We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kinsale Holiday Village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinsale Holiday Village

Kinsale Holiday Village
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kinsale Holiday Village
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kinsale Holiday Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Location, location, location. Great location, short walk to centre of town, Lidl and Supervalu within walking distance of the house. I agree the houses are a bit dated. However, we holidayed with 3 children aged 5, 2 and 8mths. The house being a little dated was perfect as you were not worried about the children breaking things or destroying new expensive furniture, etc. The house was very clean and suited our needs perfectly. Some great places to bring kids within an hours drive, Trabolgon, Leahys Open Farm, Foto Wildlife Park, Clonakilty Model Railway Village and Incydonney Beach, Kilbrittan Whale and Playground, Kilbrittan Maize Maze, Kayaking and sailing for young kids in Courtmacsherry, Roscarberry Smugglers Cove and Lagoon Activities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    11
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We went on holidays with our 6 month old baby. We prearranged a travel cot and highchair. We were disappointed we didn't bring our own travel cot as the one supplied was broken and torn and the highchair was rusty and dirty. The houses themselves are in a good location and are well equipped. However they look a bit tired especially the bathrooms. Our duvet cover had an old stain. There was also a transient smell of sewerage which we located at the front door. So the houses may have a plumbing problem. These houses could be fantastic if given a bit of a makeover as their location is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livelytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked four houses for a family reunion. We were able to invite relatives from all over Cork and laid on a buffet for about forty people. The owner, Ann, couldn't do enough for us and was really good about the fact that we moved all of the furniture and kitchen equipment from three of the houses into beast so we could cater for all of our guests.

The houses are not the newest but have everything you could want for a short break and are located close to the main town. the hill is very steep and difficult as we had someone in his 80s with us. however, we took a cab back to the village and it only cost €5 so no complaints there.

We would highly recommend this location. We were able to go into Cork and Blarney in about half an hour and also took a drive to Bantry Bay one afternoon, a lovely drive. Ann is welcoming and eager to please. we did have a problem with a broken shower which couldn't be fixed in time. instead of making us move, Ann simply gave us the key to an empty house next door for our last morning. she was arranging a repair for the day we left so should be ok now.

Room Tip: The houses are all identical, down to the pictures on the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I loved the apartments. Very clean and extremely handy to the town and shops. Our dog was much welcomed by Anne who was a great host. We'll be back soon enough. We went for 4 nights to celebrate our anniversary and my wife couldn't believe how goreous the scenery and town is. We ate at Man Fridays for a great feed overlooking a magnificent vista. Can't recommend these apartments enough for value, cleanliness and friendliness.

Room Tip: The short cut to from the town involves a fairly steep hill. Pace yourself and you'll be grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We booked a house for a week at the end of June 2013 for a group sailing in the Sovereign Cup. It was fantastic value between five, and they were really flexible about arrival and departure dates which was great with traveling over with the boat and because the event didn't finish until Saturday.

The location just outside the town meant it was lovely and quiet (despite the houses being full of sailors all week!) The walk into town was short and even the hill on the way home wasn't too painful!

The house itself has everything you need, we even managed to rustle up a full roast dinner one night! It's not luxurious but that wasn't what we were looking for when we booked.

Ann the manager was lovely and really helpful, arranging keys for us when we were arriving late after the ferry.

We'll definitely stay here again when we come over for the Sovereign Cup in 2015.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We booked in for 3-nights the end of August and were excited for the stay. Received an email this week canceling or reservation citing a booking error. Despite previously exchanging emails, deposit and confirmation of our booking no further explanation was given what caused the booking error.

The owner did offer to book us in for some other weekend, but as we are traveling for a wedding that is no help.

The weekend of our trip is a very busy (possibly why are booking was cancelled) weekend in kinsale and now we're left with flights booked, hire car sorted and no where to sleep.

The cottages may be good, but I suggest you triple check your booking.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolly_in_Archway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moyvane, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Excellent location for a group weekend away. Houses were clean and well kept. Owner Ann was the highlight of the trip, a lovely woman and great fun. She gave great advice on good places to eat, socialise etc. Only a short walk from the town centre, down a steep hill. Lovely view over the town of kinsale.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieGalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.5 mi away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kinsale Holiday Lodges
Kinsale Holiday Lodges
#6 of 7 in Kinsale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierneys Guesthouse
Tierneys Guesthouse
#34 of 55 in Kinsale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinsale Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinsale Holiday Village

Property: Kinsale Holiday Village
Address: Kinsale Holiday Village | Co. Cork, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In keeping with the elegant character of the oldest town in Ireland, Kinsale Holiday Village offers luxury self-catering holiday homes, centered around a spacious courtyard on the grounds of Kinsale's old railway station. The houses are just 5 minutes from the centre of this historical town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing