We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is 1st Class”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Head of Kinsale
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Service, golf, food, rooms.. you name it. It was a blast staying there and I could not recommend it more. Food was outstanding (probably the most 'American' menu we found during our week stay in Ireland) -

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ZonABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We both played golf here and enjoyed dinner here. The beautiful scenery and challenge of the course beats Pebble Beach, in our opinion. Every morsel of dinner was extraordinary. Truly amazing! Each of the four of us dining were blown away by the quality of each dish.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 7226sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I'm not sure how this can be anything but number one! The hotel is beautifully situated overlooking the water, cliffs and golf course. Our room was large, well equipped and very luxurious. The staff was friendly. You are isolated at this location so be aware that you are most likely confined to the hotel for food too... high quality but not inexpensive. The terrace is wonderful for lunch and an afternoon drink.

The golf course is a truly spectacular setting, challenging, beautifully maintained and worth the price!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had morning open during our stay in Kinsale and decided to explore a bit. We heard about Old Head Kinsale and thought we'd drive out to see it. What a treasure. Love the views from the cliffs and then went down to the beach for a picnic. Most people just breeze through the town of Kinsale and never get to the Old Head. So glad we got out of town and found it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BobB3664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Not too often you can rate everything about a place as excellent. Old Head is one of them. From the very first sighting of the golf course everything is WOW. The location is stunning with the golf course sitting at the end of the peninsular. You are greeted at the entrance and directed to the car park where you are meet. Bags and golf clubs disappear only to reappear in your room and at the bag drop after check in. We decided to have a caddy - Brian choose to carry both our golf bags no mean feat around Old Head. The course is amazing and Brian made it a pleasure to play that we will never forget. Restaurant and food are amazing with spectacular views. The rooms are quiet, beautifully decorated have all amenities. A must for golfers but can be enjoyed by everyone who enjoys wonderful scenery.

Room Tip: Golfers get a caddy recommend Brian. Be ready to be stunned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pommiegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is one hell of a spot, wonderful place. We went for the golf but couldn't play in the end due to injury. Instead we enjoyed the services at the hotel, where the food and was excellent, service very friendly (not at all stuck up as I had feared given the stature of the golf club).

We took a buggy round the course in the morning and it was spectacular - can't wait to return with my clubs.

Room Tip: We had suite 3 which was lovely. I'd imagine they are mostly similar, overlooking the 18th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ss7680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This gem is everything you might want when getting away from your hectic schedule. I am not a golfer but I wish I were when I visit this spectacular course and hotel. I walk the course with my friends that play golf and it truly is breath taking as well as being a challenging golf experience as it can get pretty beaten by the weather especially the winds. We have just spent two nights here and the weather was stunning, sunshine and a pleasant temperature. The team of people that run Old Head are friendly, professional and all go the extra mile to make your Old Head experience truly special and memorable for all the right reasons. The breakfast is good, the lunch menu has fantastic chowder, fish and chips or the the seafood platter and other good fare. The evening dining menu has a small but excellent choice of good seasonal mains. We had the lamb and also tried the lobster. Try the crumble its pretty good. Excellent wine list for any pocket. Did I say that we thought it was fabulous. Hope to return in a month or so. The rooms are very comfortable and cosy with truly the most amazing views.

Room Tip: Old Head closes for a few months over the winter when the weather closes in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aj2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
6.6 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
730 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
19.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Head of Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Head of Kinsale

Address: Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing