We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place to stay in Kinsale!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kinsale, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Grace655
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Kinsale!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A group of friends and I stay in The Anchorage every year for the May Bank holiday weekend. This is our 3rd year in a row going back and we wouldn't stay anywhere else! This house has it all and the letting agency couldn't be nicer to deal with. It's a perfect location, situated on the water and it's close enough to walk to Kinsale town.The house is constantly being improved and we will be booking again next year! Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house is perfect.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen512
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Kinsale...”
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This year was the second time we have stayed at the Anchorage, and it just gets better. The house itself is a fabulous mix of old and new which works really well. Very well appointed, immaculately clean and superbly situated at the water's edge in Summercove, it is perfect for active holidays (sailing, walking) or for just chilling out, lighting the fire and watching the tides come and go.

The facilities in the house include fast broadband and computing/printing facilities so if you need to keep in touch with the office it is very easy and convenient. Netflix in the bedrooms was a sure fire winner for teenage boys (although it made it harder to get them to sleep/wake!) The terrace and sun room are fantastic for entertaining and the well equipped kitchen made it easy to prepare meals when necessary.

The Bulman across the road is a fabulous pub: great atmosphere, friendly staff and good food. Kinsale, just a short walk along the lovely Scilly path, is full of interesting places to eat. Stop in The Spaniard on the way - another great favourite in our family.

The welcome and the service at the Anchorage are also top notch. I would highly recommend this holiday let to anyone who is looking for something really special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, right on the water
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy K
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Convenient, hassle free and enjoyable”
Reviewed 22 January 2012 for a stay in April 2011

I stayed at 'The Anchorage' for one week over Easter 2011 with my husband and teenage boys who were doing a sailing course in Kinsale. From the moment we booked our stay, I was delighted with the professionalism and level of service. I felt the management team valued my custom and did their very best to provide added value to me and my family. I was very impressed with the extra services they offered and friendly advice. The views from the balcony were second to none and watching my boys sailing from the comfort of The Anchorage was priceless. The location was fab and The Bulman pub right across the way from the back door really made the difference, the bar food there was reasonably priced and delicious and the teenagers even sat with us to listen to the trad music there which played most evenings- The Bulman is definitely one of the few real trad 'craic agus ceol' pubs left in Ireland - it most certainly left a lasting impression on me! The fact that the Anchorage is so modern in terms of technology really worked for us as a family- the teenagers were occupied in the evening on the computer or playing music and the television had Sky movies which we enjoyed watching as a family! I really couldn't criticize the management or the house, we all very much enjoyed ourselves and the kids are already looking forward to this years sailing course when they get to stay in 'the really cool gaf'. ! Overall , I would highly recommend The Anchorage to anybody, and I was particularly surprised at how well it worked out for us as a family staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AROUNDTHE...
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The house exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 11 January 2012 for a stay in May 2011

We stayed in the anchorage in Kinsale for a week in May with friends. The house exceeded our expectations, it is so luxurious and beautiful, you could easily tell it was recently upgraded and in perfect condition, clean, comfortable, fantastic location with breathtaking waterfront views. We had such a lovely week and can’t recommend highly enough and we hope to go back next summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the house itself
Liked least: We only stayed for a week, should have booked for longer!
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeamusCor...
Cork
1 review
“Fabulous house in a breathtaking Location”
Reviewed 4 January 2012 for a stay in November 2011

From the moment I set foot in this house I felt immediately at home . The location took my breath away . The Kitchen , Living room and the conservatory literally hang over the waters edge . This was fitting considering the main reason for my stay in Kinsale was a sailing course . Although the owners tell me the original house was built over 400 years ago , It is very tastefully fitted out comprehensively with all the 21st centuary essentials like fast broadband connectivity cable T.V and State of the art kitchen etc .The management of this home were very welcoming and helpful pointing me in the right direction to all that Kinsale has to offer. Literally thirty seconds walk from the house is the Bulman pub with Toddies restaurant upstairs . After a week in the Anchorage I felt totally relaxed . Five stars for The Anchorage . Hopefully I will be back next year .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Reviewed 17 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2011
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to apologise on behalf of the Anchorage and our management team for what clearly appears to have been a very disappointing stay for you and your guests. For us this is a first. This property has been completely renovated in the past six years. This renovation included new plumbing, heating, plastering and wiring as well as a new kitchen, bathrooms, wood burner, fireplaces and Aga. Only the very best quality, fixtures, appliances, tradesmen, interior designers and craftsmen were used in this renovation and no expense was spared. We have never received anything but glowing reports from all that have stayed and we pride ourselves on the many return guests we have had from all over the world, which is why we are taking this complaint so seriously. Let me assure you that we are fully committed to tackling every issue you raised. Please allow us to outline below the step we have taken.

Cleanliness: The property cleanliness is something that we tackled immediately on finding your complaint letter, which the Property Manager found an hour or so after your departure on the property computer. We take cleanliness very seriously which is why we have employed the most reputable cleaning company in the region to manage the cleaning of this property as well as the linen changeovers. We have consulted with them and shared your feedback on the six specific points you raised with regard to cleanliness (Rubbish bags Cleaners forgot to remove to the outside bins the two rubbish bags from the downstairs utility room after the property turnaround, floor cleanliness, spider web above built in fridge, BBQ cleanliness and kitchen cabinet interiors). We have put in place revised processes to ensure that these issues never reoccur. Thank you very much for highlighting these issues to us.

Responsiveness: We have also addressed the issue whereby you contacted the rental agent and did not get a suitable response. The rental agent is in fact only responsible for the rental of the property and the Property Manager, which each guest meets on arrival, is responsible for guest check in, house orientation, guest services throughout the stay and check out. The Property Manager’s mobile / cell number is always given to every guest on arrival and is available 24 * 7 for any issues / questions that guests may have with the property during their stay, as well as concierge services (babysitting, restaurant recommendations etc.) Clearly there was a communication issue here and we have addressed this with both the letting agency and the Property Manager. Again we thank you for this feedback.

In terms of “the kitchen appliances are super old”, as mentioned above, the kitchen and dining area have been completely modernised in recent years, with Italian marble tiling, with the latest and best of AEG, Liebherr and SMEG appliances throughout (The AEG fridge and the built in coffee machine were installed brand new out of the box the week before you arrived at a cost of €5000), the kitchen and furniture are all custom and handmade contemporary walnut and beach wood, crafted by expert craftsmen and hand fitted in the past four years. The crockey (Brown Thomas Home craft), the cutlery (knewbridge) and the wine glasses (John Rocca crystal collection) again were all purchased in recent years. So with that in mind we were honestly at a loss to understand what you meant by “the kitchen appliances are super old” until we spoke in person to the Property Manager and she informed us that you had pointed out a number of “cooking Pots”, two, that showed signs of wear and tear. Again we thank you for pointing this out and a new set of cooking wear was installed in the Kitchen immediately after your departure.
The Aga. The Aga does in fact work and is serviced, like clockwork, annually by a certified Aga fitter. The service record can be seen in the property kept in the drawer beside the Aga. It is however turned off annually during the months from April to October as it typically makes the kitchen too hot at that time of year (+30 degrees celcius). This is stated in the rental agreement signed by all guests before arrival. It is also stated in the guest information booklet in the property itself. There are seven other cooking hobs and three other ovens in the kitchen outside of the Aga, as well as a microwave but in saying that if a guest wishes to have the Aga turned on during their stay we would have no issue coming to some arrangement on request. There appears to have been a communication issue here which we have now brought to the attention of the Property Manager to ensure that this is explicitly stated to all guests on check in. Thank you for brining this to our attention.

Outside Seat Cover & blinds: The seat covers are stored under the stairs in a closet and should have been made available to you and the batteries for the remote control for the roof blinds have been replaced. We apologise for any inconvenience caused here. These items have now been added to the Property Manager’s check in list. Thank you for this feedback.

Cable TV: In terms of the cable TV system it is a Sky + HD world package (World package meaning every channel available to sky viewers) connected to a Samsung 40” flatscreen TV and bose home entertainment system that allows you to have multi room viewing to the other Samsung flat screen TV’s in the house as well affording guests the ability to link Ipad, Apple TV, Ipod etc. for multiroom viewing and audio. This was wired throughout the house as part of the renovation works in recent years. The Satellite package and equipment was installed less than twelve months ago. Unfortunately due to the proximity of the dish to the Ocean (10 feet) it does tend to get rusty and in heavy wind there can be some issues with the connection. There is very little we can do about this and can only hope that guests have fairer weather during their stay.

Overall we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at the Anchorage. We have taken on board and addressed your criticisms, feedback and opinions. We truly very much appreciate your evaluation. It will only stand to drive us further to improve standards and the consistency of our offering. We also ask that you contact the letting agency so that we can organise to make right on the costs you incurred on cleaning.

With best regards,
The Anchorage management team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin
Reviewed 16 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing