We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quite good”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I stayed with my partner and 9 year old grand daughter. It was my grand daughter 1st trip. I would highly recommend going to Kinsale for anyone who hasn't been - it's really picturesque, it's very close to the sea (Old Head which is about 15km away is a must see!) and it's close to Cork City so plenty to do and see for everybody. The hotel was clean and for the most part the staff were friendly, especially girls from reception and housekeeping, but manager Monica seemed to be very conceited person.
Food was great, no complaints,.....just very hard to keep away from all the tempting cakes in the display cabinet!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    199
    92
    36
    16
See reviews for
109
317
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kells, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My wife and I just returned from enjoying the Blue Haven's three-day mid-week special. We had a great time, and confirmed that the positive reviews of the Hotel in TripAdvisor are true. We had a room in front overlooking the main street, and were completely satisfied with the very comfortable and modern accomodations. Noise was not a problem for us. Bed was very comfortable. Heating inthe room was quite adequate (we stayed in November) - we had to turn down the radiator, in fact - so we had a toasty-warm stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the scrumptious breakfasts - NOT just limited to a breakfast buffet. The bar/pub has live music every night, including Irish traditional one of the nights. We used Kinsale as our base to explore the surrounding area, a particularly beautiful area of Cork - we especially enjoyed seeing Clonakilty and Cork. Kinsale is a lovely town - the local tidy towns committee is on the ball.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pljmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midleton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

we visited this hotel on the 5th nov for my birthday just for one night, it was our second time staying at this hotel and once again were not disappointed.From the time we arrived there was a friendly atmosphere, check in was very good, our room chateau mccarthy was good very clean and spacious. We availed of our complimentary tea/coffee in the afternoon which we thought was a lovely touch even though you have those facilities in the room it was nice to check out the cafe. here the place of chat and the staff were very pleasant. We had a lovely meal in the bistro , service was excellent food also was top class and staff was so friendly, I really appreciated the gesture by the staff of giving me a dessert with a birthday candle to mark the occasion. What a lovely touch. Prices were very reasonable considering excellent quality of food well done to the chefs.The entertainement in the lobby was great , a super trad session. The lobby is a hive of activity during the day making it a great place to sit and enjoy a coffee. Service in all areas of this hotel is top class. I must make a special mention of Agita who was so pleasant to us from the time we arrived . keep up the good work team blue haven. We have found a gem and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizMidleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Small town-centre hotel. No parking nearby. No lifts, so access to rooms poor. Rooms small and rather shabby and poorly cleaned. Restaurant not available, so ate in Bistro. Food reasonable, staff wonderful, though all Eastern European except reception staff who were not particularly welcoming. Prices were reasonable. We went on a friend's recommendation but were disappointed. Hotel needs a makeover..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is slap bang in the middle of Kinsale and has a lovely bar adjoining.
We arrived at 6pm and so got the last room available which was not a good room. It was very poky and very old fashioned with a crazy layout. Bed was not comfy and bathroom was small. I think we were unlucky as others in our group got grand rooms. Room was 135 and for what we got, this was very poor value. We could hear everything on the stairs and hallway.

Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and all freshly made.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just after returning from a night in the Blue Haven, had a fantastic night away. Even though Kinsale was hectic for the Jazz Festival, the blue haven managed to provide top class service once again, We dined in the bistro, the food was top notch, and the waitress couldnt do enough for us.The band playing in the bar, set off a great atmosphere, Breakfast was top class, with a large variety for Vegeterians, Including Fab Portebello Mushrooms and Eggs Benedict. Our room was very comfortable, warm and spacious, We have stayed here on a few occasions, and it is with a doubt the best hotel in Kinsale, Madeline in Reception is fab and always welcomes us back, Well done Blue Haven, We cant wait to visit Again!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank siobhandebrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Kinsale is such a lovely place and the Blue Haven complements everything that is good about Kinsale. Pepole I have talked to who have stayed here have complained about the size of the rooms and the fact that the hotel has no lifts. But hold on a second. This hotel is slap bang in the centre of Kinsale and within walking distance of all that this fabolous place has to offer. The restaurants and bars in Kinsale are exceptional, including the Blue Haven. The rooms are small but cosy as opposed to cramped and the beds are comfortable. I was unhappy with the televisions and the number of stations and reception but I was in Kinsale and could be forgiving of this as I wasn't there to watch tv. There are two small flights of stairs in the hotel but nothing you cannot manage. The food is extremely good including the breakfast. The coffee is really really good and the atmosphere is, well it's made even more special by the way the staff make you feel. I cannot fault the Blue Haven and unlike Gulliver77 I found this gem homely, friendly and the staff attentive. I will be back with the family please god in the new year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin_Family2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#15 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Property: Blue Haven Hotel
Address: Blue Haven Hotel 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well-known Culinary gem, The Blue Haven is a stylish, award winning, nautical style boutique hotel located in the heart of Kinsale. The Blue Haven will welcome you with open arms. Just a stone's throw from dozens of great restaurants, lively bars and interesting craft shops... yet only 25 minutes from Cork City. While you visit Blue Haven Kinsale enjoy the home baked cookies on arrival, King Koil Pocket Sprung beds, Nespresso Machines in your room, Great Food in the gourmet capital, Live Music every night and lots of activities, walks and treasures to find in beautiful Kinsale on The Wild Atlantic Way. – Ireland’s longest coastal route a 2500 km epic trip of Ireland’s western coastline. Blue Haven’s reputation for excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail will always ensure your visit to Kinsale's Blue Haven is a special one. Blue Haven has an array of dining options to choose from, the Seafood Cafe, to the luxurious Bar and Wine & Tapas Bar “Aperitif”. All dishes combine seasonal produce and fresh seafood from the local shores, carefully prepared by a team of chefs. Blue Haven prides itself in delivering the ultimate in friendly and efficient service to its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing