We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“€150 for what!”
Review of Perryville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Perryville House
Ranked #6 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“€150 for what!”
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Stayed 1 night in Perryville and while the reservation service and 1st impression was great - the actual accommodation was not at all up to standard. Basic standard room, No TV in room on arrival, no tea/coffee making facilities, basic old skool decor. Manager arrived with tiny portable tv and remote control that didnt work. While TV wasnt a significant part of the trip I did want to chill for 20 mins after our journey to Kinsale. Heavy rainfall cause leak in hallway outside door, pigeons nesting in attic woke us during night (despite wine & irish coffees with dinner!). Breakfast was fresh&tasty but service finished at 10am which we felt was early for Sunday. Most annoyin was the knock on our bedroom door at 10.40am stating check out was 11am.....hence my question €150 for what. Needs to move with times, wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenJones75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    45
    12
    10
    15
See reviews for
51
189
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Perryville House couldn't be any more central in Kinsale, very clean, well run establishment. Parking (worth the price alone!) internet, etc etc...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBobBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Excellent hotel in Kinsale, a very good B&B experience. Enjoyed our overnight stay immensely. Large comfortable very clean room overlooking harbor and breakfast was great. Near everything in Kinsale. Hosts were extremely helpful with lunch and evening dining reservations, directions, parking and enjoyable discussions. Good value, perfect for us and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnick78232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilkenny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I was due to stay at another hotel as I was attending a dinner in Kinsale - theorignal hotel called me at 6pm on the evening of my arrival, just as I arrived in Kinsale after a long drive to let me know they were overbooked - as it happened I was delighed to stay in the lovely Peryville - great location and the atomosphere and welcome of the building made me want to stay in and read a book by the fire - best nights sleep I have had in ages - I had forgotten how lovely Kinsale is and I will be back and I wil be booking the Perryville -Carrie

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carriemosley0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Great Location, huge room, big comfy bed. Friendly helpful and charmingly Irish service.

The decor was traditional and little twee, but nice and in keeping with the style and age of the hotel.

One downside was no heating in the room or bathroom which was ok as it was fairly warm in October.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatPrints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We drove by on our approach into Kinsale and decided to explore the possibility of staying at Perryville House, altho we had stopped by the tourist office and they told us Perryville House was no longer a member.
The gentleman that greeted us was cordial, showed us a room, and we decided to book for the night. Breakfast was typical, after the wait staff forgot to put our order in. Nice recovery on that one.
Before leaving, my wife decided to curl her hair with her curling iron brought with us from the States. We had a brand new electrical converter that we had purchased upon arriving in the country and had used it in other hotels. Luckily it was heating up on a glass table, because the plastic tip on the end completely melted and fell onto the floor, and I recovered it before any damage was done.
When I approached the woman in the office at check out, she immediately became very defensive and downright rude. We were just trying to make her aware of the situation. instead of being concerned about our welfare, and her property, she accused us of it being all our fault. In all of our two weeks in Ireland, this property was the ONLY one that did not treat us with the incredible Irish hospitality. Trust me, eventually this will catch up with them.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Savetheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Perryville is a truly beautiful property in a stunning location, overlooking the harbour. Kinsale is a beautiful place and staying somewhere like Perryville is in alot of ways the "perfect" place to say...alot of the rooms overlook the water, 4 poster beds, beautiful furniture... however that's where the story changes...the business is run by 3 people, think they are all related, one of them is very sound and most helpful, however the other 2 were so rude, helpful when it suited them...at times made you feel you were trespassing on "their property" ...they so need to learn to be polite!! Anyway if you decide to go you will see what I mean, both good and bad..if you decide not to go there are so many other options...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katsdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
684 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
0.0 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#12 of 53 in Kinsale
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perryville House

Property: Perryville House
Address: Perryville House Hotel Long Quay, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Perryville House 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Perryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perryville House Hotel Kinsale
Perryville Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing