We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and in desperate need of a make over.”

Kinsale Holiday Village
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kinsale Holiday Village
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The accommodation was very basic, in the living room the TV was very old and the furniture was falling to bits. The bathroom was very dated so appeared very old and dirty. The bedrooms were fairly comfortable but seemed quite dusty and also in need of up dating. There were no towels supplied so you would need to take some. It was quite close (5 min walk) to the lidl supermarket, but if you wanted to venture further there is a very very steep hill to walk down to get into the town center. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berts2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

Spent three nights at Kinsale Holiday Village.

The accomodation is basic; from the quality of the furniture, fittings and kitchen equipment. Poor quality bedding and linens further highlight the lack of investment in the properties here. Depsite these issues, the rental cost was at the higher end of the scale for Kinsale self-catering accomodation.

The home had been cleaned before arrival but due to the age of the property and obvious wear and tear, no amount of cleaning was going to make the place feel clean. One issue that comes to mind was the lack of any towels other than the 4(!) hand towels for a house that sleeps potentially 5 people. So bring your own!

It is located up about 5 minutes walk to Kinsale town, however their is a steep hill.

I would not return to the Kinsale Holiday Village.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep after 5am bring a eye mask - no black out curtains in the bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Need_a_bed_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Cottage had everything u could need just one downside the patio area was not emclosed so little one kept escaping

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazza2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights as a way to celebrate the end of a degree with the rest of my class mates! Had a fantastic time, the house's are lovely and comfortable, TV reception was perfect for when we where been lazy! Super short walk to the town - it is up bit of a steep hill and may be difficult for someone in a wheelchair - but unfortunately so is most of Kinsale (and Ireland for that matter). Great place to stay - Rooms are comfortable - beds are cosy and clean! Bathrooms are a bit dated and could do with a really good scrub (Which had to be done before we used them), excellent value for money! Would definitely stay there again!!! The only problem - No internet access on site!

Room Tip: Book Early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tara20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Recently stayed in the Holiday village. The houses have been upgraded since the last time we stayed there a year ago and certainly have a very comfortable, homely feel about them. They were warm and comfortable with all our needs catered for. Certainly very clean and the manager was very helpful if we needed anything. Kinsale is a beautiful village with lots of restaurants/bars etc and as it is only a short 5/6 minutes down to the town the houses are in an ideal location

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amac05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The Holiday Village bills itself as luxury self catering accomodation but it is a far cry from luxury 2010 style. This complex was built in the 1980's and the house that my family was in appeared to have changed little since then. Living room had an old style TV without a DVD player /VCR and the TV reception was appalling despite being advertised as Multi Channel. Most of the channels had 'snow' and 'waves' and the few that were there were intermittant. While this might not be a problem with older children for younger ones like mine it was dreadful. The kitchen was extremely dated and all of the white goods were rusting and appeared dirty - in fact they werent on the inside but very unappealing looking. Bedrooms were fine if basic and only 2 hand towels provided which was awkward. Bathrooms were old fashioned and in general very dated. Although the house had been cleaned thoroughly on the inside it was not well kept outside and due to its age no amount of cleaning was going to make it 'feel' clean.

The distance to Kinsale town is said to be 5 minutes walk but what is not mentioned is the fact that there is an EXTREMELY steep hill and there is no way I would be able to push the buggy up or feel safe walking down that hill at any time. I therefore was in the car constantly when I had not expected to be. Could not sleep well as curtains so thin the light came shining through at 5am.

The town of Kinsale was vibrant and lively and I would defintely go back - but not to the Holiday village. They really need to spend some money and bring it into the new millenium. There is nothing 1980's about the price which I felt was steep but having been there I realise it is not worth half of it. I assume they have decided to aim for the stag/hen market and the place has all of the look of it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
978 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dempsey's Hostel
Dempsey's Hostel
#3 of 6 in Kinsale
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinsale Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinsale Holiday Village

Address: Kinsale Holiday Village | Co. Cork, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In keeping with the elegant character of the oldest town in Ireland, Kinsale Holiday Village offers luxury self-catering holiday homes, centered around a spacious courtyard on the grounds of Kinsale's old railway station. The houses are just 5 minutes from the centre of this historical town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing