home after an evening enjoying the many Gourmet Restaurants and lively bars.Breakfast is available in Jos cafe every morning. A wide selection of scones are baked each morning and served with our homemade raspberry jam.All of our cakes are baked by Jo here at the café. Using her grandmothers and her mother’s receipts along with her own, Jo produces a sumptuous selection of baked cakes, cookies and treats daily to suit every mood. We have an extensive coffee and hot chocolate menu along with Baldwins Real Irish Farmhouse Ice-cream. IF your looking for edible delights Jo's is the place to visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing