We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take it or leave it.... so i decided to leave it!”
Review of Perryville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Perryville House
Ranked #6 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Called to this establishment yesterday evening to enquire about golf group rates for this september.Found the proprietress cold and unwelcoming. she quoted me the rates with a take it or leave it attitude..This brief experience confirmed the many other negative comments about this woman.!Stay away from here there are many lovely places with a proper blend of hospitality, luxury and good food! I'm certainly not booking my group in here and i would advise anybody else to do the same.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
6  Thank anabelle12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

When booking our trip, we seriously debated among several lodging options in Kinsale, ultimately settling on Perryville House. We could not have been happier -- there is no better place to stay. It was the perfect balance of sophistication, modern amenities and old-world charm. We had a view room, which was lovely and worth the extra money. The breakfast each morning was delicious. And proprietor Andrew did a beautiful job of providing us with ideas and suggestions, without being "smothering" as some B&B hosts can be. We cannot recommend Perryville House more highly!

Room Tip: The harbor view rooms are worth it, although our companions had a lovely room without the view as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harper0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel oozes class and style. The building has been renovated to an exacting standard by owners Andrew and Laura and furnished with high quality antiques and art. Our bedroom for our one night stay was large, clean and comfortable; finished and furnished to a high standard and with a great view of the the harbour, marina and town. Wifi in our room was a plus; the lack of tea/coffee making facilities a minus. The public rooms are a haven of peace and quiet and beautifully furnished and decorated. We were given a warm welcome by our genial host Andrew who was always available to chat or to provide any information that we needed. The hotel provides breakfast and lunch but not dinner. However, there is a wide range of excellent restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the hotel and their menus are available to peruse in the lounge. Andrew will provide advice and handle the bookings. Breakfast was a real treat here. Special mention must be made of the rhubarb compote; poached plums; home made preserves and home produced honey. All of the ingredients for the cooked breakfasts are sourced from local suppliers and are really good. There is parking directly opposite the hotel. There is no lift.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MET2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Kinsale is a fabulous town and very welcoming and overall family friendly - except for this hotel and adjacent shop. We wanted to go into the shop to look around and buy a few presents but we were greeted at the door and very quickly told that we were not welcome because we had a pushcair - however we were told that children were ' very welcome'. We were told that we could leave our pushchair outside - albeit a very narrow small street! . Business must be good ! I would not recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank BrendafIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We spent two nights in Perryville House - a large Victorian building located in the middle of Kinsale and overlooking the harbour - and cannot speak too highly of our stay. Our bedroom was very large, well appointed and stylish. This guest house fights well above its rating. Reception rooms are very comfortable and promote a stylish and relaxing ambience. Location is ideal for taking advantage of the local eateries. Breakfast was excellent - the spiced plums and ginger infused rhubarb are a must. Staff are very helpful, nothing a bother, and made several recommendations for restaurants - 'The Cracked Pot' restaurant is a major 'must try' for the town. No tea making facilities in room.

Room Tip: Ring the guest house directly and ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MervynLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed here for 1 night in May and would definitely stay again. After our sat-nav brought us to the wrong place we found the B&B in a great location in the town overlooking the harbour (and hard to miss!). The staff were incredibly friendly and a pleasure to talk to. Our room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. But the best part was the breakfast! Large variety of buffet and hot fresh food. Delicious! The only complaint I have was we didn't stay another night to try other things for breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

If your going to Kinsale stay here and spend the bit extra on one of the upgraded rooms with a harbor view. Andrew was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gumbooya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
967 reviews
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
0.1 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#10 of 53 in Kinsale
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perryville House

Address: Perryville House Hotel Long Quay, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: £151 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Perryville House 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Perryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perryville House Hotel Kinsale
Perryville Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing