We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TEAROOMS TO BEAT ALL TEAROOMS - Special treat and positively romantic!”
Review of Perryville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Perryville House
Ranked #7 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
co. cork ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“TEAROOMS TO BEAT ALL TEAROOMS - Special treat and positively romantic!”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Dropped in here for tea on two occasions as I am a local. It is THE most high-class establishment imaginable! It really is like stepping back into Granny's parlour, old-fashioned in a good way! The china is exquisite, setting just luxurious and comfortable, food "to die for" and just so relaxing as to feel like a spa! The background music is beautiful and you are treated with great respect. There is also the most beautiful scent wafting around.YOU HAVE TO TRY IT and then sit back and enjoy the ambience. Its not cheap but no more expensive than other nice places in Kinsale and you will remember your experience for a lot longer! You could then browse around the gift shop which has some interesting things not available in other craft shops which are all becoming very similar, unfortunately. A very pleasant girl served me.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolaCo_CorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    44
    12
    10
    15
See reviews for
46
185
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The Perryville is a lovely hotel in one of the nicest towns in Ireland. It is the first hotel you meet when you come in from the Cork city side so no searching for those not acquainted with Kinsale. There is free dedicated hotel car parking across the road which is ideal as the town is very busy…. with parking at a premium. My wife and I had a room on the Cork side with a lovely view of the harbour. The room was mid-size but comfortable with a nice sized bathroom. The bed was quite large also which is always nice. We did not have dinner in the hotel as we were only staying 2 nights and wanted to sample the town's vast choice of gourmet restaurants. We did have breakfast though and it was an ideal way to start the morning. The time between 8 - 10 was appreciated and we rose both mornings at 9am ( time to sleep off the night-before in good fashion ) and made our way down for a variable breakfast and served as we requested.....which does not always happen elsewhere.
One small item was that we were not given a front door key and had to buzz in every time. There was no delay as there was always someone there to buzz us in and in fact it avoided having to keep a key but is unusual and I would have thought a nuisance for the hotel. I had a brief chat with the owner when leaving on the upcoming Rugby world cup. As a former player he was full of enthusiasm for the event if not our chances. It was easy to see how the hotel had benefited from this same enthusiasm over the years. I was sorry to leave but will be back.

Room Tip: Nice to have a room at the front in order to get a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liam_kelleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Called to this establishment yesterday evening to enquire about golf group rates for this september.Found the proprietress cold and unwelcoming. she quoted me the rates with a take it or leave it attitude..This brief experience confirmed the many other negative comments about this woman.!Stay away from here there are many lovely places with a proper blend of hospitality, luxury and good food! I'm certainly not booking my group in here and i would advise anybody else to do the same.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anabelle12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

When booking our trip, we seriously debated among several lodging options in Kinsale, ultimately settling on Perryville House. We could not have been happier -- there is no better place to stay. It was the perfect balance of sophistication, modern amenities and old-world charm. We had a view room, which was lovely and worth the extra money. The breakfast each morning was delicious. And proprietor Andrew did a beautiful job of providing us with ideas and suggestions, without being "smothering" as some B&B hosts can be. We cannot recommend Perryville House more highly!

Room Tip: The harbor view rooms are worth it, although our companions had a lovely room without the view as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harper0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel oozes class and style. The building has been renovated to an exacting standard by owners Andrew and Laura and furnished with high quality antiques and art. Our bedroom for our one night stay was large, clean and comfortable; finished and furnished to a high standard and with a great view of the the harbour, marina and town. Wifi in our room was a plus; the lack of tea/coffee making facilities a minus. The public rooms are a haven of peace and quiet and beautifully furnished and decorated. We were given a warm welcome by our genial host Andrew who was always available to chat or to provide any information that we needed. The hotel provides breakfast and lunch but not dinner. However, there is a wide range of excellent restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the hotel and their menus are available to peruse in the lounge. Andrew will provide advice and handle the bookings. Breakfast was a real treat here. Special mention must be made of the rhubarb compote; poached plums; home made preserves and home produced honey. All of the ingredients for the cooked breakfasts are sourced from local suppliers and are really good. There is parking directly opposite the hotel. There is no lift.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MET2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Kinsale is a fabulous town and very welcoming and overall family friendly - except for this hotel and adjacent shop. We wanted to go into the shop to look around and buy a few presents but we were greeted at the door and very quickly told that we were not welcome because we had a pushcair - however we were told that children were ' very welcome'. We were told that we could leave our pushchair outside - albeit a very narrow small street! . Business must be good ! I would not recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrendafIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We spent two nights in Perryville House - a large Victorian building located in the middle of Kinsale and overlooking the harbour - and cannot speak too highly of our stay. Our bedroom was very large, well appointed and stylish. This guest house fights well above its rating. Reception rooms are very comfortable and promote a stylish and relaxing ambience. Location is ideal for taking advantage of the local eateries. Breakfast was excellent - the spiced plums and ginger infused rhubarb are a must. Staff are very helpful, nothing a bother, and made several recommendations for restaurants - 'The Cracked Pot' restaurant is a major 'must try' for the town. No tea making facilities in room.

Room Tip: Ring the guest house directly and ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MervynLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
676 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
0.0 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perryville House

Property: Perryville House
Address: Perryville House Hotel Long Quay, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Perryville House 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Perryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perryville House Hotel Kinsale
Perryville Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing