We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a lovely setting!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kinsale, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dermuthia
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a lovely setting!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We rented this house for a family reunion in November 2013. As we are all from the area we were already familiar with the outstanding beauty of Kinsale and the village of Summercove, and all the culture and entertainment the place has to offer. The Anchorage was perfect for our family get-together. The only negative point I would mention is that the renovated section of the house has quite thin walls and floors and from the master bedroom you can hear the noise from the guests walking around the rooms above you. But this was partly compensated by the soothing noise of the waves crashing against the rocks outside if you leave the master bedroom window open (even in mid November!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and modern facilities
Liked least: Bedrooms not soundproof
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Many thanks for your review and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the Anchorage was “Perfect” for your family reunion. We really appreciate you rating us with five stars on all criteria of ratings and stating that you would recommend the property to a friend this means a lot to us. We also appreciate your feedback on the walls and floor on the third floor. As you know the Anchorage spans 2750 sq ft over five levels and three floors. The first and second floor are solid stone and brick walls averaging between one and two feet thick, depending on where you are in the house. The ground floor kitchen area was actually built on the equivalent of an external marine pier due to the fact that it sits in the sea with the bay window hanging over the tide. There were 25 cement truck loads of cement poured under the kitchen as it’s foundation! This is quite unique and rarely found in homes today. The thickness of the walls and depth of the floors meant we actually had to put WIFI boosters on the ground floor to make sure that the WIFI was available all over the ground floor. The only rooms in the house that are not stone walled are in fact the two bedrooms on the third floor you mention where a standard stud wall was erected between the two rooms. This area represent approximately 350 sq ft of the entire property. The walls and floors in this area are of standard build quality and is the same stud wall and flooring construction you would find in any wood framed house built in Ireland over the past 50 years. I have double checked this again with our Architect Richard Rainey and Associates. The floors in these two rooms again are standard wooden floors overlaid with carpet. In saying all that constructive feedback is always appreciated and when we next do the floors on the third floor, which in fact we are doing in 2014, we will look at additional insulation options. If we can improve on the soundproofing we will. We just wanted to make sure that your review was not read as “a great place for a holiday but not very well built”. It’s far from that. No expense was spared in the renovation of this property and only the best of materials, craftsmen’s and architects were used, clearly all within building code and regulations. Many thanks for your review and we hope you visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grace655
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Kinsale!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A group of friends and I stay in The Anchorage every year for the May Bank holiday weekend. This is our 3rd year in a row going back and we wouldn't stay anywhere else! This house has it all and the letting agency couldn't be nicer to deal with. It's a perfect location, situated on the water and it's close enough to walk to Kinsale town.The house is constantly being improved and we will be booking again next year! Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house is perfect.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen512
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Kinsale...”
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This year was the second time we have stayed at the Anchorage, and it just gets better. The house itself is a fabulous mix of old and new which works really well. Very well appointed, immaculately clean and superbly situated at the water's edge in Summercove, it is perfect for active holidays (sailing, walking) or for just chilling out, lighting the fire and watching the tides come and go.

The facilities in the house include fast broadband and computing/printing facilities so if you need to keep in touch with the office it is very easy and convenient. Netflix in the bedrooms was a sure fire winner for teenage boys (although it made it harder to get them to sleep/wake!) The terrace and sun room are fantastic for entertaining and the well equipped kitchen made it easy to prepare meals when necessary.

The Bulman across the road is a fabulous pub: great atmosphere, friendly staff and good food. Kinsale, just a short walk along the lovely Scilly path, is full of interesting places to eat. Stop in The Spaniard on the way - another great favourite in our family.

The welcome and the service at the Anchorage are also top notch. I would highly recommend this holiday let to anyone who is looking for something really special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, right on the water
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy K
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Convenient, hassle free and enjoyable”
Reviewed 22 January 2012 for a stay in April 2011

I stayed at 'The Anchorage' for one week over Easter 2011 with my husband and teenage boys who were doing a sailing course in Kinsale. From the moment we booked our stay, I was delighted with the professionalism and level of service. I felt the management team valued my custom and did their very best to provide added value to me and my family. I was very impressed with the extra services they offered and friendly advice. The views from the balcony were second to none and watching my boys sailing from the comfort of The Anchorage was priceless. The location was fab and The Bulman pub right across the way from the back door really made the difference, the bar food there was reasonably priced and delicious and the teenagers even sat with us to listen to the trad music there which played most evenings- The Bulman is definitely one of the few real trad 'craic agus ceol' pubs left in Ireland - it most certainly left a lasting impression on me! The fact that the Anchorage is so modern in terms of technology really worked for us as a family- the teenagers were occupied in the evening on the computer or playing music and the television had Sky movies which we enjoyed watching as a family! I really couldn't criticize the management or the house, we all very much enjoyed ourselves and the kids are already looking forward to this years sailing course when they get to stay in 'the really cool gaf'. ! Overall , I would highly recommend The Anchorage to anybody, and I was particularly surprised at how well it worked out for us as a family staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AROUNDTHE...
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The house exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 11 January 2012 for a stay in May 2011

We stayed in the anchorage in Kinsale for a week in May with friends. The house exceeded our expectations, it is so luxurious and beautiful, you could easily tell it was recently upgraded and in perfect condition, clean, comfortable, fantastic location with breathtaking waterfront views. We had such a lovely week and can’t recommend highly enough and we hope to go back next summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the house itself
Liked least: We only stayed for a week, should have booked for longer!
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing